No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Manse

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Victoria Street , Bourton on the Water, GL54 2BX
The Old Manse Hotel Bourton on the Water near Cheltenham sits at the heart of the Gloucestershire town of Bourton on the Water near Cheltenham, Stow on the Wold with easy access via the A429. The Old Manse Hotel is a delightful English Country Hotel and Restaurant overlooking the River Windrush, which flows gently through the centre of this picture post card Cotswold village in the centre of Bourton on the Water: The Old Manse Hotel was originally built for the local Baptist pastor in 1748 and encompasses plenty of traditional Cotswold charm, making it the ideal retreat at any time of year.

However you choose to spend your break at The Old Manse Hotel exploring this historic area of outstanding natural beauty or strolling around the quaint little village of Bourton on the Water with its interesting selection of shops and attractions you will remember the inviting atmosphere, mouth-watering food, cosy rooms and unique relaxed style of hospitality, which makes the hotel a favourite with locals, ramblers and visitors alike.
Picture of The Old Manse , Bourton on the Water at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 55 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could have been cleaner . Restaurant service and food good

Reviewed by
William S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Picturesque
A warm welcome and friendly,helpful staff greets you as you enter the lovely Old Manse. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable.

Reviewed by
Sheila W

From Cupar, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room 18 in Annexe
Room 18 is an attic conversion in a nearby cottage. It has very low sloping ceilings with a low beam dividing the room; the roof truss comes down low over the bed. The room contains its own staircase. Very small en suite: it would be difficult to use the sink with the door closed. A musty smell in room and hallway. Altogether a very uncomfortable experience.

Reviewed by
David W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for quirky accommodation
We stayed in the annex at the old manse and were blown away by the wonderful attic room, complete with oak beams. A lovely room in the most beautiful village we have ever seen. Friendly staff, and a great breakfast.

Reviewed by
john p

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely location
Great location and friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Maureen G

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy hotel
Hotel is in a lovely location, however doesn't have ample parking for all customers. The room was decent. The bed was enormous but took up the majority of the room so it felt a little cramped. The bathroom in our room was tiny and had stains on the walls. Being an old building, we found it very noisy and creaky. We weren't very impressed with the cooked breakfast, but the hotel offered other alternatives which were better. All in all I wouldn't stay at the Old a Manse again.

Reviewed by
Sian C

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect hotel in a great position
Lovely hotel with friendly staff & excellent position to explore bourton in the water

Reviewed by
Claire Nurse

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A dirty hotel
I stay away on business three to four times a month and this
Is the worst hotel I've stayed at
Duvet badly stained, shower dirty hairs left from previous
Guest, dirty cup on table at breakfast, half eaten
Yoghurt pot on room on arrival.
Very poor .....

Reviewed by
D Gillard

From Westerham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very quiet area. Beautiful surroundings. River right outside front door. Very relaxed and laid back atmosphere.

Reviewed by
D Poynter

From Kings Langley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Hotel, Great Location
We stayed here for one night and found the hotel to be in an excellent location with beautiful views out over the water (we paid extra for a "suite" which guaranteed a view).
The hotel itself was fine, for the price we paid but would have been disappointed if we had paid the full price as quoted on their webiste. Breakfast wasn't included in the price either (we knew this in advance so no surprises but would perhaps have expected a B&B rate for the price we paid).
The room spacious with all the facilities you could need but decor was a little tired and perhaps in need of a refurb soon?
We ate in the restaurant and the food was nice, good choice and reasonably priced, nothing special but tasty and plentiful.
staff we very friendly and helpful.
Overall a nice hotel, excellent location, lovely staff but just needs a bit of attention to the decor to brighten it up.

Reviewed by
Karen S

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next