No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
BICKENHILL PARKWAY,BIRMINGHAM NEC, BIRMINGHAM, B40 1QA
Enjoy a peaceful stay at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC hotel, 1 mile from Birmingham NEC and 2 miles from Birmingham International Airport.

The welcoming Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC is just 1 mile from junction 4 of the M6 , connecting to the M40 and M42. Enjoy a FREE Express Start breakfast with hot items whenever you stay - whatever rate you book! Our new Main Menu offers something for everyone, enjoy a full 3 course meal, you are spoilt for choice. Fresh salad, hot pizzas and tasty curries are some of our guests firm favourites. You don’t need to go out to eat well! You can bring presentations to life with wireless Internet in our 8 bright meeting rooms for 80 guests.

Head to events at Birmingham NEC in under 15 minutes' walk and reach clients at Birmingham Business Park in 10 minutes.Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC 's Family rooms have sofabeds where under-18s stay free, and you can leave your car when booking our Park and Fly Package . Parking is chargeable at the hotel at £7.00 per car for 24 hours

30 Minutes free Wi-Fi every night. Additional time periods can be purchased as required.
Picture of Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, BIRMINGHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 143 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not so great, not so express
Absolutely rubbish and incompitant bad staff who served several pints (badly) in filthy glasses!! Curtains fell off the track in the room! Exteremely uncomfortable beds!! Pathetic shower that piddled water at varying but nether constant temperatures!! Avoid this hotel at all cost!!

ManagementResponse

Dear M Ellis, Thank you for taking the time to leave our property a review. It is unfortunate that this visit was a disappointment for you especially with the level of service received from our staff. This is definitely not up to standards and we are constantly looking for ways to improve. We will use your comments to enhance what we offer. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be. Sincerely, Pam, IHG Care

Reviewed by
M Ellis

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

.
.

Reviewed by
R Horseman

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay. Good value for money.

Reviewed by
F Bool

From Abertillery, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were pleasant, friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Alison Gillett

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay, double room with breakfast
Room was very spacious and clean, was nice that we had a choice of firm and soft cushions and tea making facilities were provided. Breakfast in morning was great, lots of choice. Would definitely stay again!

Reviewed by
L Millican

From Blaydon on Tyne, England
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Does the job with no frills
Basic room. Very loud extractor fan that you couldn't turn off unless bathroom light turned off and then a 5 minute delay until fan was quiet.
Clean enough, but not immaculate.
Room was very tired, as was rest of the hotel.
Cooked breakfast looked very low quality so just had cereal. Coffee machine not great.
But, I aint that fussy and would stay there again - literally in, bed, up and (short breakfast) away.

ManagementResponse

Dear Jeston Na Nakhorn, Thank you very much for your feedback. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. Sincerely, Joel, IHG Care

Reviewed by
Jeston Na Nakhorn

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good overnight hotel
As above, good value hotel for overnight at the NEC or for Birmingham airport. Breakfast was included in the price and it was good to see a staff member checking the temperature of the hot dishes on the buffet. So often, the hot food is only just warm and unappetising. Full marks for that. We didn't eat our evening meal at the hotel, so can;t comment on the food then. We went next door to the Little Owl, along with most of the other hotel guests. Very good and quite busy. The hotel bedrooms were a good size with everything you would expect in them. Probably will not stay here again, not because of any failings with the hotel but because we were only there to fly out of Birmingham airport. I shall certainly consider Holiday Inn Express hotels at other airports.

Reviewed by
Susan S

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value and close to lg arena

Reviewed by
E Martin

From Downham Market, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not great
Booked a double and got given a twin. The staff weren't prepared to do anything about it - claiming fully booked. We had single friends arrive later who got given double rooms. And £7 parking!

ManagementResponse

Dear E Adkins, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We value your comments as they help us to improve our services and surpass the very high standards of service our guests expect. I am sorry to hear the lapse in service that you encountered with regard to your reservation. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the room type fell below your standards and you did not find it to your liking. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. Sincerely, Dhan IHGCare

Reviewed by
E Adkins

From Diss, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We pnly stayed 1 night as going to NEC but all staff were very helpful and friendly . There was a problem with heating in room but this was sorted straight away .

Reviewed by
D Strange

From Chichester, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.