No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Manse

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Victoria Street , Bourton on the Water, GL54 2BX
The Old Manse Hotel Bourton on the Water near Cheltenham sits at the heart of the Gloucestershire town of Bourton on the Water near Cheltenham, Stow on the Wold with easy access via the A429. The Old Manse Hotel is a delightful English Country Hotel and Restaurant overlooking the River Windrush, which flows gently through the centre of this picture post card Cotswold village in the centre of Bourton on the Water: The Old Manse Hotel was originally built for the local Baptist pastor in 1748 and encompasses plenty of traditional Cotswold charm, making it the ideal retreat at any time of year.

However you choose to spend your break at The Old Manse Hotel exploring this historic area of outstanding natural beauty or strolling around the quaint little village of Bourton on the Water with its interesting selection of shops and attractions you will remember the inviting atmosphere, mouth-watering food, cosy rooms and unique relaxed style of hospitality, which makes the hotel a favourite with locals, ramblers and visitors alike.
Picture of The Old Manse , Bourton on the Water at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 68 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfy room but in need of a refurb
The room was comfortable but had a funny smell and the bathroom was quite dirty.

Reviewed by
Daniel H

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

maybe for the summer....
Perfect location for exploring Bourton. I was looking forward to a restful and calm break. Our room (16) is not in the main building and a few doors down, not a problem, small but ok room, except for the draughts which we plugged up with our coats. Adequate beds altho' mine was only 2'6", beautiful bed linen, white, fresh and comfortable. Cleaned as well as aged carpet and paintwork can be. Bathroom - an ice house. Unusable apart from absolute essentials. Even with a heater in there for hours, no go. So no relaxing bath for me. Breakfast could have been so good! All the ingredients were there but the sausage, mushroom and bacon was stone cold (and i mean solid) and just put on a hot plate with a fresh egg! Not good enough.
The staff were faultless - friendly, courteous, helpful and polite from the manager to the lovely cleaner but they need some help with resources to update the place! Even for the price, I wouldn't stay here again in the winter.

Reviewed by
H Robinson

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Old Manse
Whilst room was ok the en suite was ultra small, a larger than average person would have difficulty getting in the shower as the door hit the hand basin before it was half open. Food was very good and staff were nice and pleasant.

Reviewed by
Brian O

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good experience
Very good value,good location,breakfast excellant,room little bit tired but clean.Didnt eat in evening at hotel,menu looked more like a pub menu which on this particular night was not what we were after.

Reviewed by
mark sallis

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Country escape
We booked the room under the disabled facilities but unforunately the place is not for the use of people with disability. There is no lifts and all the rooms are upstairs and there is only a disabled toilet downstairs. The staff were very good I could not fault the service at all they even offered to book me another hotel, but on my request I stayed there. The staff helped us with my luggage to the room as well upstairs. The service was very good and a very friendly staff, we had two nice days at the hotel and will visit the place again for the day but unforunetly will not be able to stay there. I have rung LateRooms.com to inform them of the booking.

Reviewed by
L Princely

From St Albans, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location.
Prime location for weekend break in the centre of Bourton on the Water, excellent customer service from Staff. Car Parking not the easiest other than that very good.

Reviewed by
Tom K

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not perfect but value for money
T.V. in rooms not working, a signal problem for all rooms, apparently.
Evening meal left a bit to be desired, chips had been refried numerous times.

Reviewed by
COLIN PHILLIMORE

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great find
Had a lovely one night stay in one of the standard doubles in the main building. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good, with plenty of cooked options available. Car park behind the hotel was convenient but spaces would be limited if there was full occupancy of rooms.

Reviewed by
Philip D

From Castlethorpe, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lush
Lush romantic room on the top floor overlooking the bridge and little stream! Definitely stay there again!

Reviewed by
K Davis

From Blackwood, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a lovely stay. Everyone is friendly and very good service. Very good food and would recommend booking a table early as they get booked up fast. We stayed in the annex which was lovely. There was a slight smell of damp, which is to be exspected as it is an old building, however it was presented very clean.

Reviewed by
R McDonald

From Horsham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next