No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Manse

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Victoria Street , Bourton on the Water, GL54 2BX
The Old Manse Hotel Bourton on the Water near Cheltenham sits at the heart of the Gloucestershire town of Bourton on the Water near Cheltenham, Stow on the Wold with easy access via the A429. The Old Manse Hotel is a delightful English Country Hotel and Restaurant overlooking the River Windrush, which flows gently through the centre of this picture post card Cotswold village in the centre of Bourton on the Water: The Old Manse Hotel was originally built for the local Baptist pastor in 1748 and encompasses plenty of traditional Cotswold charm, making it the ideal retreat at any time of year.

However you choose to spend your break at The Old Manse Hotel exploring this historic area of outstanding natural beauty or strolling around the quaint little village of Bourton on the Water with its interesting selection of shops and attractions you will remember the inviting atmosphere, mouth-watering food, cosy rooms and unique relaxed style of hospitality, which makes the hotel a favourite with locals, ramblers and visitors alike.
Picture of The Old Manse , Bourton on the Water at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 67 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect hotel in a great position
Lovely hotel with friendly staff & excellent position to explore bourton in the water

Reviewed by
Claire Nurse

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A dirty hotel
I stay away on business three to four times a month and this
Is the worst hotel I've stayed at
Duvet badly stained, shower dirty hairs left from previous
Guest, dirty cup on table at breakfast, half eaten
Yoghurt pot on room on arrival.
Very poor .....

Reviewed by
D Gillard

From Westerham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very quiet area. Beautiful surroundings. River right outside front door. Very relaxed and laid back atmosphere.

Reviewed by
D Poynter

From Kings Langley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Hotel, Great Location
We stayed here for one night and found the hotel to be in an excellent location with beautiful views out over the water (we paid extra for a "suite" which guaranteed a view).
The hotel itself was fine, for the price we paid but would have been disappointed if we had paid the full price as quoted on their webiste. Breakfast wasn't included in the price either (we knew this in advance so no surprises but would perhaps have expected a B&B rate for the price we paid).
The room spacious with all the facilities you could need but decor was a little tired and perhaps in need of a refurb soon?
We ate in the restaurant and the food was nice, good choice and reasonably priced, nothing special but tasty and plentiful.
staff we very friendly and helpful.
Overall a nice hotel, excellent location, lovely staff but just needs a bit of attention to the decor to brighten it up.

Reviewed by
Karen S

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely positioned hotel
This was a lovely looking hotel and we enjoyed a happy 2 nights here. It was very quiet and peaceful (we were staying in the annexe) so we didn't have much to do with hotel staff apart from checking in and out - they were very nice, warm and friendly.
We only ate breakfast here once. It was rather disappointing in that the food wasn't locally sourced and we had to pay for it separately.
Would strongly recommend staying in this hotel to anyone looking for a beautiful place to stay with excellent friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Sophie V

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really enjoyed our stay. Food was excellent, staff were friendly. The shower door in our en suite was broken.

Reviewed by
L Wall

From Bridgnorth, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not Impressed
The room was advertised at £50 against a normal price of £125. The price displayed in reception when we arrived was £75.
The advert and confirmation indicated a twin room in the hotel. The room was actually in the 'annexe' which was in a small cottage four doors down the street from the hotel. the room was VERY cold with only two small electric radiators. The bathroom was so cold we could not use it. THere is no radiator in the bathroom, only a heated towel rail. The room was definitly never ever going to be worth £125 or £75 as indicated. I would say it was not really acceptable at all.

Reviewed by
Paul S

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Better than we feared
After reading other reviews we feared indifferent food and service at the Old Manse but in reality it was n't so bad. The room though small was adequate but the large bed was very comfortable and the heating worked extremely efficiently. The bathroom was depressing and needed a refit but the bathwater was very hot. Thanks to a very good bakery/cafe next door we were well breakfasted and we ate out so can't comment on the food. Beware that in January many eating places in Bourton seem to be shut rather sadly.

Reviewed by
Gillian H

From Bath, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old Manse
Excellent accommodation, restaurant and bar. Would recommend staying here.

Reviewed by
Mark Smith

From England
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal for a quite weekend away.
Friendly, well equipped with excellent food.

Reviewed by
Sharon G

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next