No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Birmingham Nec,Bickenhill Parkway, Birmingham, B40 1QA
Stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC for easy access to the NEC, LG arena and Birmingham International Airport and Train Station. Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC is within a five minute radius of Birmingham International Airport and the NEC grounds. Our lounge bar is open throughout the day with a selection of beverages available, including tea and coffee. Free Wi-Fi is available for all of our guests throughout the hotel. Sit back, relax and surf. Enjoy a tasty dinner in the relaxed surroundings of the Great Room from 6pm-10pm daily. The hotel is situated within the grounds of the NEC, within minutes of the halls. It is also a short commute to the LG Arena - which hosts the biggest and best names in music, comedy and entertainment. Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC has extensive meeting room facilities available within the hotel, for 80 guests. Our Park & Fly packages take the stress out of travelling – park your car and enjoy a comfortable night’s sleep. Wake yourself up with some complimentary tea and coffee. Enjoy a scrub in our power showers and make sure you enjoy a delicious inclusive breakfast to set you up for the journey ahead. Families can take advantage of our Family Rooms with sofa beds where under-18s stay free . Your guest room is equipped with free Wi-Fi and a new 32-inch flat screen TV. There is enough space for you to feel at home or in the office.
Picture of Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 113 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff very good, room OK but basic. Thought expensive even with discount
I found the staff very helpful. Our room was clean apart from a patch of sprayed alcohol up the wall which had to be seen in a certain light. I felt it was quite basic. there was no conditioner or biscuits and I couldn't find any local directions ie how to get to the station. I paid a similar amount to stay in another hotel and left feeling I had been treated - I did not here.

Reviewed by
Kim T

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was good. Good value. Comfortable. The breakfast was dreadful.
Room was good. I have no issues with the room. Staff at reception helpful. The breakfast was dreadful. Unclean cutlery, unclean work surfaces., Staff not helping or removing left plates. The food standing for long periods of time. No fresh food changed regularly. Scrambled eggs made me and my girlfriend feel sick. Sausages were dried standing for long periods of time. I I came out in a bad skin rash after breakfast into afternoon. Seemed to be no manager even guiding staff on what to do.

Reviewed by
bryn jones

From Dudley, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Excellent Customer Service, even though we only had our breakfast at the Holiday Inn, they helped us out by providing takeaway menus and were happy enough for us to have a takeaway deliver food to us

Reviewed by
Robert T

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Excellent service. Clean and comfortable room. Food was great

Reviewed by
Nicola B

From Castleford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
As a family of four we found the room and hotel to be very pleasant. The checkin was smooth and efficient - Jay was a very friendly member of staff. The room was superbly clean and I felt very comfortable allowing my children to stay in the room. The breakfast was adequate and we certainly had enough choice. We didn't eat at the hotel except for some ice cream as a late night treat but were disappointed with the limited choice - vanilla!! Overall a very positive visit and we would definately return.

Reviewed by
Louise M

From Broadstone, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Holiday Inn Express NEC
Having stayed at the Holiday Inn Express near Cardiff Airport I booked this hotel expecting the same standard of service, the reception staff were helpful but the bar staff were very indifferent to the needs of customers. Food listed on the menu was not available, food that was served up was overdone and didn't come as listed on the menu, the fish with tartar sauce didn't come with tartar sauce and when staff were questioned about this, one confessed to not knowing what tartar sauce was. All in all it was not what I expected from a Holiday Inn Express.

ManagementResponse

Dear Ian M, Thank you for your recent stay with us. While we are glad you found our hotel clean and the front desk staff friendly, we are very sorry your dining experience did not make for a completely satisfying hotel stay. Please know that this is not reflective of the daily high standards that we normally pride ourselves in. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We will look into these concerns and I can assure you that your feedback will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is. Regards, Tracy, IHG Care

Reviewed by
Ian M

From Carmarthen, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I have contacted the hoel via e mail

ManagementResponse

Dear Karen H, Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to write a comment. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards, Joel, IHG Care

Reviewed by
Karen H

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect stay
Our stay at the hotel was perfect,the room was great the cleanliness was spot on,so we're the staff.
The location of the hotel was on the door step of the NEC and the LG arena.this was perfect for our trip to The LG on Saturday evening .
Breakfast was fine you just have to be calm it got to busy on Saturday morning but ok on Sunday.
I would give my visit 10 out of 10 and would recommend it anyone.

Reviewed by
david b

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointed with our stay. Breakfast was if terrible quality and choice compared to other hotels of the same level. We were kept awake all night by next door. Reception came once to try and sort after ringing the night phone for a considerable time, but the noise continued. Be aware that the hotel charges for parking.

ManagementResponse

Dear Angie T, Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us. We greatly appreciate you bringing the problem that you had with the breakfast selection and noise levels to our attention. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Thank you again for your review and we look forwarded to seeing you in the future. Sincerely, Zelyn, IHG Care

Reviewed by
Angie T

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reviewed by
david k

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next