Reviews - Ripon Spa Hotel


Park Street, Ripon, HG4 2BU

Price From 174.43 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (46)

85% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Kirstine C

  • September 2015

Ripon Spa Hotel

A dog friendly hotel so essential for us.

  • Peter Freebody

  • September 2015

A nice experience

It is always a pleasure to return to the Spar Hotel as we know we will be looked after in a clean and well run Hotel and there is always the added bonus on Ripon town.

  • Ian H

  • July 2015

Ripon Spa Hotel

Very much enjoyed my stay at Ripon Spa Hotel.

With Spa Gardens and the Spa baths next door, Spa Park over the road and a lovely rear garden with croquet, etc. it's in a great place only 5mins walk to Market Square (check square name). It is on a busy road, and close to it, but my room was round the back and quiet, apart from the dance on Friday night, which I was warned about on arrival. It all ended peacefully at midnight, so all was well. Hotel itself could do with more than a lick of paint, a lot of it looks like it has seen better days, and certainly needs sprucing up, but my room was great and clean and everything worked fine. Though the loo made an awful loud noise when flushing, so in the night to save the neighbours sleep, (it sounded like their loo did the same), I was as sparing with the flush as I could be. I did have to be shown to my room, my own stupidity, the door numbers on either side were one up and one down, and I still didn't twig. Lighting was a bit dim, the other bedroom doors were all wood, opaque, of course, but mine turned out to be a half glassed fire escape, which is my excuse for not finding it. It did have a blind. Reception kindly found someone nice to show me in, feeling very thick. Turns out my bedroom and bathroom were on either side of the fire escape, slightly quirky, but worked out fine for me, no fires during my stay, thankfully. No one batted an eyelid with me arriving very happy, but tired and covered in bug splats on a motorbike, having ridden some fantastic roads, through gorgeous North Yorkshire dales. Ripon being a lovely town, with lots of oldie worldie charm still going for it, a cathedral, several unusual museums, (workhouse, police, prison, courthouse), it was a great place to stay for an old timer like me. Cooked breakfast buffet was superb, staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Garry L

  • April 2015

Traditional good service and excellent value

A lovely break and we were made very welcome from the moment we arrived.

All staff were very pleasnt and helpful. Lovely well cooked breakfast. Hot food and lovely pleasant room.soft white bath towels and comfy bed. Excellent value for money ..we will visit later in the year..maybe with friends for the races !

  • Jackie H

  • March 2015

Dated and tired

Unfortunately we should have taken notice of the other reviews.

This hotel requires a lot of updating. The windows were drafty, the furniture and decor was very dated and tired. The bathroom was partly updated but still needed a lot more work to bring it up to the standard of most hotels. We had stayed at another hotel the previous night which was the same price but was far superior. It seems unfair to be charging the prices they are charging for this standard of accommodation.

  • T Knight

  • March 2015

Delightful hotel with friendly attentive staff

Excellent hotel experience, every thing as one would expect of a country town hotel.

The echo of the Edwardian era giving the whole place a special Charm,Having read the other reviews they say the décor needs up dating, I think not its the interior which gives this place its individuality ,It should embrace its history as it has a perfect Edwardian Hotel flavour, untouched by the dead hand corporate hotel design of uniformity and chrome. This hotel may need to redecorate but sympathetically , Dont destroy your style keep the period furniture it works

  • Roger E

  • February 2015

Good situation - reasonably quiet & value for money

Reasonable price for a hotel that could be really special - but needs a bit of investment

The restaurant was closed when I arrived at 9.15pm & as the chef had gone home, the only alternative was takeaway from the town which to be fair is walking distance

The room was ok & clean - breakfast was very good

  • B Norris

  • January 2015

Although this hotel was adequate, I found the décor very old fashioned and thought that the hotel was badly in need of refurbishment.

  • John M

  • January 2015

Great Experience

I travel a lot and found this Hotel by chance.

It has a lot of charm, and the staff where very friendly and helpful. In fact this added to the overall experience. I certainly would have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • A Lawrence

  • January 2015

Step back in time

I love the Edwardian atmosphere of the Ripon Spa - roaring fires and croquet lawns depending on your season.

The rooms are comfortable and well appointed, and the food delightful. Staff are friendly and helpful. Handy for both Ripon and Fountains Abbey.