No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Manse

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Victoria Street , Bourton on the Water, GL54 2BX
The Old Manse Hotel Bourton on the Water near Cheltenham sits at the heart of the Gloucestershire town of Bourton on the Water near Cheltenham, Stow on the Wold with easy access via the A429. The Old Manse Hotel is a delightful English Country Hotel and Restaurant overlooking the River Windrush, which flows gently through the centre of this picture post card Cotswold village in the centre of Bourton on the Water: The Old Manse Hotel was originally built for the local Baptist pastor in 1748 and encompasses plenty of traditional Cotswold charm, making it the ideal retreat at any time of year.

However you choose to spend your break at The Old Manse Hotel exploring this historic area of outstanding natural beauty or strolling around the quaint little village of Bourton on the Water with its interesting selection of shops and attractions you will remember the inviting atmosphere, mouth-watering food, cosy rooms and unique relaxed style of hospitality, which makes the hotel a favourite with locals, ramblers and visitors alike.
Picture of The Old Manse , Bourton on the Water at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 60 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay
Perfectly situated in the town centre. Excellent staff service; tasty food. My bedroom was small, but comfortable- and the t.v had R4 too: brilliant! A small armchair would have been a good addition. Bathroom basic, but clean & sufficiently spacious. A very pleasant overnight stay.

Reviewed by
C M

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely weekend visi

Reviewed by
A Gill

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation a little tired, but still pleasant enough. Food a let down
The location of the hotel is excellent. The decor is fine although in need of a refresh. We have not seen grouting in a shower done with mastik before! Not a good look! Staff very friendly and pleasant. As the menu looked appealing we decided to eat here for the evening - it was not very busy at all, but we waited 50minutes for our meal, and when it did arrive, it was obvious that the mashed potato had been put on the plate and kept under a heater for quite some time before the pie was put onto the plate as the potatoe was totally dry and had a crust to it. Disappointing. We had a full English breakfast there (additional cost of £6.95 each) My husband's fried egg had also been fried sometime earlier and had the plate wait treatment as the yolk was rubbery! I would go back to the hotel though with more limited expectations and I know we would have a fine time, but we would not eat there and would probably not even entertain breakfast either.

Reviewed by
S Saunders

From Tadley, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room in need of redecorating and bathroom requires updating.
Not very good value £70.00 a night in October which does not include breakfast,

Reviewed by
B Evans

From Bridgend, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very lovely hotel set in wonderful surrounding and our room was fantastic,
i booked the hotel for a romantic night away and i wasn't disapointed. Our room was big, clean and having a four poster bed made it extra special. The staff made us feel very welcome. we will definitely stop again in the summer . thankyou for a wonderful stay

Reviewed by
mandy t

From Stourbridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Area to Stay
The room we had (12) was excellent and very clean.
The restaurant food was good but the dining room was worn out and needs serious refurbishment, especially the table tops (worn out and sticky) need sanding down and re-varnishing.
Overall the stay was good and we had a nice time.

Reviewed by
Nicholas S

From Newquay, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booked for one night as passing through. Room very adequate although a little bit cramped. Booked a table for dinner, unfortunately something w ent wrong in the kitchen with the cookers and so we had to eat elsewhere. However the hotel manager took us to the restaurant and made sure we had a table. Everything was sorted by the next morning and we had a really good breakfast.. The staff were really friendly and nice. Wouldn't mind going there again to sample the dinner menu!!!!

Reviewed by
Janet G

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was lovely
The hotel was clean and the quality of the food was good.

Reviewed by
C Alcock

From Leek, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The location was fantastic, I thought the accommodation was a little tired looking. The staff were superb, very friendly and efficient.

Reviewed by
G Jones

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a good basic hotel
standard of food in hotel very poor rooms clean and tidy a very basic hotel

Reviewed by
janet todd

From Penarth, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next