No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ettington Chase

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Banbury Road, Ettington, Stratford upon Avon, Warwickshire, CV37 7NZ
Ettington Chase is located only 6 miles from Stratford-upon-Avon, Shakespeare’s birthplace and is set in 11 acres of landscaped grounds. We are a 10 minute drive from all the attractions Stratford-upon-Avon offers including the Shakespeare experience, Anne Hathaway's cottage and the RSC. Ideal for business or leisure our guests enjoy complimentary use of our leisure club including an indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and air-conditioned gym. We also offer free car parking and complimentary WI FI access. The stylish bedrooms feature modern oak furniture, a flat-screen TV with freeview channels, and a work desk all with en suite bathrooms with both a bath and shower. Leisure facilities at Ettington Chase include outdoor tennis courts, and guests can enjoy jogging trails and scenic walks in the grounds. The Tempus Bar & Restaurant features seasonal menus made from local produce and room service is available. Please note our standard bedrooms are not located in the Manor house wing of the hotel.
Picture of Ettington Chase, Stratford upon Avon, Warwickshire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 160 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Experience
Breakfast was very basic but of good quality. Other meal menus appeared extremely basic and therefore we did not use the hotel's restaurant.
£6.40 for 2 small bottles of water was so expensive, also the price of orange juice was extremely expensive. I could not afford to buy a glass of wine at the bar - £10 a glass! It is the bar prices alone which would stop me staying at this hotel again.

Reviewed by
E Davis

From Barnstaple, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ettigton Chase room 307 good but tired
The overall impression is good value. However the bathroom fittings ,taps and shower were old and in need of replacement otherwise a very pleasant stay and would do it again.

Reviewed by
keith pickering

From Aldeburgh, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We have been 6 times to the Ettington now & we love it!

Reviewed by
Amy Davis

From Cannock, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good.....but not Great!
Ettington Chase has a nice charm to it! The customer service is really done well and the location is perfect for a quite get away close to Stratford. The qualtiy of our room wasn't that great and it felt more like a dorm room. The room was very basic with no ice box or ice buckett and half of a shower door. The walls were plain and littered with cobwebs. The bed was uncomfortable and dusty. The "free" wifi was extremely spotty and you had to log in every 30 minutes. Besides that, the rest of the hotel was nice. The hotel bar and restaurant were good along with the gym and pool area. All in all, we had a great time in the area and would stay again....in a better room.

Reviewed by
Ari B

From Stamford, USA
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel me and my partner love staying here, it's the second time we have stayed now, although the first time we stated we was in the executive suite which is gorgeous we stayed in the deluxe double room on this stay which was also very nice and clean but you can't beat the executive room. The staff are very friendly and welcoming and the leisure facilities are fantastic especially if you go there to unwind and relax. The food is really good but can be abit pricey but I would advice on having the breakfast buffet as it is really good for the money and very good quality food.

Reviewed by
Rebecca C

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Energy meeting
reception was maned by a novice and it was somewhat unfair, however on getting to the room, I wanted room service having checked this was availble at the desk. The literature in the room did not provide A number to ring for room service. All that was available was on the phone; reception 0; emergency 0.#
I rang 0 to get reception. Having rung for perhaps 3 to 4 minutes I rang off with no reply. Itried again about 5 mins later and again after a longer period perhaps 5 mins, I got through to reception. Reception put me though to the restaurant, but having then held the line for approaching 10 mins the phone just went dead. I rang reception again and they eventually put me through to another restaurant number. this was picked mup but then they asked me for a deposit on the food I had ordered!! I responded by asking if this was a 4 star hotel and it was not acting as one. Eventaully my food arrived about 20 mins later. The ordered Telegraph paper did not arrive. All in all unimpressive.

Reviewed by
A Harris

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely team
I've been to a lot of hotels. After a while you can just hear who is being helpful and friendly and who is going through the motions. Happily, the staff here are incredibly polite and friendly and helped us have a lovely stay.

Reviewed by
Sam R

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall
Pleasant and helpful staff. Buffet breakfast was good. Rooms were clean and beds were comfortable.

Reviewed by
Colin W

From Royston, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had an enjoyable couple of days, so easy to visit the cotswolds and not forgetting our special place Stratford upon Avon. We hope to return very soon and will be recommending your hotel to family and friends.

Reviewed by
M Weir

From Carmarthen, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good weekend away venue with easy access to Stratford On Avon
Good sized rooms with all the basic facilities even in the standard room. Be aware though that this place is an ideal venue for larger groups, including wedding parties, and so if you want quiet make sure you ask for room well away from the disco! There is no air con, so should we ever get another heat wave, just ask reception for a fan- they supplied us with one without a problem promptly. Food was good at the bar and breakfast- although some bar food seemed pricey. Didn't try the main restaurant, but it looked ok, standard 3*+ stuff, not that special, but as I say didn't try it.

Reviewed by
David B

From England
Who stayed in August 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.