No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
BICKENHILL PARKWAY,BIRMINGHAM NEC, BIRMINGHAM, B40 1QA
Enjoy a peaceful stay at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC hotel, 1 mile from Birmingham NEC and 2 miles from Birmingham International Airport.

The welcoming Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC is just 1 mile from junction 4 of the M6 , connecting to the M40 and M42. Enjoy a FREE Express Start breakfast with hot items whenever you stay - whatever rate you book! Our new Main Menu offers something for everyone, enjoy a full 3 course meal, you are spoilt for choice. Fresh salad, hot pizzas and tasty curries are some of our guests firm favourites. You don’t need to go out to eat well! You can bring presentations to life with wireless Internet in our 8 bright meeting rooms for 80 guests.

Head to events at Birmingham NEC in under 15 minutes' walk and reach clients at Birmingham Business Park in 10 minutes.Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC 's Family rooms have sofabeds where under-18s stay free, and you can leave your car when booking our Park and Fly Package . Parking is chargeable at the hotel at £7.00 per car for 24 hours

30 Minutes free Wi-Fi every night. Additional time periods can be purchased as required.
Picture of Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, BIRMINGHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 144 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Left feeling disappointed and tired
Poor nights sleep due to thin walls and noisy neighbours. Doors banging all night and the sound of voices carrying straight through the walls. Our little lad had a good sofa bed but as it was under the window it was freezing. The bedding provided was extremely thin and the radiator let off a bad smell.
We arrived to our room late and the reception was unattended. All we wanted was the wi if code and when it was finally provided it didn't work.
Breakfast was very limited with cold crossiants and a complete lack of hot food. This was just beans sausages and scrambled egg. The waitress said.. As there was less then 80 in the hotel they would not do a full breakfast..not even bacon?!
As this hotel is close to my parents we were keen to give it a try but we did leave feeling let down.

ManagementResponse

Dear Aaron Gallimore, Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs and expectations and on this occasion we apologize for the inconvenience the noise, WIFI and the breakfast have caused you. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be. Thank you again for your review and have a wonderful day! Sincerely, Karen C IHGCare

Reviewed by
Aaron Gallimore

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wet Wet Wet
Excellent for the lg , , very nice staff very aroma dating. Room big and very comfortable will stay again.

Reviewed by
david wilcox

From shropshire, England
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First time traveller.
Quick and simple to book, pleasant ,friendly reception,made myself and two whippets very welcome, plenty of dog friendly areas around the hotel.
Owing to the large number of dogs and handlers staying for the show at the NEC, the litter bins were full to overflowing with poo bags.
Suggest a specially designated bin/bins for this purpose.
As a first time traveller to Holiday Inn, a short explanation of the use of the guest card to open the door and access the lights in the room would have been helpful.

Reviewed by
Anne Prowse

From Barnstaple, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great
Nice stay, only downside was I had to pay extra for parking.

Reviewed by
Rachael G

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely clean room
2nd time stayed here when visiting NEC, very pleasant staff and helpful when booking taxis into Birmingham, only thing I disagree with is paying £7 car park, should be free if staying at hotel. Clean rooms tho and ok breakfast. Would recommend.

Reviewed by
Rachael Wright

From Stoke on Trent , UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel and service

Reviewed by
Lorie T

From Kendal, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value
Convenient hotel for NEC. Lovely hotel.

Reviewed by
k hughes

From Merthyr Tydfil, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good overnight stay
This was a comfortable and enjoyable overnight stay. You need a taxi to the NEC but this only cost £5 each way and is far cheaper than parking costs. There was a good range of food choices for breakfast.

Reviewed by
Kay W

From Doncaster, England
Who stayed in December 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

sockets
no sockets near bed to charge phone

ManagementResponse

Dear Andrew Matheson, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the lay-out of your room. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done. Sincerely, Anthony, IHG Care

Reviewed by
andrew matheson

From Ripon, England
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Visit to the NEC
Had a day at the NEC and decided to stay for the night and drive home the following day. The hotel was "just the job", check in was fast and pain free, the room was good, breakfast had a nice choice of cooked, cereals and fruit. The only downside was having to pay £7 to park the car overnight which I felt, having already paid £104 for the room, was a bit petty!

Reviewed by
A Slocombe

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next