No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Kings Hotel

3AA Assessed Metro Hotel Ratings explained
139-141 Kings Road , Brighton, BN1 2NA
Located on Brighton's seafront close to the West Pier, the Kings Hotel is perfect for the business or leisure traveller. Originally 3 regency town houses we are now a modern hotel with a vibrant and cosmopolitan atmosphere. Many of the hotels 90 bedrooms are seafacing. The K Bar is perfect for relaxing during your stay and you can also utilise the FREE WIFI available during your stay. Located five minutes from the famous Lanes shopping area, Brighton Conference Centre and the city's busy nightlife, the Kings really is the perfect place to stay.

There is a small car park at the hotel, charged at £15.00 per night and available on a first come first served basis. See reception on arrival who will advise you of availability. If no spaces available you will directed to on-street parking near the hotel or the Regency Square NCP car park which is a few minute's walk away. The hotel is fully non-smoking.

The Kings Hotel is a pet friendly hotel, but charges will apply'
Picture of Kings Hotel, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 241 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Excellent stay, clean room.

Reviewed by
Anna Y

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could Do Better
Older woman traveling alone and not a complainer (usually): The first room I was allocated was in the basement of the hotel. It was freezing cold, and looked out onto some basement concrete steps and yard which was littered with cigarette ends & bits of rubbish... Welcome to Brighton! The windows didn't lock properly, and along the corridor there was an unsupervised, unlocked door leading outside. I asked for a different room. The next room was on the 2nd floor but after leaving the lift there were then flights of stairs to negotiate. The room had scaffolding over the windows, and again the window locks were inadequate. Third time lucky! I was allocated a room on the 3rd floor. Still with scaffolding, a dodgy window and bird netting on the exterior, but by now I was fed up, tired, and needed to land somewhere. I was not offered any help with my large heavy suitcase ... and I do understand "you get what you pay for" The room was adequate ... and the bed very comfortable. The cleaner there does a great job considering how run down the hotel is. It looks like the hotel is undergoing some refurbishment, but probably difficult given the turnover of people staying there.

Reviewed by
r bentley

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recommend
Cannot fault the hotel. Better than you would expect for the price. Excellent staff. Great breakfast. All v good. Colleagues stayed at nearby Hilton and our room and experience was much better.

Reviewed by
Susanna H

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brighton Rocks in unison with the Kings Hotel
If I was to sum up my stay at the Kings Hotel in two words it would be "Simply Perfect"
The four night stay was wonderful Brighton certainly does Rock and in Unison with my very important Conference the hotel made for a peaceful enjoyable and relaxing stay. With very polite staff always wearing a big smile and the food was excellent breakfast being the most important meal of the day and it set you up for the day. The room had a fantastic view of the sea and the West Pier. If I am destined to return to Brighton in the future the Kings Hotel is where I shall stay.

Reviewed by
karen scarrott

From Warwick, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired
A comfortable room but the décor was a little tired. Disappointed to find that no evening meals were available, but found some great restaurants in Preston Street nearby.

Reviewed by
Michael W

From SOUTHAMPTON, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Faded splendour on the seafront
To sum it up, this hotel is just overpriced. If this were "Four in a Bed" and I had to put ££ in an envelope as to what I thought it was worth, then I would have put in £55, but my single room was £87 B&B. The overriding impression you get is that the whole place needs refurbishing.
Good points: Room was very clean, shower was hot, towels were clean and fluffy, shampoo etc. provided (in dispensers, but nice stuff) bed was comfortable, and the breakfast was absolutely excellent, very good indeed.
Bad points: Reception poor- lady very offhand (just not interested), money taken as soon as you set foot in the hotel or even see the room and warned in no uncertain terms that "your card details will be kept in case of any damage".( Did I look like a member of a drunken stag party????). Directions to room garbled, had to ask about breakfast, pointed lackadaisically towards lift. Whole place rather rundown, stair carpets very worn on the treads, watch out! The hotel is obviously made up of previous terraced houses, so lots of little half landings and rooms quite difficult to locate. My room and shower pretty small (although that's common with singles) and although new-looking "flat" TV, nearly falling off the wall and only good for 5 channels. Rooms have no double glazing (no problem for me squished round the side, but possible very noisy at the front if you're paying for a sea view!) and I could hear other residents talking etc. as well as corridor noise. For one night (after a few drinks) it was fine. I would stay there again but only if it were cheaper, becasue the quality of the breakfast was a huge redeeming factor.

Reviewed by
Philippa B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Suitable for a 1 night stay
Room was really hot and the window was so small that it was not possible to air and cool the room. It is a noisy hotel and I didn't get a particularly good sleep as a result. Since I was woken by guests leaving their rooms at 6-7 in the morning!

Reviewed by
Michael M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never stay in this place again.
Asked to pay extra £20 for checking in 2 hours early.
The room was so hot that they provide a fan.
Stains in the carpet.
Pleasant staff.

Reviewed by
ANA M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brighton Hotel
Although the location was not too bad, it was a little too far from the main Lanes and station for my tastes. The WiFi did not work very well in my room, it was extremely patchy, which made working very difficult. it was only really available in the reception area. I was not told about this when I spoke to reception on booking.
The reception staff were quite indifferent and not particularly welcoming or friendly. My room was just about ok, though the furniture was tired and it was not cosy. The bed was the one good thing, very comfortable. The bathroom too, was small but good. I've stayed in much better rooms for less money- not good value!

Reviewed by
A Hills

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic staff and great ambience. They could not do more to help

Reviewed by
Scott Rydqvist

From Rochester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next