No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - TheWesley (formerly known as MIC)

4Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
81-103 EUSTON STREET , London, NW1 2EZ
Following a £3m renovation in 2012 the hotel is one of Central London’s fastest up and coming hotels, and the ideal base for both the business and leisure traveler. A stones throw away from the City of London, cultural treasures such as the British museum, the beauty of Regents Park, and West End shopping and theatreland.Located in the heart of London, just a few minutes walk from the busy Euston station, the gateway to the Midlands and North, and St Pancras, the Eurostar gateway to Europe, The Hotel is an award winning independent, ethically run business hotel offering 100 modern, well equipped guest bedrooms and 17 meeting and conference rooms. Complimentary wifi is available and guests can enjoy the comfort of our Atrium restaurant and café for dining and all day drinks and snacks.
Picture of TheWesley (formerly known as MIC), London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 157 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent surprise
To put this review in context, I work away a lot and probably stay in hotels 60-70 nights a year, most of which are more "prestigious" than the Wesley. I rarely write reviews but this place deserves one.
I moved from a city to a quiet Devon town five years ago and mainly come to London on business as a trustee of an educational charity.
I had an odd moment when checking in and the penny dropped as I noticed reference to "Methodist" and "International Students", as I'm an atheist and while I remember my noisy fun filled student days warmly, I don't want to be on the fringe of anyone else's. I'd booked a standard single room and wondered if I was about to re-experience student accommodation.
My experience at the Wesley from start to finish was fantastic - able, well trained and friendly staff who give personal attention with no glib "have a nice day", a modern very clean bedroom with well thought out and equipped space, an excellent shower room, and a location so quiet I slept better than back home! I enjoy good food and I wondered how the ethically sourced approach at the hotel would translate on to to my breakfast plate but the buffet was so good that I regretted having eaten out the previous evening (next time I'll eat in). Vegetarian and continental breakfast options were being enjoyed by others - including freshly made pancakes, but I chose fresh fruit, black-spotted pig bacon, lincolnshire sausages and scrambled eggs made to order ("did I want original, or with milk, or cream, french style...?") by a chef proudly explaining what he was doing. Looking around at breakfast put a real smile on my face and set me up for the day, as I realised that completely by accident, I had booked into somewhere that does what it says it will do - brilliantly. Unpretentious and genuine. A real gem.

Reviewed by
Mary G

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
Me and my husband only stayed 1 night but we have no complaints. The room was nice, the staff were friendly and the breakfast was great. It was such a convenient location for us, just 2 mins from Euston station. We would stay there again.

Reviewed by
Hannah H

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All ok
Ok place, close to Euston, everything was a little smaller then expected compared to the picks.
Staff did exactly what they are paid to do, their job so nothing amazing there. There was nothing wrong with the place I was just left a little disappointed. The add suggested it had been newly refurbished but works are still in progress, nothing major just the decorating. Basically a very average place.
I think my issue here is London hotels at this proce and star rating are honestly behind the standards of the rest of the country. You really have to pay a lot to actually get what these guys say they are.
For the money and service I would say just go stay at the Premier Inn or the Travel Lodge - it's a slightly better standard and you know what to expect and get what you expect.

Reviewed by
G Oliver

From Didsbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

change of name drop in quality
Fairly pricey for what they now offer Room cleran but awkward access up 2 floors down a floor via stairs Then the lift broke Cleaners barged in at 0905 am on the sunday despite breakfast finishing at 10am they expect rooms vacated by ten Having stayed there before the revamp and rename sadly wouldnt recomend again

Reviewed by
Patrick A

From birmingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unusual hotel experience
The Welsey (MIC) provides a strange hotel experience. The rooms are large enough, clean and well presented, but the rest of the hotel, from the makeshift reception to the cafeteria-like dining area do not feel like a four star hotel. We had a lot of noise from a party in the hotel until late on one of the nights we stayed too. As the room charges are not 'budget' either, there are much nicer hotels to stay at in London.

Reviewed by
Neal B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent place to stay
The hotel was in a great position for sightseeing and train links. Our room was small but had everything we needed and it was great to have air conditioning. All the staff we met were kind, helpful and friendly. We arrived a bit early but our room was ready and there was no problem with being allowed to go to it early. Breakfast was great, lots of choice and it all looked fresh and appertising. Once again the staff were very helpful and friendly. A great place to stay.

Reviewed by
E Hardy

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sold my room
After a very long day arrived at hotel at 10:30 to find my room had been sold on and no more rooms available. Had to relocate to another hotel which was like a broom cupboard and had to pay the mic rate which was more than someone who checked in off the street.
Took about 1 1/2 hours to sort. Very very poor service.

Reviewed by
Mark Oldham

From England
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for your money
Excellent location. It was quiet as well and I didn't have to contend with the road noise of London. To be honest the only reason I didn't score a 6 for cleanliness was the small amount of mildew in the shower which only takes a little bleach to kill. The food was excellent and the Chef was lovel friendly. I also appreciated how he made an effort to make your eggs any way you wished without rolling his eyes! The hotel stag were polite and professional. The other best thing for me was the iron with an ironing board which meant I didn't have to go rumpled to my meeting. All in all a pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
Pamela O

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good accomodation

Reviewed by
M Moody

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good size room, conveniant location and friendly staff. However the breakfast was lukewarm, the bed was small and there were a few small decorating jobs to be done. Not sure if the hotel is worthy of 4 stars, more likely 3.

Reviewed by
P E

From England
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.