Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Scotland > Central Scotland > Stirling > Stronachlachar Hotels > Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort

4Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Kinlochard The Trossachs,Aberfoyle, , Stirlingshire, FK8 3TL
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa is nestled on the banks of Loch Ard, in the heart of the Trossachs. This hotel provides a luxurious getaway on your doorstep, just 20 minutes from Stirling, 40 minutes from Glasgow and under and hour from Edinburgh.

Having recently undergone a £1million investment, including a number of bedroom and public area refurbishments, this hotel is the only 4-star hotel in the Trossachs and is ideal for keen walkers and cyclists looking to explore the surrounding trails. Guests are also able to take to the lake thanks to the on-site water sport centre which offers a wide selection of sport equipment for hire.

Those looking to relax can escape to the luxurious Vital Health Club & Spa, with its 18-meter indoor pool, state of the art gym, full range of soothing spa treatments and sauna. Guests can also delight in award-winning dining at the Garden Restaurant, which offers stunning views across Loch Ard and Ben Lomond, or enjoy afternoon tea in the cosy lounge or on the terrace. Dishes are created using the finest, freshest ingredients, sourced locally where possible. Free wifi is available in all public areas, meetings rooms and guest rooms.
Picture of Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort, Stirlingshire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best weekend.......ever!!!!
It was our 10 years together anniversary and we wanted to celebrate it in style, which we did in this hotel. We got a complimentary glass of Champagne at dinner. Our weekend couldn't have went any better. Everyone was very friendly. Our room, the food, everything was first class!

Reviewed by
Karyn Shields

From Kilmarnock, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

what a find
We have just come home from a lovely break at Forrest Hills Hotel. This hotel has beautiful views on the bank of Loch Are and the Lomond Hills. We had a great loch view. The room was lovely, plenty of room with casual comfy seats, a very large mirror on the wardrobe. A lovely on-suite bathroom was also standard.
We ate bother nights in the restaurant. The meals were very tasty with a good choice. Service was excellent and staff attentive. We had a different menu both nights and all for a set price of £35. Very good value.
The hotel overall was great and the leisure facilities and spa also were great.
I would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely be back

Reviewed by
Alison M

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful place
Hotel set in beautiful ground great for those who enjoy walking and being outdoors
The pool very small for the amount of guest using it, I would have been very disappointed
If my visit was for a spa weekend luckily it wasn't. Only ate breakfast so can't comment on the food however evening meal menu looked good. Room: Kids sofa bed in need of upgrading very
Small and uncomfortable but the rest of the room was clean and comfortable.
I enjoyed my stay here for 1 night and wished it had of been longer. Staff friendly and
Helpful.

Reviewed by
J Cosgrove

From Ryton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Holiday haven
We enjoyed a lovely few days in Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel. The hotel is set in a picturesque location with beautiful gardens and overlooking Loch Ard. We found it ideally situated to visit Stirling, Glasgow, Edinburgh, Callendar and of course nearby Aberfoyle. The accommodation was comfortable and clean. The staff were very polite and gave good customer service. We enjoyed a relaxing holiday and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends and family - indeed we may well revisit it again next Summer.

Reviewed by
David C

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous setting
Room good but as we had dog were confined to ground
Floor accommodation
View was across car park near main reception so
Privacy was minimal and had to keep curtains
Closed
Disturbed by people smoking outside room in early
Hours

Reviewed by
S Greig

From Bridge of Weir, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


Location was outstanding; very happy with our room. Problem arose with the service in the Bistro and main restaurant. Staff did not seem to know what to do and spent the time going round in circles, achieving nothing. The ratio of staff to guests was adequate but service was very slow, bordering on a calamity. The quality of food in bistro was disappointing, although much better in the main restaurant.

Reviewed by
Sally H

From Greenock, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great break
had a excellent and relaxing break.

Reviewed by
J O'rourke

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent weekend away, room clean and spacious. Beautiful surroundings. Food exceptional will definitely return.

Reviewed by
Tracey M

From Renfrew, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Scotland trip
Brief stay before fishing week

Reviewed by
Tom B

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review of MacDonald Forest Hills
Very friendly staff. Hotel location was perfect. Lovely views. Hotel has recently been refurbished and was very happy with our room and hotel overall.

Reviewed by
Pamela C

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next