No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
BICKENHILL PARKWAY,BIRMINGHAM NEC, BIRMINGHAM, B40 1QA
Enjoy a peaceful stay at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC hotel, 1 mile from Birmingham NEC and 2 miles from Birmingham International Airport.

The welcoming Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC is just 1 mile from junction 4 of the M6 , connecting to the M40 and M42. Enjoy free wifi and Express Start breakfast with hot items whenever you stay - whatever rate you book! Our new Main Menu offers something for everyone, enjoy a full 3 course meal, you are spoilt for choice. Fresh salad, hot pizzas and tasty curries are some of our guests firm favourites. You don’t need to go out to eat well! You can bring presentations to life with wireless Internet in our 8 bright meeting rooms for 80 guests.

Head to events at Birmingham NEC in under 15 minutes' walk and reach clients at Birmingham Business Park in 10 minutes.Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC 's Family rooms have sofabeds where under-18s stay free, and you can leave your car when booking our Park and Fly Package . Parking is chargeable at the hotel at £7.00 per car for 24 hours
Picture of Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, BIRMINGHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 119 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel - rubbish breakfast
Really good customer service on check in, nice clean room, free wifi. The only downside was the breakfast - it was awful. Coffee tasted nothing like coffee, very limited choice and hot breakfast was anything but. Cold scrambled eggs - eurgh.
Next time I will skip breakfast.
Very handy for NEC!!

ManagementResponse

Dear Clare L, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. I am pleased to know that our customer service exceeded your expectations and found our rooms nice and clean. On the other hand, I apologize for the inconvenience the breakfast may have caused you. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us. Sincerely, Krysllin, IHG Care

Reviewed by
Clare L

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality of service and accommodation were absolutely fine - all as expected. One thing I did miss as a non-driver was the courtesy car service which has been replaced by contract cabs. This is something I should have checked before booking and it may influence my decision to stay at this particular hotel again. Having said that the cab service was very efficient and arrived on time.

Reviewed by
I McCulloch

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very happy with the quality of the hotel rooms and staff
We were very happy with our stay and would certainly choose that hotel again next time we return to Birmingham. The hotel staff were very friendly and the rooms were above our expectations. Certainly value for money. Also, to blind travellers, the hotel is well set out and easy to navigate and access. I am a blind traveller too and found this hotel to be one of the best I have stayed at to date.

Reviewed by
Nathan Edge

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Couple of nights stay for business training course.
The customer service at the hotel was excellent and the room was to a good standard. I was woken early on both mornings by people in the adjoinjing rooms. First morning by snoring and the second by someone singing. The breakfast was good with a limited selection. The evening meal that I had on the first night was not good and I would not eat at the hotel in the evening again.

Reviewed by
Stuart B

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic room with even better price!
Best priced hotel around that area. Went to concert and was only small taxi fayre ride away.

Reviewed by
B Sullivan

From Caerdydd, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic
Perfect for what I needed brill value for money, only problem was I couldn't connect to the wifi.

Reviewed by
H Johnson

From Hinckley, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bacon for breakfast would be nice

Reviewed by
tony john curtis

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

For one night only
The room was of a standard you'd expect from a budget hotel chain but others are doing it a lot better than Holiday Inn Express. The shower room was in need of some essential repairs and there was visible mold around the tray itself. The plug mechanism on the W/H basin came away in my hand and was therefore inoperable. The carpet throughout looked very tired and worn and the heater did not function when you were out of the room. There was no great choice of TV channels and the channel list was unavailable so had to go through all the channels to find one you wanted. The bed and bedding was OK and we slept fairly well. The breakfast selection was limited in that there was no bacon or fried eggs on offer, only saver style sausages and rubbery scrambled eggs. Just as well it was for one night only and we definitely won't be requesting a return performance.

ManagementResponse

Dear D Taylor, Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. I'm sorry you were unhappy with the appearance of the property. We would also like to apologize for any inconvenience the room conditions may have caused you. Your comments about the air conditioner has been documented and will certainly be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. Sincerely, Janice, IHG Care

Reviewed by
D Taylor

From Criccieth, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor service /food quality for price paid, service 'disinterested'. Bar/ food 1 staff overworked!
A party of four all found rooms small basic/ hot/ beds like sleeping on a jelly. The price paid did not reflect the quality of the food or the service. (no bacon tomatoes mushroom for hot breakfast! consisted of soggy scrambled egg, sausage and beans) The infrastructure of this hotel is ok although the food area is like eating in a hospital waiting room and the staff give no eye contact (except Dave late evening who was very helpful and the 1 bar, table service chap who was over worked.
Have stayed in holiday in express elsewhere before and have always been happy but not here.

ManagementResponse

Dear m leggott, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you had with the room assigned to you may have casued. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. To better assist you on your next stay, please do not hesitate to approach the Manager on Duty. Sincerely, Krysllin IHGCare

Reviewed by
m leggott

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not best
had to move rooms for lift noise, then spent 30 mins to get bill correct without a reduction. Not good

ManagementResponse

Dear Jamie M, Thank you for your comments about your visit. It is regrettable that this stay was a disappointment on several aspects particularly with the noise challenges experienced and level of service received being sub par. We have taken note of your comments and these shall be addressed appropriately to consider for improvements needed in what we can offer. Sincerely, Pam G IHGCare

Reviewed by
JAMIE m

From Sleaford, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next