No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ripon Spa Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Park Street , Ripon, HG4 2BU
Located within easy walking distance of Ripon City Centre and positioned twenty minutes from Harrogate stands the stunning Edwardian Ripon Spa Hotel. A fine Edwardian building, the Ripon Spa Hotel is peacefully situated in 8 acres of attractive award winning gardens in the centre of the ancient city of Ripon - 'The Cathedral City of the Dales'

The 40 en-suite bedrooms are well equipped and individually furnished with many overlooking the grounds. All our classical and contemporary rooms offer all modern facilities including, Tea/Coffee making, hairdryer and trouser press. We also host a drinks terrace and award winning food which have helped us earn our Trip Advisor and LateRooms excellence awards.

Just 10 minutes off the A1 - People come to Ripon to see the magnificent cathedral, famous racecourse and nearby attractions of Harrogate, York, Fountains Abbey, Studley Royal Gardens and the North Yorkshire Moors and Dales. The hotel is an ideal base for sightseeing with a wealth of historic houses, National Trust properties, picturesque villages and glorious Yorkshire countryside on the doorstep. The Ripon Spa is the ideal venue to explore all of the above whilst staying in comfort.
Picture of Ripon Spa Hotel , Ripon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 66 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel in Ripon
We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. The staff were very welcomIng and helpful, even asking how we enjoyed exploring the town. The hotel is charming with an elegant feel. Breakfast was exceAllentown too, well worth a visit!

Reviewed by
I Robertson

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old fashioned charm
A charming hotel of slightly fading elegance. Lovely gardens and spacious public rooms of a wonderful old fashioned style. Food and service excellent but bedrooms need refurbishing. We would definitely stay here again as it has character and warmth not found in modern hotels. If it is to be refurbished it it is hoped that its essential old worldly style is not lost.

Reviewed by
Peter Johnson

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ripon Spa
Pleasent hotel in lovely grounds from the rear elevation.
Much of the hotel is dated and in need of update including the bar which is somewhat dark and gloomy. Window frames in desperate need of replacement as is the internal decoration.
Lovely property, but in need of TLC.

Reviewed by
Ian W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ripon spa hotel
Arrived at the ripon spa hotel and was greeted by reception by friendly staff, we checked in and went to our room which was very small for a double and had the bathroom next to our bed with folding doors leading in, the toilet was blocked so we had to call to get it unblocked, we also asked at reception if an iron was available of which we was told yes and that it would be delivered outside our door forthwith , we started to get ready to go out and the iron didn't turn up for 45 mins, when the lady showed up she said she had only just got the message, the hotel looks very tired and is in need of a revamp, breakfast was very poor, for the money we paid I would have expected a lot more ,the hotel is set in lovely grounds but it's a big no no for me.

Reviewed by
colin p

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a thoroughly fantastic time in Ripon for the Tour de France weekend and my husband's birthday. The hotel is perfectly placed, being close enough to the centre of town and to the Tour de France route to walk everywhere yet far enough away not to be noisy. The staff were brilliant, the food was excellent- we ate in the restaurant one evening as well as having breakfast each morning, the room was great and the grounds are superb - perfect for relaxing in after a day of excitement at the Tour. Room prices were a little steep because the Tour was on but it was the same everywhere.

Reviewed by
A Morris

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fair priced
value for money...great gardens

Reviewed by
m craggs

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Better still
Second visit to the Ripon Spa in recent weeks. This time, I had one of the refurbished rooms and it was hard to fault. Same positive comments as last time ( see previous review, 'Quaint and enjoyable'), particularly the exemplary standard of housekeeping and the wonderful staff. Will be back again!

Reviewed by
David K

From Thornhill, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice time.
Very nice hotel in a lovely setting. Little hiccup with the first mornings breakfast, but quickly rectified. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
john p

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quaint and enjoyable
I have always hitherto stayed elsewhere, when visiting an elderly relative in the Ripon area. This time, however, I needed to book accommodation immediately and my usual haunt was fully booked. Having read some of the earlier reviews I was a bit cautious about staying here, but it was, in fact, a very enjoyable stay. Staff were welcoming; the room was pristine, in terms of cleanliness and the day to day housekeeping was of a noticeably high standard. There were one or two slight issues of maintenance etc. which are inevitable in a building of this age, and which, in any case, did not spoil the quality of my stay. The hotel looks as if it had been neglected for a number of years, but that strenuous efforts are now being made to rectify that. They aren't quite there, yet, but it's a beautiful building with splendid grounds, staffed by people who are anxious to please. I loved, for example the lift, which stated 'maximum 4 passengers', but was smaller than a phone box, and sounded as if it were powered by an outboard motor! But it worked flawlessly. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty, if a little unimaginative, and I think the way it is organised could probably be looked at, so that the efforts of the pleasant and hardworking staff would be more effective.
I also wished I had had time to spend in the lovely gardens (it was an unexpectedly warm and sunny weekend).
Overall, then, a really enjoyable, slightly quirky, place to stay. I would definitely visit again.

Reviewed by
David K

From Thornhill, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful
This is a proper hotel. The room had a decent sized bathroom with a bath and loads of hot water. The bar and breakfast staff were great. This was fabulous value for money and we would certainly stay again.

Reviewed by
lynn m

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next