No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Manse

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Victoria Street , Bourton on the Water, GL54 2BX
The Old Manse Hotel Bourton on the Water near Cheltenham sits at the heart of the Gloucestershire town of Bourton on the Water near Cheltenham, Stow on the Wold with easy access via the A429. The Old Manse Hotel is a delightful English Country Hotel and Restaurant overlooking the River Windrush, which flows gently through the centre of this picture post card Cotswold village in the centre of Bourton on the Water: The Old Manse Hotel was originally built for the local Baptist pastor in 1748 and encompasses plenty of traditional Cotswold charm, making it the ideal retreat at any time of year.

However you choose to spend your break at The Old Manse Hotel exploring this historic area of outstanding natural beauty or strolling around the quaint little village of Bourton on the Water with its interesting selection of shops and attractions you will remember the inviting atmosphere, mouth-watering food, cosy rooms and unique relaxed style of hospitality, which makes the hotel a favourite with locals, ramblers and visitors alike.
Picture of The Old Manse , Bourton on the Water at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 56 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great night in BotW
Lovely country pub/hotel with great location. Very good atmosphere in pub which seemed well used by locals this did not prevent a good night sleep. Breakfast service excellent. Get in early as car park limited and Bourton has limited parking.

Reviewed by
T Dagens

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation
Stayed here for 2 nights and we arrived late and the staff stayed late to accommodate us. One one staff went out to check if any food shops were still open. The room was comfortable any amble space for storage, the only complaint I would have is that the bathroom is very small limited space to get into the shower. The bathroom lets the accommodation down as everything else was very good. The breakfast was excellent and very prompt and we had a meal which was again excellent.

Reviewed by
Martin H

From Irvine, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recent Stay
We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at The Old |Manse Hotel. We were in one of the rooms in the cottage part of the hotel, which were very small but clean. The food and service we had was very good. Would be quite happy to stay there again.

Reviewed by
J Brett

From Westerham, England
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food and Room
The evening meal was in parts over cooked and in other parts under cooked. It was raised at the time but no one seemed overly bothered.
Secondly the room was nice but unbearably hot with no real ventilation.

Reviewed by
Lisa L

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we had a room in he manse cottage which was lovely..very quaint,very comfortable

Reviewed by
martin h

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
The Old Manse is in a beautiful location but we were disappointed to find that we were booked into the annexe which was down the road from the main building. Laughingly called 'The Cottage" it was up two flights of stairs, not very cosy and smelled fusty. If guests have to stay there they should be told in advance. Fortunately, the Asst Manageress was able to offer us a room in the hotel for one night and we were moved to another room for the following two nights. They were both clean and comfortable. A few niggles - the first room which was apparently a superior room, the cold water tap ran hot water instead of cold! Apparently due to ancient plumbing! However the second room was OK and we had cold water. In the dining room, both breakfast and dinner was excellent. Service was great until the last evening when it was very busy and a lack of staff meant that we and other diners waited for over half an hour for our meals to arrive. However food was still good and staff were very apologetic. Overall we enjoyed our stay but felt that the decor was a bit tired and could do with a lick of paint, especially the dining room which was a bit dreary.

Reviewed by
Peter C

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disturbed sleep spoilt experience
The old manse hotel is in a lovely location and the pictures really do it credit. We visited mid week for a short break. The staff were very friendly and attentive. The room was clean and had much of what you would expect. However there was an issue with the WIFI. The hotel advertises free WIFI, however it appeared this was not the case as neither myself or my partner could connect. The information in the room also described the WIFI as being limited and only being available between certain hours. After asking at reception I discovered we needed to register with 'the cloud' to be able to use the WIFI. Once this was completed the WIFI was fine. It would be useful if this were explained in the room information.
We ate in the restaurant on the first night we stayed and this was a lovely experience. The restaurant was busy but the staff were still attentive and the food was worth waiting for. I would recommend booking as many people were turned away due to the restaurant being full.
Unfortunately the sleeping experience did not live up to this evening. I did not not get any sleep due to an incessant tapping/dripping noise that continued throughout the night and the next day. I identified it was coming from the bathroom but I could not identify it further than that (possibly the heating). This sleep deprivation left me with a migraine and feeling nauseous. I was too unwell to continue with our break and made the decision to cut our break short and go home.
It is disappointing that such a factor ruined what started as such a lovely break.

Reviewed by
D West

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant location and venue - great hospitality!
Lovely quaint village location - great pub with quirky rooms, overall brilliant service, can't fault .... check in service was awesome, the manager is on the ball looking after all her guests - food very nice and some good real ales :-) I would highly recommend for a weekend away or mid week break

Reviewed by
L Stalker

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel food was great gorgeous location staff were very friendly disappointed with our room though ceiling had a very large patch of damp and our bathroom was very small

Reviewed by
J Pratt

From Cullompton, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
We were not informed when we made the booking that the room was in an annexe away from the main hotel. The bed had a low beam above the bed and my husband is 6 ft 2. The room was very small and very basic and the bathroom was tiny. It was difficult to get into the shower. We did ask to change rooms but were told there were none available. Very pretty hotel from the outside in a beautiful location, perhaps the rooms in the main hotel were of a better standard.

Reviewed by
C Coleman

From Aylesford, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next