Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Kent > Hythe Hotels > Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel and Spa
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel and Spa

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Princes Parade , Hythe, CT21 6AE
The Mercure Hythe Imperial is a magnificent four star Victorian seafront hotel. It boasts over 100 en-suite bedrooms, leisure club, spa, 9 hole golf course, 6 function suites, 2 restaurants, 2 bars and is licensed for civil ceremonies.

Set in 44 acres and positioned right on the coast with stunning views over the English Channel. It is ideally located for guests using the Dover Ferry Ports, Channel Tunnel, Ashford International and the Eurostar.

Whether it’s business or leisure, guests can take advantage of the leisure club & spa facilities: indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room, tennis court, gym, ESPA beauty treatments and golf. Wireless internet available throughout, 24 hour room service and free parking.

The perfect base to explore the stunning Kent countryside and attractions such as Romney Hythe & Dymchurch Railway, Howletts & Port Lympne Wild Animal Park and Brockhill Country Park.

The hotel is currently being renovated. There will be minimal disturbance with respect to guest stays and the leisure facilities. Please contact the hotel for further information. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
Picture of Mercure Hythe Imperial Hotel and Spa, Hythe at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 30 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel and facilities, but absent staff prevented us using them.
The hotel and facilities were very nice, with a lovely swimming pool and spa, which to be fair we did use on both days of our stay. Unfortunately, staff shortages impacted on the service around the rest of the hotel.
When we arrived we were told where we could get drinks and food. One bar, which was adjacent to the spa was called the Kazzbar. Very nice, with an outdoor terrace and seating area. Unfortunately, the bar closed at 8pm on the first night of our stay and 5pm on the second. This was apparently due to staff shortages. On the second night of our stay there was a wedding reception, which meant that the one and only open bar was filled on numerous occasions throughout the night with wedding guests ad well as other hotel guests. There was no additional resources made available, so one staff member had to cope behind the bar. They were run off their feet. This impacted on the service given to guests in the hotel.
The food was ok, but not great. As we had booked a room only we paid for breakfast in the morning, which was over £15 per head for what was effectively a £5 fry up. We were not allowed to have an evening meal as we were told that as we had booked a room only we could not book a table for the evening, but we could get food from the bar. So we effectively had to put up with a limited menu or go out into town.
The hotel itself is nice, but the attitude to guests has to improve significantly and the facilities could do with actually staying open. It would be a very good idea to get more staff employed .

Reviewed by
B Webb

From Erith, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
Last minute booking so knew no sea view- ground floor car park view would have been ok - but due to hot weather could not leave curtain open when husband had early night and couldn't bear duvet-so sat stewing with curtains closed- blinds would have been good-or a fan
No hair dryer- reception said we should have asked for one
Shower head broken fell on husbands head when water turned off
Carpets stained but clean
Only two normal tea bags- few specialist teas but only one of each- but more given when requested
Usuall stay in cheaper hotel locally that gets slated- but wished we were there

Reviewed by
Karen M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Expensive if you pay full price
We stayed here as a stop over before catching a ferry to France. We booked through late rooms and got a good deal. It was worth the £98 we paid but defo not worth full whack. The hotel from the outside is lovely, the reception is modern and contemporary, staff very friendly and helpful. Our room didn't was nothing like the reception area. It was very dated, the bathroom had paint peeling of the walls, a very old dated bath with mould on the pull out shower screen. There was dust around the sink and toilet was filthy, not been cleaned in a while.
The bed was very comfortable, except the headboard was dirty. The room was a nice size and had a querkyness about it. The only major problem we had was the heating was on, the window only opened so far (security and safety reasons I accept) my husband and myself didn't sleep too well due to the heat. The room was nice and quiet as requested.
My husband tried out the pool, and said it was lovely.
Overall, the money was right for what we paid but I would never pay the full whack to stay there. If the bathroom was newer and cleaned properly and the heating not on it would have been a comfortable stay.

Reviewed by
M Beaumont

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A romantic break
The hotel reception were efficient and answered any queries concisely and in a friendly way.
The room was spacious and comfortable but could have been cleaner. There were two stain marks right in front of the dressing table that could have been ketchup or blood. The room maid did attempt to clean these when we brought it to her attention. I believe this should have been spotted when the room was inspected prior to its occupation. The hotel does have a major building project on at the moment that did not affect us at all. The spa was out of use on one of the days of our stay and as that was one reason we chose the hotel that was dissapointing. Our stay was comfortable and we would go back again.

Reviewed by
Brian C

From Epsom, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not as good as I remember from a few years ago!
Have stayed at the Imperial when it was privately owned. Quality has gone way down. Wanted a good nights sleep but could not sleep at all till after midnight at incredibly loud band on for wedding reception. Room was very shabby with cracked sink. Awful value for money even at Late Rooms.com prices. Will not stay there again.

Reviewed by
h melsom

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a

Reviewed by
V Christian

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired
The hotel customer service was of a very high standard. However as an extremely old build much of the hotel is now very outdated. Although late rooms mentioned parts were being renovated it was not expected to see part of the front of the hotel missing and the tennis courts out of use because of a disease. The full extent of building work should be advertised therefore it must be said it was a less than satisfactory stay. The breakfast at £30 pp was also extremely overpriced for buffet style option with much of the items running out. The more modern sections of the hotel such as the gym were more acceptable.

Reviewed by
Lee S

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reviewed by
A Benfield

From Birchington, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful building being restored to a high standard.

Reviewed by
S Chalk

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great location easy restful stay
I love this hotel its an all time favourite I got married here 26 years ago. Its dog friendly relaxed great spa and gym lovely location it super.

Reviewed by
LAURA E

From Altrincham, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next