No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Kings Hotel

3AA Assessed Metro Hotel Ratings explained
139-141 Kings Road , Brighton, BN1 2NA
Located on Brighton's seafront close to the West Pier, the Kings Hotel is perfect for the business or leisure traveller. Originally 3 regency town houses we are now a modern hotel with a vibrant and cosmopolitan atmosphere. Many of the hotels 90 bedrooms are seafacing. The K Bar is perfect for relaxing during your stay and you can also utilise the FREE WIFI available during your stay. Located five minutes from the famous Lanes shopping area, Brighton Conference Centre and the city's busy nightlife, the Kings really is the perfect place to stay.

There is a small car park at the hotel, charged at £15.00 per night and available on a first come first served basis. See reception on arrival who will advise you of availability. If no spaces available you will directed to on-street parking near the hotel or the Regency Square NCP car park which is a few minute's walk away. The hotel is fully non-smoking.

The Kings Hotel is a pet friendly hotel, but charges will apply'
Picture of Kings Hotel, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 235 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

disappointed
I was shocked to arrive and find out the lifts weren't working and I'd been put on the 3rd floor?
Partly my fault for not requesting to be ground floor.
Also the language barrier was difficult,hard to make myself understood.
I have Fibromyalgia and heart failure and many other ailments,so I needed the lift.
I should of been given a discount!
I dont think it was worth the £61 stay,more like £30.
I did ask if I could cancel,as I knew not having the lift would be a problem for me,I was told no,which considering I was being given a bum deal was not good.
The bedroom was awful,way too hot and the tiny window located round a bend would only open a tiny bit.I felt claustrophobic and like I couldn't breathe.I'd prefer the window near to me,for fresh air.
I was given a fan,but its hard to sleep with its noise and its not 'fresh air' at the end of the day.
I wasnt happy that I had to keep trailing all the way to the front for a cigarette either.
In future I will double check for a ground floor room,no stairs and a balcony,so tht I can smoke freely.
The breakfast wasn't nice.Cheap beans and streaky bacon (again my fault,I should of asked for rindless bacon) and I only eat Heinz.
All this said and done it was a pleasant enough stay.

Reviewed by
E LOWE

From England
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reasonable
The room was lovely, with some classic furnishing, and therefore I was able to enjoy a whole afternoon & evening relaxing in it, watching television. It would have been even more enjoyable, however, if the free wifi signal had reached to my particular room; instead I had to relocate to the bar in order to check my emails etcetera.
The only other noticeable problem, though, was the fact that the walls were very thin, so that I was weary of talking on the phone for fear of disturbing my neighbours. In fact, I was woken up by some fellow guests noisily traversing the staircase at four in the morning. This, however, is perhaps due to the structural nature of the old building, and perhaps could not be helped without major renovation.
Overall, my experience was very positive, however.

Reviewed by
D P

From England
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy Enough...
Welcoming reception team. Lift was out of use, however luggage was taken to the room on the third floor.... room was clean and tidy and bathroom was in good order. Could have done with an extra table or something similar.

Reviewed by
John F

From Hove, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fire alarm
On the first morning of our stay we were awoken at 7.00 am by the hotel fire alarm
On getting down to reception there were a lot of sleepy disgruntled guest ! My husband
Is a fire alarm engineer so he offered to have a look at the panel , on doing so within
Seconds he had silenced the alarm allowing all the guest to return to there rooms
I am a little annoyed that we didn't even get a thank you for potentially saving the hotel
A lot of complaints for the many guests that were staying there ! Also when we arrived
The lift was broken awaiting an engineer it was still broken when we left three days
Later

Reviewed by
kay mckenzie

From Cannock, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Communication between staff with reference to booking parking etc was sketchy at best. However staff in the dining area were friendly and helpful

Reviewed by
Elizabeth Davies

From Blackwood, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excelent
N/A

Reviewed by
Christopher Coston

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brighton weekend
OK, average hotel, overpriced at £135 per night, but perfect position on sea front, short walk to The Lanes

Reviewed by
Sally O

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfectly comfortable room, in a slightly dated hotel (looks like something from the 70's, though the rooms have been partly modernised with wallpaper etc).
Good location, polite staff, comfortable bed.
Dislikes: no mixer taps in the washbasin (though the shower was great) and easy / ready access to wifi would have been appreciated. Also should have a safe room with tags for guests wishing to leave baggage outside of check-in/check-out times (as opposed to an open access area near the front door)
All in all, perfectly comfortable hotel, but definitely not worth the last minute rate I paid.

Reviewed by
S Singh

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mediocre
Good location, nice room but noisey. No plugs on near the bedside of the room so could not use any electrical appliances such as laptops etc. No parking after requesting it, hotel does not make clear that you have to get there at 9.00am to get a space.

Reviewed by
S Rehman

From Dagenham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotter than a sauna
Slightly unhelpful reception desk staff - long queues
No parking - parked in underground multistorey up the road £20 for 24 hours
Room on fifth floor with no air conditioning - very very hot day but the room was even hotter than outside. Had both windows open and borrowed a fan from reception but made no difference - didn't sleep at all. Rooms lower down weren't too bad (our daughters had a room on the third floor)
Breakfast was lovely - scrambled egg and smoked salmon

Reviewed by
Amanda M

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next