No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Manse

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Victoria Street , Bourton on the Water, GL54 2BX
The Old Manse Hotel Bourton on the Water near Cheltenham sits at the heart of the Gloucestershire town of Bourton on the Water near Cheltenham, Stow on the Wold with easy access via the A429. The Old Manse Hotel is a delightful English Country Hotel and Restaurant overlooking the River Windrush, which flows gently through the centre of this picture post card Cotswold village in the centre of Bourton on the Water: The Old Manse Hotel was originally built for the local Baptist pastor in 1748 and encompasses plenty of traditional Cotswold charm, making it the ideal retreat at any time of year.

However you choose to spend your break at The Old Manse Hotel exploring this historic area of outstanding natural beauty or strolling around the quaint little village of Bourton on the Water with its interesting selection of shops and attractions you will remember the inviting atmosphere, mouth-watering food, cosy rooms and unique relaxed style of hospitality, which makes the hotel a favourite with locals, ramblers and visitors alike.
Picture of The Old Manse , Bourton on the Water at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Area to Stay
The room we had (12) was excellent and very clean.
The restaurant food was good but the dining room was worn out and needs serious refurbishment, especially the table tops (worn out and sticky) need sanding down and re-varnishing.
Overall the stay was good and we had a nice time.

Reviewed by
Nicholas S

From Newquay, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booked for one night as passing through. Room very adequate although a little bit cramped. Booked a table for dinner, unfortunately something w ent wrong in the kitchen with the cookers and so we had to eat elsewhere. However the hotel manager took us to the restaurant and made sure we had a table. Everything was sorted by the next morning and we had a really good breakfast.. The staff were really friendly and nice. Wouldn't mind going there again to sample the dinner menu!!!!

Reviewed by
Janet G

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was lovely
The hotel was clean and the quality of the food was good.

Reviewed by
C Alcock

From Leek, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The location was fantastic, I thought the accommodation was a little tired looking. The staff were superb, very friendly and efficient.

Reviewed by
G Jones

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a good basic hotel
standard of food in hotel very poor rooms clean and tidy a very basic hotel

Reviewed by
janet todd

From Penarth, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Much better than e expected
We had read mixed reviews about this hotel and were hesitant about booking even though we had stayed previously. However the staff were very helpful and the breakfast was delicious. We can recommend the Eggs Benedict! The room was a good size, clean and well presented; the floorboards were creaky but this is only to be expected in such an old building.

Reviewed by
A Green

From Ambleside, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic accommodation
Unfortunately we did not realise this village was such a tourist attraction however it is a very pretty village. The hotel is in the centre of the village and therefore a hub. Our room was very small and more basic than we are used to - although clean and adequete. The village wakes early so no lie in for us!

Reviewed by
Lindsey W

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Some Amenities but Designed for Miniature People
Admittedly we booked the last room available the morning of our arrival, and anticipated the picturesque setting in the heart of Bourton-0n-the-Water, but the historic room was in an annex, up narrow stairs and so tiny that we tall people could not get to the tiny bathroom without ducking our heads for a beam that clearly read "Mind Your Head"--a perfect warning for the middle of the night in the dark! The bathroom had a nice clear shower, but the sink was so tiny and cramped that it was impossible to use it without spilling water onto the floor, even when we opened the bathroom door to give a bit more space. Free internet and clean sheets were very welcome, but the bed was too small for us to really sleep well and there was no way to shut out the morning light through the window above the bed. Free parking was full, so we had to park across a pedestrian bridge. Service was friendly and helpful, breakfast good and generous, hair dryer & TV worked, but avoid that room!

Reviewed by
Edward K

From USA
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay in bourton in bourton on the water
We had a wonderfully stay at the old manse hotel
the food and service was good and the staff very friendly and helpfully

Reviewed by
J kelly

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful location
The hotel is situated adjacent to the river which flows through the town and is at the centre of the main tourist area. It is a delightfully picturesque location. There are a lot of bars and restaurants nearby if you choose not to eat in the hotel or just want to wander about. The staff are friendly and extremely helpful.

Reviewed by
John K

From Liverpool, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next