No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ripon Spa Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Park Street , Ripon, HG4 2BU
Located within easy walking distance of Ripon City Centre and positioned twenty minutes from Harrogate stands the stunning Edwardian Ripon Spa Hotel. A fine Edwardian building, the Ripon Spa Hotel is peacefully situated in 8 acres of attractive award winning gardens in the centre of the ancient city of Ripon - 'The Cathedral City of the Dales'

The 40 en-suite bedrooms are well equipped and individually furnished with many overlooking the grounds. All our classical and contemporary rooms offer all modern facilities including, Tea/Coffee making, hairdryer and trouser press. We also host a drinks terrace and award winning food which have helped us earn our Trip Advisor and LateRooms excellence awards.

Just 10 minutes off the A1 - People come to Ripon to see the magnificent cathedral, famous racecourse and nearby attractions of Harrogate, York, Fountains Abbey, Studley Royal Gardens and the North Yorkshire Moors and Dales. The hotel is an ideal base for sightseeing with a wealth of historic houses, National Trust properties, picturesque villages and glorious Yorkshire countryside on the doorstep. The Ripon Spa is the ideal venue to explore all of the above whilst staying in comfort.
Picture of Ripon Spa Hotel , Ripon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 72 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended
Friendly staff and beautiful grounds; very convenient location. Wish I had been staying longer.

Reviewed by
G Rose

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Visit to Ripon and Fountains Abbey
I expect the interior design gurus would like to give this hotel a modern makeover! It belongs to a more quiet, polite and elegant part of the last century but I would not wish to change anything. Except maybe a little maintenance here and there. Beautifully kept, extensive grounds and with a wonderful public park next door. Plenty of parking space. A quiet open location but only a few minutes walk to the city centre. I would not hesitate to return.

Reviewed by
Peter M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay

Reviewed by
A Reid

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ripon Spa Hotel
We had a very positive experience at the Ripon Spa Hotel. Having read some reviews we were fairly confident of what we would get, and our expectations were fulfilled. The hotel has Edwardian charm and a touch of 'shabby chic', with slightly faded grandeur, but lovely gardens, great service and very comfortable rooms.

Reviewed by
E Ellis

From Knebworth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely old-style hotel full of character
really enjoyed our stay and walking round the beautiful garden. Close to Rpon Centre and Fountains Abbey

Reviewed by
Elizabeth M

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stop-over

Reviewed by
A Reid

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel Review
A good and enjoyable experience

Reviewed by
W Beesley

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing stay.
We have stayed here before and felt the hotel had gone downhill. Both rooms were small. One was very dark ;the view from the small window was obscured by a large tree immediately outside. The window frame in the other room was broken and the window could not be closed. The cost of this single room at £130 per night seems high.The restaurant was closed for dinner and we had to eat in the bar. The hotel was preoccupied by a golf croquet tournament affecting the availability of public rooms. The waiter service was very helpful and friendly.

Reviewed by
J Moran

From Woking, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A touch of the past
Solid old Spa Hotel in lovely grounds.Very good food and value for money.

Reviewed by
J Mactaggart

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel in Ripon
We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. The staff were very welcomIng and helpful, even asking how we enjoyed exploring the town. The hotel is charming with an elegant feel. Breakfast was exceAllentown too, well worth a visit!

Reviewed by
I Robertson

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next