No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Salutation Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
34 South Street , Perth, PH2 8PH
This city centre hotel has 84 non -smoking en-suite bedrooms and is only minutes walk from all the shops, theatres, Concert Hall and the Beautiful walks round the River Tay.

All rooms are fully modernised with TV, tea making facilities, telephone and central heating. There is free WiFi in the public areas.

Take dinner in our Adam Restaurant or Bar Supper in Reids Bar where excellent local produce is served by our friendly, helpful staff. There are
34 different choices on our Breakfast Menu including our new Healthy Living range and traditional Full Scottish Breakfast. In Reids Bar where a large selection of malt whiskies can be found, lunches and suppers are served daily. The hotel is only 45 minutes drive away from Edinburgh.
Picture of Salutation Hotel, Perth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 126 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired around the edges, but fine (it is a very old place so understandable). Bar menu uninspiring but the Cafe quarter just across the road, around Perth theatre, has many good restaurants of all kinds. The french one was really excellent, terrific beef tournados, and superb moule. Well worth the money (pricey), but try it...

Reviewed by
Allan C

From Shefford, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Female staff food are a not wearing hair nets long hair.counter food staff no gloves handling foods
Being retired hotelier found one male breakfast staff white hair not covered properly!
Hot food was nice except fried potato scone (a bit hard) better presentation perhaps required!
The food I chose was very nice.
Room service was good.
Like a really good room ?
Some staff did not smile very much remember we are the customers?
You always have a warmth for your clients no matter how you feel, I used to say that to my staff!

Reviewed by
Catherine Miller

From DALKEITH , UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Salutation Hotel Perth
Excellent central location, old hotel with character with spacious rooms, good quality evening meal in bar followed by superb buffet breakfast

Reviewed by
I Grierson

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room 312
Room clean but very cold, radiators not working. Shower not wonderful and no power. Need to sort out the floorboards as got no sleep at all with them creaking, it felt like someone was in my room the whole night. Maybe it is haunted. Really noisy when walking around the room which was very frustrating. Could also hear others walking around in their room. When I said it was cold in the room they suggested they send up the manager to warm me up !!

Reviewed by
S Whittingham

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Salutation Hotel Perth
The cost of £109 was excesive for what was provided, example being only one small cake of soap provided along with one shampoo despite being a twin room. Only single hand towel providee along with the 2 bath towels. The shower temp control was not working (room 206). One of the twin mattresses was excessively worn. On a positive note the buffet full scottish breakfast was very good.

Reviewed by
Norman H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review of Salutation hotel
Very pleasant stay. Room was very comfortable. Breakfast was great.

Reviewed by
D Brent

From Polegate, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Regular visitor
I like the Salutation and would happily stay again. It's getting a bit tired looking but is comfortable. Breakfast is good. It would have been nice to have a fridge in the room but it did have everything else: kettle, hairdryer, TV. Good central location in town and easy to walk to the station.

Reviewed by
Kirsten M

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed here for two nights on midweek break.Our room was at the back of hotel with no view but was nice and quiet.Breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choices.Ate dinner in the bar one evening at it was really good at a reasonable price.The only complaint I would make was that our room was extremely hot but otherwise we had a really nice stay and staff were very pleasant and helpful.We even received two complimentary tickets for Scone Palace from reception which was a nice touch.Will definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
R Mckay

From Inverurie, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff are very helpful, room was ok but looked tired, food was good, downside having to use public car park. Very pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
Graham L

From Montrose, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not the biggest room in the world, but.....
Staff always friendly. Hotel very well positioned (only a few miles from the Race Course).
It's a bit of a maze to ger to your room, and it wasn't particularly large (a 25 Squ M Premier Inn room would knock it into a cocked hat), but the place is well kept, clean and friendly. We always stay here when the racing is on at Perth Races, and there's always a busy and happy atmosphere.

Reviewed by
MIke L

From Kirkcaldy, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next