Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Scotland > Central Scotland > Stirling > Stronachlachar Hotels > Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort

4Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Kinlochard The Trossachs,Aberfoyle, , Stirlingshire, FK8 3TL
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa is nestled on the banks of Loch Ard, in the heart of the Trossachs. This hotel provides a luxurious getaway on your doorstep, just 20 minutes from Stirling, 40 minutes from Glasgow and under and hour from Edinburgh.

Having recently undergone a £1million investment, including a number of bedroom and public area refurbishments, this hotel is the only 4-star hotel in the Trossachs and is ideal for keen walkers and cyclists looking to explore the surrounding trails. Guests are also able to take to the lake thanks to the on-site water sport centre which offers a wide selection of sport equipment for hire.

Those looking to relax can escape to the luxurious Vital Health Club & Spa, with its 18-meter indoor pool, state of the art gym, full range of soothing spa treatments and sauna. Guests can also delight in award-winning dining at the Garden Restaurant, which offers stunning views across Loch Ard and Ben Lomond, or enjoy afternoon tea in the cosy lounge or on the terrace. Dishes are created using the finest, freshest ingredients, sourced locally where possible. Free wifi is available in all public areas, meetings rooms and guest rooms.
Picture of Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Resort, Stirlingshire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Scotland trip
Brief stay before fishing week

Reviewed by
Tom B

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review of MacDonald Forest Hills
Very friendly staff. Hotel location was perfect. Lovely views. Hotel has recently been refurbished and was very happy with our room and hotel overall.

Reviewed by
Pamela C

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay at the hotel vhen partisipated at a wedding in Aberfoyle
OK

Reviewed by
John Sigmund Vestby

From Dal, Norway
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
My wife and I were looking for a relaxing stay and our time in this place has been amazing. The views around the hotel are amazing as it is well placed hotel and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We ordered food and couple other things which came quick and were very good, only few disappointment was shower wasnt great couldn't adjust the hot cold levels and the restaurant at the hotel didnt had many choices in vegetarian and was a fixed menu with few starters and mains which costed us a 100 pounds which we didn't even enjoy. We suggest to buy food out in a wee town which had very nice chippy or in room service menu of hotel. But overall it is an amazing place with spa, steam, pool and various activities. Defo coming back as we enjoyed our stay very much as credit goes to very welcoming staff and facilities in hotel. It felt like tourist in our own country.

Reviewed by
H Gill

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
We were delighted with the location and the staff were wonderful.
Love the new decor which is fresh and welcoming.
Buffet table was nicely presented but the Full Breakfast chosen by my partner was disappointing. It seemed to be rationed, and was served cold which made the breakfast and fried bread extremely greasy and just not edible.

Reviewed by
L Nicolson

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family break
My wife and I stayed with our two young children. We have stayed at the hotel numerous times before and love the setting. The evening dining in the restaurant is quite formal and we were initially very apprehensive about this however the staff were excellent. They were very flexible allowing the children to eat outside of normal hours in the bar and were very friendly. Upon finding out the range of our baby monitor would not cover from our room to the restaurant, one staff member even offered to bring her own monitor in for us to use the following night. The staff made us feel exceptionally welcome.
The facilities were very good and the swimming pool and spa were excellent.
The rooms were clean and the food was good. Overall a very good stay although it probably is more suitable for couples than families.

Reviewed by
andrew d

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

MacDonald Forest Hills
My wife and I were looking for a relaxing break for a few days. We had just got married and needed to unwind to which the Forest Hills provided. The scenery the hotel is set in is just beautiful and with Loch Lomond just 45 minutes drive away it only gets better. For the four days we were there we had gone horse riding, visited a falconry and Sea Life Centre, gone on a cruise of Loch Lomond and still had time to enjoy the spa treatment at the hotel. If you are looking for a relaxing break away with options of things to do then this is the place to go. It was quite expensive and I'm sure there are hotels cheaper in the area but the chances are they won't come with a swimming pool and spa. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend anyone to stay if the want to splash out for a special occasion.

Reviewed by
N FOWLIE

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel lots of things to do for everyone but try and get a deal you get more for your money
Great hotel but very expensive for drink was a shock £15 pounds for vodka coke and a coke . Meal was fantastic cooked to perfection service was good although we had booked for dinner and the girl at reception recommended we done that then she never put it through when we went for dinner felt like we got treated different from the other people as like anyone would have liked to be seated at the window and would have seen the point if there was no seats available but there was lots and of course didn't get they seats think they thought we were at it about the booking but we were not as was my husbands birthday and wanted to make sure we got the more formal restaurant . Felt as though was in a different country as think we spoke to 2 Scottish members of staff throughout our stay . Swim pool was good and sauna and steam rooms were good jacuzzi a little small but good if no one else in it gardens and views fantastic .the view from our room could have been better late rooms said it was meant to be £511. I didn't pay that but for the room and view I got it defiantly was not with that felt that was a bit of a co to be honest

Reviewed by
L McMillan

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
Everything was great about this weekend away, the reception on arrival, the room was perfect, the facilities including the pool etc but the location was the best. Usual thing with hotels though the bar prices are alway inflated!

Reviewed by
M HOYLE

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful. I'll be back.

Reviewed by
ELISABETH R

From Anstruther, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next