No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
BICKENHILL PARKWAY,BIRMINGHAM NEC, BIRMINGHAM, B40 1QA
Enjoy a peaceful stay at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC hotel, 1 mile from Birmingham NEC and 2 miles from Birmingham International Airport.

The welcoming Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC is just 1 mile from junction 4 of the M6 , connecting to the M40 and M42. Enjoy a FREE Express Start breakfast with hot items whenever you stay - whatever rate you book! Our new Main Menu offers something for everyone, enjoy a full 3 course meal, you are spoilt for choice. Fresh salad, hot pizzas and tasty curries are some of our guests firm favourites. You don’t need to go out to eat well! You can bring presentations to life with wireless Internet in our 8 bright meeting rooms for 80 guests.

Head to events at Birmingham NEC in under 15 minutes' walk and reach clients at Birmingham Business Park in 10 minutes.Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC 's Family rooms have sofabeds where under-18s stay free, and you can leave your car when booking our Park and Fly Package . Parking is chargeable at the hotel at £7.00 per car for 24 hours

30 Minutes free Wi-Fi every night. Additional time periods can be purchased as required.
Picture of Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, BIRMINGHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 135 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bit let down by staff
Although the stay was really good the electrics went out on the saturday night and i was upset that the staff did not explain what had happened and i fumbled around in the dark for an hour it would of been nice to get an explanation and on checking out the next day i asked what had happened and was offered an apology i don:t feel this was good enough i had friends staying in the Premier Inn and there experience was totally different the staff offered them a refund etc

Reviewed by
jeanette hunter

From Wallasey, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good clean hotel
I always try to stay at a Holiday Inn Express because they're a good clean hotel, not too expensive, and being part of a national chain means they're always conveniently situated near our planned location.

ManagementResponse

Dear Alex P, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Sincerely, Krysllin IHGCare

Reviewed by
Alex P

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

booked this to stop in for the Rihanna concert, very good location to the arena. clean comfortable room. breakfast good value for what you pay.

Reviewed by
DIANE O

From ROTHERHAM, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a disabled friendly room unfortunately the shower floor flooded when having a shower the manager did come straight away to mop up and apologised. the cleanliness was very good just a few little niggles not enough power points and no heating or heated towel rail in bathroom which to me is an essential.

ManagementResponse

Dear Julia B, Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. It was very rewarding to hear that our hotel staff was able to assist you with your issues. However, I apologize for the inconvenience you encountered with the condition of the bathroom facility. Your comments are important to us to ensure we are constantly focused on improving our service and we hope we can demonstrate to you our commitment to value and service. Again, thank you for your valuable feedback. If your travel brings you to the area in the future, we hope you give us another chance. Sincerely, Zelyn, IHG Care

Reviewed by
Julia B

From Scunthorpe, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beware of stealth car parking charges
The hotel staff, accommodation and facilities were on the whole very good. HThe visit was however marred a week later when we received a demand for £100.00 .
We had provided the receptionist with our registration number and enquired about the arrangements for parking costs. We were informed that the charges would be added to our final bill when we checked out.
We subsequently checked out and paid the bill that was indicated by the duty receptionist believing that we were all square.
Evidently the receptionist hadn't accounted for the car park costs even though it was mentioned during our parting conversation.
Subsequently we now have a demand for £100.00 so needless to say we aren't overly happy or impressed.
Just be very aware of the parking charges when staying at any Holiday Express hotel. It would appear from blogs on the Internet that this is a regular occurance.

ManagementResponse

Dear S McNamara, We noticed your post regarding the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC. We are reaching out to you on behalf of InterContinental Hotels Group or IHG, representing the Holiday Inn Express brand. We appreciate you bringing your concern to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced with the billing issue regarding the parking charges not included in the invoice. We'd like to obtain additional detail about your experience and have requested the administrator of LateRooms.com reach out to requesting additional details of your experience. Sincerely, Zelyn, IHG Care

Reviewed by
S McNamara

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bad service holiday inn Birmingham
The service at the holiday inn N.E.C Birmingham was disgusting very poor service waiter was rude and didn't know what he was serving and just dumped plates of food infront of anyone not asking who it was for the food was cold on 6 of the 8 meals we ordered there was 8 chips on one burger meal at the cost of £9 the bar had ran out of coke vodka baileys wine and lager on a saturday night as they had stocked upthe glasses was dirty they were pouring shorts in to pint glasses for ladies to drink or takiunwashed glasses from the dishwasher it took two barren over 20mins 2 serve one customer 3 drinks i will not be using holiday in again. we complained about the food and service to the manageress who was called Claire although she gave us 25%off are food bill she was heard to say thank god they are going as we left

ManagementResponse

Dear S Travers, Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about our hotel. We value you as our guest and we appreciate your opinion. Allow us to apologize that you did not receive the quality customer service and high standards that we are renowned for. We regret that you left unsatisfied with the level of the staff service and food selections. We will ensure that these issues are addressed so this does not re-occur in the future. We would cherish a chance to prove our true hospitality should your travels bring you here again. Sincerely, Zelyn, IHG Care

Reviewed by
s travers

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
The room is clean. The food is excellent. Good costumer service. Staff helpful.

Reviewed by
M Aquino

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not so great, not so express
Absolutely rubbish and incompitant bad staff who served several pints (badly) in filthy glasses!! Curtains fell off the track in the room! Exteremely uncomfortable beds!! Pathetic shower that piddled water at varying but nether constant temperatures!! Avoid this hotel at all cost!!

ManagementResponse

Dear M Ellis, Thank you for taking the time to leave our property a review. It is unfortunate that this visit was a disappointment for you especially with the level of service received from our staff. This is definitely not up to standards and we are constantly looking for ways to improve. We will use your comments to enhance what we offer. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be. Sincerely, Pam, IHG Care

Reviewed by
M Ellis

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

.
.

Reviewed by
R Horseman

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay. Good value for money.

Reviewed by
F Bool

From Abertillery, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.