No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Manse

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Victoria Street , Bourton on the Water, GL54 2BX
The Old Manse Hotel Bourton on the Water near Cheltenham sits at the heart of the Gloucestershire town of Bourton on the Water near Cheltenham, Stow on the Wold with easy access via the A429. The Old Manse Hotel is a delightful English Country Hotel and Restaurant overlooking the River Windrush, which flows gently through the centre of this picture post card Cotswold village in the centre of Bourton on the Water: The Old Manse Hotel was originally built for the local Baptist pastor in 1748 and encompasses plenty of traditional Cotswold charm, making it the ideal retreat at any time of year.

However you choose to spend your break at The Old Manse Hotel exploring this historic area of outstanding natural beauty or strolling around the quaint little village of Bourton on the Water with its interesting selection of shops and attractions you will remember the inviting atmosphere, mouth-watering food, cosy rooms and unique relaxed style of hospitality, which makes the hotel a favourite with locals, ramblers and visitors alike.
Picture of The Old Manse , Bourton on the Water at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
We were not informed when we made the booking that the room was in an annexe away from the main hotel. The bed had a low beam above the bed and my husband is 6 ft 2. The room was very small and very basic and the bathroom was tiny. It was difficult to get into the shower. We did ask to change rooms but were told there were none available. Very pretty hotel from the outside in a beautiful location, perhaps the rooms in the main hotel were of a better standard.

Reviewed by
C Coleman

From Aylesford, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value friendly and helpful staff

Reviewed by
Brian whiting

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Jewel of a place!!
I cannot speak highly enough about our experience at The Old Manse. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome, and that attitude persisted throughout our stay. All the staff we encountered were friendly and attentive without being pushy. The hotel itself is in a marvellous location too, and the quality and price of the food and drinks takes a lot of beating. We certainly plan to return in the near future and would recommend this place to anyone looking for a quiet break away from it all.

Reviewed by
S Prior

From Teignmouth, England
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Always a warm and friendly welcome at the Manse we will visit again SOON.
Hope the flue in the fireplace is repaired soon.

Reviewed by
Rod Rees

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Late autumn break
Excellent hotel, very friendly, good food and sitting beside river in village centre, a brilliant location.
Will return.

Reviewed by
IAN BRISLEY

From Folkestone, England
Who stayed in November 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

staff were more interested in their social lifes than serving you! with breakfast we had to ask for sauce, marmalade, sugar etc...which really should of all been out. had a serving spoon given me to eat my cereal...beautiful place spoilt by the staff

Reviewed by
claire b

From England
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxation at Bourton on the Water
The Old Manse Hotel was easy to find with its own car parking, although small there was no problem with parking. They were more than happy for us to park there even though we were too early to book in. We were well informed about meal times and the fact that breakfst is available until12 midday meant that a well earned lie in was possible and breakfast. All the staff were helpful and courteous. The bedroom was clean with clean and crisp white bedding. There is nothing negative to say about this hotel and we would happily return again.

Reviewed by
P Cameron

From England
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6