Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Kent > Hythe Hotels > Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel & Spa
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel & Spa

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Princes Parade, Kent, HYTHE, CT21 6AE
Enjoy stunning Victorian grandeur on the seafront in Hythe. Soak up the spectacular views of the Kent coast line and English Channel. The Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel and Spa is one of the finest hotels of the South East. Close to Dover Ferry Port, Eurostar, Ashford International and Canterbury.
Picture of Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel & Spa, HYTHE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 37 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was lovely. Staff were very helpful. Disappointed there was no bath in the room and the shower head wouldn't stay up.

Reviewed by
D Meise

From Margate, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

FAB-U-LOUS
Our room was absolutely fantastic! The sevice was wonderful! We had a great stay! Sadly we didn't get to use the spa but we did use the pool, Jacuzzi and sauna which was really nice. And the food at the restaurant was so yummy too. The breakfast was also just great! We simply had a great time as a family.

Reviewed by
D SMITH

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great position by the sea
This hotel feels like it needs an upgrade - many small details need attention, for instance radiator in my room couldn't be adjusted and the room was far too hot. I requested that this be seen to, but it wasn't. Staff then moved me to an executive room. All the staff were friendly and willing, and the position of the hotel is perfect. But money needs to be spent on it to make it truly a 4 star hotel.

Reviewed by
Kathy A

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel & Spa
The accommodation was excellent, the staff very friendly and helpful. The swimming pool was lovely,jacuzzi brilliant, and the steam room was perfect, and all beautifully clean.

Reviewed by
John Merchant

From Honiton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated, and worn.. Felt like a poor excuse for a four star..
Check in was laboured.. Wifi keys too ages too, the easy stuff was all laboured. The room was cramped, smelly and too hot. No air con, just the window, which is fine but just a pain as its noisy with it open. The shower had no pressure a worn and inaccurate temp selector. I stayed here years ago, like back in the 90's. It simply has not changed.. :(

Reviewed by
Matthew W

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel but shame about the room
Very nice and grand hote,l but for £99 per night thought that the room could have been bigger, brighter and a lot nicer. Felt we were just put in room 9 (as it was the cheap room) which is on the ground floor with a dirty basement view and is in a strange position to the other rooms along the corridor. We would have added breakfast to the stay, but at nearly £16 per head, thought it was over priced. That said, very friendly and helpful staff and a great spa - especially the jacuzzi, steam room and sauna as it is shut away from the pool - so more relaxing. We would stay again providing it would be a different room.

Reviewed by
Joanne Finch

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel for business stopover in Kent area
Good quality hotel with well decorated public areas although the room was a bit drab. Excellent evening meal in the restaurant at a good value price. Ample parking.

Reviewed by
J Newton

From Knutsford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not worth four stars
On reception were told all rooms are the same.
Small bathroom, out dated shower hosen and screen, grouting in need of attention.
Filthy balcony with bird droppings and windows dirty
No chair for dressing/ writing table
inadequate reading lighting
broken handle on wardrobe
telephone not working
internet not available without lap top although staff id obtain a bus time table and a forward hotel phone number
inadequate lift and some steps not expected
no dinner menu unless booked unseen
indifferent bar food
After complaining, was given a discount on bar food

Reviewed by
John Waddell

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A relaxing short break
Hythe is an ancient town with an interesting history, particularly military, due to its geographical position near to France. There is plenty to see and do. The hotel is part of a large chain and it is clear that major investment is taking place. On our first night we had a top floor room with a sea view. This room was poorly ventilated and very hot. We were offered a move on the second night due to this heat and received a commodious room on the third floor wirh large windows and glorious views. The staff went out of their way to make our stay relaxing and pleasurablle.

Reviewed by
Timothy C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel and facilities, but absent staff prevented us using them.
The hotel and facilities were very nice, with a lovely swimming pool and spa, which to be fair we did use on both days of our stay. Unfortunately, staff shortages impacted on the service around the rest of the hotel.
When we arrived we were told where we could get drinks and food. One bar, which was adjacent to the spa was called the Kazzbar. Very nice, with an outdoor terrace and seating area. Unfortunately, the bar closed at 8pm on the first night of our stay and 5pm on the second. This was apparently due to staff shortages. On the second night of our stay there was a wedding reception, which meant that the one and only open bar was filled on numerous occasions throughout the night with wedding guests ad well as other hotel guests. There was no additional resources made available, so one staff member had to cope behind the bar. They were run off their feet. This impacted on the service given to guests in the hotel.
The food was ok, but not great. As we had booked a room only we paid for breakfast in the morning, which was over £15 per head for what was effectively a £5 fry up. We were not allowed to have an evening meal as we were told that as we had booked a room only we could not book a table for the evening, but we could get food from the bar. So we effectively had to put up with a limited menu or go out into town.
The hotel itself is nice, but the attitude to guests has to improve significantly and the facilities could do with actually staying open. It would be a very good idea to get more staff employed .

Reviewed by
B Webb

From Erith, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next