No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Salutation Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
34 South Street , Perth, PH2 8PH
This city centre hotel has 84 non -smoking en-suite bedrooms and is only minutes walk from all the shops, theatres, Concert Hall and the Beautiful walks round the River Tay.

All rooms are fully modernised with TV, tea making facilities, telephone and central heating. There is free WiFi in the public areas.

Take dinner in our Adam Restaurant or Bar Supper in Reids Bar where excellent local produce is served by our friendly, helpful staff. There are
34 different choices on our Breakfast Menu including our new Healthy Living range and traditional Full Scottish Breakfast. In Reids Bar where a large selection of malt whiskies can be found, lunches and suppers are served daily. The hotel is only 45 minutes drive away from Edinburgh.
Picture of Salutation Hotel, Perth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 117 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Salutations from the Salutation Hotel.
The hotel is ideally located in South Street near the river Tay. Staff were helpful and courteous and the breakfast was delicious .The hotel is very comfortable and I would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

Reviewed by
M Spowart

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing staff
The staff in this hotel were the most friendly and helpful I have ever met. Everything we asked for was dealt with immediately and the staff did everything they could to make our stay a happy one. I would most certainly stay there again. The food was excellent.

Reviewed by
Margaret Ward

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really enjoyable stay
I stayed here with my wife and had a really nice time.The staff were very helpful and courteous. The room was spacious and comfy.We had a meal in the bar and it was lovely also the breakfast was good quality and plentiful.Great location for town centre and lovely walks by the river.Only downside the view from the room was horrible but not all rooms can have a nice view.We just closed the curtains.Will definitely return.

Reviewed by
ian anderson

From Denny, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Flying visit
Very happy with the standards in his hotel and have already recommended to friends.

Reviewed by
Marilyn G

From Calpe, Spain
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value overnight stay
This was perfect for our needs - somewhere to sleep overnight after touring the highlands, in order to leave from Perth station in the morning. We weren't looking for luxury. This was great value for ensuite double room (with tea and coffee making) and breakfast, well situated for a large choice of restaurants, and a 15 minute walk from the station. Very friendly welcome and service from reception. Room was on the small side but adequate and clean. Our room was surprisingly quiet being at the back - the only drawback (but out of the control of the hotel) was that a vehicle parked with the engine idling in the middle of the night for a few hours and disturbed our sleep.

Reviewed by
Sue H

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Salutation Hotel
Excellent city centre hotel. Staff very friendly and attentive. Fantastic breakfast. All excellent value. Would definitely use again and recommend.

Reviewed by
Dianne T

From Market Rasen, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was quite chilly over night (although I did stay on a particularly cold night) - a warmer duvet would have helped. Also there was no radiator/heated towel rail in the en suite, so it was freezing in the morning! Lucky the shower was lovely and hot!

Reviewed by
N Cobden

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break in Perth
The outside of the Salutation Hotel might not be the most inspiring....but don't be put off, because immediately you enter the hotel, it is very warm and comfortable. Our room was on the first floor, and the first thing that hit us both on entering the room, was the STRONG, and I mean STRONG smell of stale cigarette smoke.
This should not be the case, as Scotland has been non smoking for a long time now, so how could this be? The room was fine, apart from the decor being a little old fashioned, and the shower and toilet could do with upgrading, very dated. Also, nowhere in shower to put your soap or shower gel. The breakfast in the very nice dining room was fabulous.....absolutely first class food. The service by the waiter[s] also excellent. All in all, the one night stay was good value for money.

Reviewed by
Alexandra C

From Oban, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good location
Easy to walk into town centre. Room could do with make over but bathroom good. Staff very helpful and attentive. Food good - especially pork & leek sausage for breakfast. Would recommend

Reviewed by
david b

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Salutation success
Very comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
Sheila Lamont

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next