The Old Manse

4

Victoria Street, Bourton on the Water, GL54 2BX

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (65)

74% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • D Gillard

  • May 2014

A dirty hotel

I stay away on business three to four times a month and this Is the worst hotel I've stayed at Duvet badly stained, shower dirty hairs left from previous Guest, dirty cup on table at breakfast, half eaten Yoghurt pot on room on arrival.

Very poor .....

  • Sophie V

  • April 2014

Lovely positioned hotel

This was a lovely looking hotel and we enjoyed a happy 2 nights here.

It was very quiet and peaceful (we were staying in the annexe) so we didn't have much to do with hotel staff apart from checking in and out - they were very nice, warm and friendly.

We only ate breakfast here once. It was rather disappointing in that the food wasn't locally sourced and we had to pay for it separately.

Would strongly recommend staying in this hotel to anyone looking for a beautiful place to stay with excellent friendly staff.

  • D Poynter

  • April 2014

Very quiet area.

Beautiful surroundings. River right outside front door. Very relaxed and laid back atmosphere.

  • Karen S

  • April 2014

Nice Hotel, Great Location

We stayed here for one night and found the hotel to be in an excellent location with beautiful views out over the water (we paid extra for a "suite" which guaranteed a view).

The hotel itself was fine, for the price we paid but would have been disappointed if we had paid the full price as quoted on their webiste. Breakfast wasn't included in the price either (we knew this in advance so no surprises but would perhaps have expected a B&B rate for the price we paid). The room spacious with all the facilities you could need but decor was a little tired and perhaps in need of a refurb soon. We ate in the restaurant and the food was nice, good choice and reasonably priced, nothing special but tasty and plentiful. staff we very friendly and helpful. Overall a nice hotel, excellent location, lovely staff but just needs a bit of attention to the decor to brighten it up.

  • Mark Smith

  • February 2014

Old Manse

Excellent accommodation, restaurant and bar.

Would recommend staying here.

  • L Wall

  • February 2014

Really enjoyed our stay.

Food was excellent, staff were friendly. The shower door in our en suite was broken.

  • Paul S

  • January 2014

Not Impressed

The room was advertised at £50 against a normal price of £125.

The price displayed in reception when we arrived was £75. The advert and confirmation indicated a twin room in the hotel. The room was actually in the 'annexe' which was in a small cottage four doors down the street from the hotel. the room was VERY cold with only two small electric radiators. The bathroom was so cold we could not use it. THere is no radiator in the bathroom, only a heated towel rail. The room was definitly never ever going to be worth £125 or £75 as indicated. I would say it was not really acceptable at all.

  • Gillian H

  • January 2014

Better than we feared

After reading other reviews we feared indifferent food and service at the Old Manse but in reality it was n't so bad.

The room though small was adequate but the large bed was very comfortable and the heating worked extremely efficiently. The bathroom was depressing and needed a refit but the bathwater was very hot. Thanks to a very good bakery/cafe next door we were well breakfasted and we ate out so can't comment on the food. Beware that in January many eating places in Bourton seem to be shut rather sadly.

  • Sharon G

  • January 2014

Ideal for a quite weekend away.

Friendly, well equipped with excellent food.

  • Sue Beardmore

  • January 2014

A relaxing break between Christmas and the New Year celebrations.

Ideal location in the centre of this beautiful village beside the river Windrush with the Festive lights as an added bonus.

On arrival we struggled to find space in the small car park but a helpful member of staff came to our aid.We were fortunate to be given one of the rooms descibed as a suite which was on the front of this character building overlooking the river. Ample space and amusingly creaky floorboards. with a wonderfully comfortable bed. Not to be put off by the poor reviews we had read regarding the restaurant food we decided to give it a try and having done so booked again for our second night. Not fine dining this but ample choice, well cooked food and excellent service which represented good value. The breakfast was exceptional with some of the more unusual choices on offer. We were overlooked at breakfast on the second morning and after waiting a considerable time it transpired that there had ben an oversight. On discovering this the staff could not have been more apologetic and without any fuss the breakfast was made complimentary. We can recommend The Old Manse and would not hesitate to book again ourselves.