Reviews - The Wesley (formerly known as MIC)

4

81-103 EUSTON STREET, London, NW1 2EZ

Price From 323.94 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (114)

79% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Scott D

  • January 2015

A good-value-for-money hotel, very close to Euston train station, with lovely modern rooms and a great breakfast.

The only downside was that the hotel was advertised as 'recently refurbished' (or something similar), where as in actual fact the communal areas are still being refurbished so there is some unsightly boarded-off areas. I'm sure it will be lovely when it's finished.

  • A Choudhury

  • January 2015

Glad I only paid £90 for this supposedly £250/night hotel as it still wasn't good value for money!

I stayed in a superior double room in this hotel on the 3rd of January, 2015 for one night due to a company party later in the evening.

It looked fairly comfortable but I was shocked and outraged to find that the bed is not a double mattress, just 2 singles stuck together. I find this both unethical and misleading from a supposedly 'ethical' hotel that is selling a double room as 'deluxe'. The mattresses part as you move, so occasionally you will have to extract yourself from the uncomfortable chasm in between. I asked the receptionist if this is the same with every room in the hotel and he said it is, I didn't see that information anywhere else on the website. WiFi signal is poor with very little or no coverage on the third floor. The staff are barely friendly, with little more than a smile making up the hotels customer service. Its 7:52am on Sunday 4th right now and I have been woken by the loud banging of doors all through the night from other hotel guests. There was also hoovering so clearly heard from the hallways that it might as well have been in the room with me. If your shower is fairly hot then you will feel like you're suffocating if in there for more than 5 minutes due to a lack of ventilation. The only positive that comes to mind from this experience is the close location to Euston square tube station, but that's definitely not enough to make up for this poor excuse for a 4* hotel... Terrible hospitality!!

  • glyn n

  • January 2015

TheWesley (formerly known as MIC)

Excellent, staff helpful,good location,will definitely returns

  • rachel p

  • January 2015

recommend this hotel

Very impressed, was offered an upgrade on our room, as there was one available, due to the booking being part of a present.

Lovely room (although the kettle had leaked everywhere by the morning), very clean, lovely shower, and without doubt the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in. Lovely breakfast the next morning, very friendly staff and breakfast chef, perfect location 5 minute walk from euston, we could leave our bag on check out day and then just a few mins walk to collect it before catching train home. Will definitely be using this hotel again.

  • danielle sawyer

  • January 2015

Weekend break

Friendly staff, clean room, great breakfast.

  • P Clark

  • December 2014

Pre Christmas stay

Hotel selected as I wanted a 4* hotel and this one had had good reviews and was 1.5 miles approximately from the Aldwych theatre and a 3 minute walk from Euston station.Hotel reviews stated that the hotel had undergone a 3m renovation in 2012 and the room, albeit compact and bijoux, was smart and modern, with a lovely ensuite, although shower leaked.

The room was clean, well presented and warm. Free tea, coffee and water were provided. There was an issue re being able to hear constantly running water through pipeworks during the night time which did affect our sleep but as it was for one night only we did not bring it up with staff. Downstairs in the lobby and the restaurant it was a different matter. We arrived to find the lobby and restaurant undergoing major works and it looked very shabby, which was a shame as we felt it let down the overall experience. Lift only access to restaurant which turned out to be a pain as no stairs and lift slow and small, especially as lobby only one flight up. Hope this is resolved with renovation. We had breakfast included with our booking and it was very good and excellent value for money. Full English breakfast was available along with fruit, yogurt, cereals, any type of eggs and freshly cooked pancakes. Overall a good hotel, not excellent and would not repeat whilst under renovation but perfectly good for a night out to go to the theatre.

  • Simon B

  • December 2014

Simply a great hotel

My Girlfriend and I were in London for a long weekend and stayed at the Wesley.

The room was simple but modern and well designed. Everything was spotlessly clean and the bed comfortable. Great breakfast and just 2 minute stroll to Euston station.

  • Matthew W

  • December 2014

Clean, good hotel & service

Clean, good service & in good location and good price for a short business trip to London.

  • Richard W

  • December 2014

Disappointed - Pictures are misleading

Bathroom shower was like a fire hose and flooded the bathroom.

Room was tired and the atmosphere of the hotel outside the room was prison like. Lifts weren't working, areas of the hotel were under repair etc.

  • Jon W

  • December 2014

Very good but some problems

Firstly the positives: + Good location - walking distance to lots of west-centre places, tube stations very close by for getting anywhere further afield.

+ Room was very clean and modern.

+ Comfortable bed. + Nice courtesy biscuits (chocolate ginger things) + a good range of tea, fruit infusions, coffee & hot chocolate. Negatives:

- I had a room on the front, and suffered the bright green floodlights seeping round the edges of my curtains. Not the most restful lighting effect. - The room was very cold (I stayed in early December) . This was because the air-con was "locked" to central control, and set to a very low temperature. It was actually warmer in the reception, near the main entrance, when I went to get it sorted out, than it was in my room. Unfortunately the staff were unable to fix the problem — they clearly didn't know how to work the air-con control system — but they did have a fan heater they could lend me (which suggests it's not the first time someone's been cold in their room). - The shower isn't thermostatically controlled (or if it's meant to be, it doesn't work) and varied between cool and warm every few seconds.