No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Manse

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Victoria Street , Bourton on the Water, GL54 2BX
The Old Manse Hotel Bourton on the Water near Cheltenham sits at the heart of the Gloucestershire town of Bourton on the Water near Cheltenham, Stow on the Wold with easy access via the A429. The Old Manse Hotel is a delightful English Country Hotel and Restaurant overlooking the River Windrush, which flows gently through the centre of this picture post card Cotswold village in the centre of Bourton on the Water: The Old Manse Hotel was originally built for the local Baptist pastor in 1748 and encompasses plenty of traditional Cotswold charm, making it the ideal retreat at any time of year.

However you choose to spend your break at The Old Manse Hotel exploring this historic area of outstanding natural beauty or strolling around the quaint little village of Bourton on the Water with its interesting selection of shops and attractions you will remember the inviting atmosphere, mouth-watering food, cosy rooms and unique relaxed style of hospitality, which makes the hotel a favourite with locals, ramblers and visitors alike.
Picture of The Old Manse , Bourton on the Water at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 59 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic accommodation
Unfortunately we did not realise this village was such a tourist attraction however it is a very pretty village. The hotel is in the centre of the village and therefore a hub. Our room was very small and more basic than we are used to - although clean and adequete. The village wakes early so no lie in for us!

Reviewed by
Lindsey W

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Some Amenities but Designed for Miniature People
Admittedly we booked the last room available the morning of our arrival, and anticipated the picturesque setting in the heart of Bourton-0n-the-Water, but the historic room was in an annex, up narrow stairs and so tiny that we tall people could not get to the tiny bathroom without ducking our heads for a beam that clearly read "Mind Your Head"--a perfect warning for the middle of the night in the dark! The bathroom had a nice clear shower, but the sink was so tiny and cramped that it was impossible to use it without spilling water onto the floor, even when we opened the bathroom door to give a bit more space. Free internet and clean sheets were very welcome, but the bed was too small for us to really sleep well and there was no way to shut out the morning light through the window above the bed. Free parking was full, so we had to park across a pedestrian bridge. Service was friendly and helpful, breakfast good and generous, hair dryer & TV worked, but avoid that room!

Reviewed by
Edward K

From USA
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay in bourton in bourton on the water
We had a wonderfully stay at the old manse hotel
the food and service was good and the staff very friendly and helpfully

Reviewed by
J kelly

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful location
The hotel is situated adjacent to the river which flows through the town and is at the centre of the main tourist area. It is a delightfully picturesque location. There are a lot of bars and restaurants nearby if you choose not to eat in the hotel or just want to wander about. The staff are friendly and extremely helpful.

Reviewed by
John K

From Liverpool, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location for exploring the Cotswolds
Positioned right in the heart of the town , very friendly staff and great food. We had a suite with a four poster bed and the room overlooked the river right outside our window.
A great place to explore other towns from would stay here again.

Reviewed by
Rod Judd

From Benfleet, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great night in BotW
Lovely country pub/hotel with great location. Very good atmosphere in pub which seemed well used by locals this did not prevent a good night sleep. Breakfast service excellent. Get in early as car park limited and Bourton has limited parking.

Reviewed by
T Dagens

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation
Stayed here for 2 nights and we arrived late and the staff stayed late to accommodate us. One one staff went out to check if any food shops were still open. The room was comfortable any amble space for storage, the only complaint I would have is that the bathroom is very small limited space to get into the shower. The bathroom lets the accommodation down as everything else was very good. The breakfast was excellent and very prompt and we had a meal which was again excellent.

Reviewed by
Martin H

From Irvine, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recent Stay
We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at The Old |Manse Hotel. We were in one of the rooms in the cottage part of the hotel, which were very small but clean. The food and service we had was very good. Would be quite happy to stay there again.

Reviewed by
J Brett

From Westerham, England
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food and Room
The evening meal was in parts over cooked and in other parts under cooked. It was raised at the time but no one seemed overly bothered.
Secondly the room was nice but unbearably hot with no real ventilation.

Reviewed by
Lisa L

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we had a room in he manse cottage which was lovely..very quaint,very comfortable

Reviewed by
martin h

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next