Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > The West Country > Somerset > Dodington Hotels > Castle of Comfort Country House and Restaurant
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Castle of Comfort Country House and Restaurant

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Dodington, Nether Stowey, , Bridgwater, TA5 1LE
The Castle of Comfort is the family owned and managed venture of Carol and Nigel Venner with Julie Beaumont, providing 5 star guest accommodation in West Somerset. With plenty of character and charm, the Castle of Comfort has had a long and chequered past. Probably 16th century in origin and originally an open hall house, it has served as an inn, coffee house, cider house, private house and, it is rumoured, the meeting place for pirates off the English coast to dispose of their loot. There was a licensed vitualler recorded at the Castle of Comfort way back in 1689. Within the Grade II listed property, historic features remain, such as the plaster decoration dated 1655 on a chimney breast. We are bounded on three sides by four acres of garden and parkland containing mature trees and shrubs which blend into the surrounding woodland of the Quantocks. You can enjoy a leisurely cream tea in the garden, take a stroll around the grounds or a refreshing dip in the heated outdoor pool (seasonal). Our en suite rooms are individually styled with comfort and practicality in mind. The 24 cover restaurant is open to residents and non-residents, with a menu showcasing locally sourced produce. The comfortable lounge is a perfect spot to relax and chat, read or enjoy a leisurely drink. Located at Dodington on the A39, we fall within the Quantock Hills Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. In a rural setting we are within easy reach of many attractive villages as well as Bridgwater (9.5 miles), Minehead (16.5 miles) and Hinkley Point (6.2 miles). We are close to several prominent wedding venues including Crowcombe Court and St Audries Park. The Quantocks, protected since 1956, offer great diversity with a rich and ancient cultural heritage and panoramic views of coast, heath and combe, making it a popular area with walkers, mountain bikers, horse riders and tourists.
Picture of Castle of Comfort Country House and Restaurant, Bridgwater at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

perfect little stopover
Thanks for a restful break on a long journey, a peaceful setting, brilliant food, lovely gardens and pool.

Reviewed by
s m

From St Albans, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Somerset break
From the moment of arrival to the time when we left we have nothing but praise for the castle of comfort and all the staff and management. Everything was thought ahead and was there without asking, when we walked through the door we were welcomed with a pleasant smile and the offer of tea and cakes after a long journey (which we duly dispatched !). Food was excellent in every way especially the Somerset cream teas !. Beautiful gardens for a stroll and really nice looking pool which we didn't try but many other guests did.

Reviewed by
keith warby

From Holbeach, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

.
.

Reviewed by
alan w

From Bracknell, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Enjoyable and Relaxing Stay
From the moment we arrived 'til the moment we left, we were well looked after by all the very friendly staff.
'Tis a very nice place, with pleasant grounds to walk around, giving excellent views of the Bristol Channel and Wales. Also, lovely swimming pool looked very inviting.
Ample parking.
The food is lovely and a wide ranging three courses was available.
(Single and two courses were also available if required).
Lovely little bar / relaxing area which opened up the delights of Tawny Owl Beer to me !!
Breakfast was delicious, once again, with a very wide / diverse choice / range.
Really enjoyed our stay and it was handily located for our little jaunts both East and West of the Hotel and M5.
Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Richard T

From Castell Nedd, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm and efficient service. The hotel is easy to find and the room was comfortable and had a certain individual, tasteful character. Little touches like the complimentary peanuts, sherry, toffees and cotton wool balls if needed were just nice even if not used. Bed comfy and shower good. I'd have liked to explore the gardens but time didn't allow. I was only offered a more expensive menu than the sample one and one course was not an option. The food was ok but the prawns were tasteless and watery, the duck could have been better cooked and seasoned but the breakfast was fine .

Reviewed by
Jayne B

From Ivybridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First class in every way - exeptional
Having researched and stayed in a number of hotels in the area I was pleasantly surpriused by the superior customer service, friendliness and warm welcome offered at Castle of Comfort.
The rooms were exceptionally clean, comfortable and well appointed. Attention to detail is clearly high on their agenda and this place is well worth a visit.
The food, is quite simply delicious - realistically sized portions to match the quality of the servings.
The pool was out of service, but did not detract from the stay. The grounds , although not immense, are impeccable and I lookm forward to breakfast on the lawn next time I stay.

Reviewed by
Terry Shelbourne

From Bickerstaffe, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exellent accomodation and lovely food, wish I could have stayed longer!

Reviewed by
Richard K

From Dunstable, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent customer service nothing was too much trouble
delightful stay, customer service best we have ever experienced. Accommodation good value for money.

Reviewed by
trisha h

From Bracknell, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

best hotel anywhere
I travel the country and stay in hotels everywhere, but this hotel is by far the best hotel I have ever stayed in. the staff were friendly, the room very clean and comfortable and the food was absolutely fantastic. my only regret is that I only go to this part of the country every six months, and I will be staying here every time I go back. if you can stay here I recommend that you do.

Reviewed by
mal newton

From Seaham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Simply Stunning
From the moment I walked into the hotel, I knew it was going to be special. The lounge/bar is very relaxing and the hotel so lovely and peaceful.
My room was lovely. Bed very comfortable, with clean everything. Attention to detail is stunning. The leather box full of tea and coffee, even a coffee decanter plunger and special coffee. Free bottled water, still and sparkling and a small decanter of sherry too!
The en-suite was lovely. Power shower, lovely styled and set out. Again, attention to detail with cotton buds on the shelf and a small sewing kit
Evening meal was beautiful! I had baked figs with bacon and mozzarella which was a first for me but beautiful. Roast lamb was my main meal, I couldn't finish, the chef clearly doesn't want anyone to leave hungry!
All in all, an amazing experience. Sadly, I was full of cold at the time of my stay and spent a long time in bed. But I am due to return shortly and simply can't wait

Reviewed by
Bailey Husband

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next