Ripon Spa Hotel

3

Park Street, Ripon, HG4 2BU

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (57)

84% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Garry L

  • April 2015

Traditional good service and excellent value

A lovely break and we were made very welcome from the moment we arrived.

All staff were very pleasnt and helpful. Lovely well cooked breakfast. Hot food and lovely pleasant room.soft white bath towels and comfy bed. Excellent value for money ..we will visit later in the year..maybe with friends for the races !

  • Jackie H

  • March 2015

Dated and tired

Unfortunately we should have taken notice of the other reviews.

This hotel requires a lot of updating. The windows were drafty, the furniture and decor was very dated and tired. The bathroom was partly updated but still needed a lot more work to bring it up to the standard of most hotels. We had stayed at another hotel the previous night which was the same price but was far superior. It seems unfair to be charging the prices they are charging for this standard of accommodation.

  • T Knight

  • March 2015

Delightful hotel with friendly attentive staff

Excellent hotel experience, every thing as one would expect of a country town hotel.

The echo of the Edwardian era giving the whole place a special Charm,Having read the other reviews they say the décor needs up dating, I think not its the interior which gives this place its individuality ,It should embrace its history as it has a perfect Edwardian Hotel flavour, untouched by the dead hand corporate hotel design of uniformity and chrome. This hotel may need to redecorate but sympathetically , Dont destroy your style keep the period furniture it works

  • Roger E

  • February 2015

Good situation - reasonably quiet & value for money

Reasonable price for a hotel that could be really special - but needs a bit of investment

The restaurant was closed when I arrived at 9.15pm & as the chef had gone home, the only alternative was takeaway from the town which to be fair is walking distance

The room was ok & clean - breakfast was very good

  • B Norris

  • January 2015

Although this hotel was adequate, I found the décor very old fashioned and thought that the hotel was badly in need of refurbishment.

  • John M

  • January 2015

Great Experience

I travel a lot and found this Hotel by chance.

It has a lot of charm, and the staff where very friendly and helpful. In fact this added to the overall experience. I certainly would have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • A Lawrence

  • January 2015

Step back in time

I love the Edwardian atmosphere of the Ripon Spa - roaring fires and croquet lawns depending on your season.

The rooms are comfortable and well appointed, and the food delightful. Staff are friendly and helpful. Handy for both Ripon and Fountains Abbey.

  • Valerie R

  • December 2014

Comfortable stay in Ripon

Stayed here before - warm welcome and a short walk into Ripon.

Very good breakfast included in price. Decor is dated which is a shame as the building has lovely features. Bar lovely - open fire - a bit pricey. Would stay again.

  • J Harper

  • November 2014

Pretty place

This hotel has plenty of space and proportions grand.

Its decor is on the old fashioned, but not vintage, side. Electrical sockets are all low down, soap dispenser a little high for a short person, and the paintwork on window frames was in need of attention. However, maintenance was clearly being carried out in other parts of the hotel. The service was friendly and good, and an error on the bill corrected without fuss. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Shirley H

  • October 2014

Autumn break

Clean and comfortable with good friendly service and excellent food in the bar- but the hotel is badly in need of refurbishment; and though the cooked breakfast was good(and the pleasant views of the garden, squirrels and croquet lawn from the dining room a bonus!) some additional provision of fresh fruit/ choice of juices/ muesli/granola wouldn't go amiss.