No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Castle Bromwich Inn Birmingham

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
JUNCTION 5 - M6 - CHESTER RD. , BIRMINGHAM, B357AF
Benefit from easy access to the M6 motorway when you stay at the Castle Bromwich Inn, located at junction 5. We offer FREE car parking and FREE WI-FI access to also guests at our handy location, just 5 miles from Birmingham's bustling centre. Our friendly staff will welcome you on arrival at the modern Castle Bromwich Inn. The airy lobby has a well stocked bar serving hot and cold beverages and snacks, comfortable sofas and a large flat screen TV. There is also dining area where you can enjoy an optional buffet breakfast. All rooms are en suite with invigorating power shower; flat screen TV and tea and coffee making facilities. We're situated close to local businesses and The ICC Birmingham is 7 miles away. Benefit from discounted Stay Park and Fly rates when you travel from Birmingham Airport , 4 miles away. Soak up matchday atmosphere at Aston Villa's stadium, Villa Park , 3 miles from the Castle Bromwich Inn. We are well-placed for family fun, close to Drayton Manor Park and 12 miles from Cadbury World . It's just 25 minutes by local bus into Birmingham city centre for concerts at The NEC. Please note when using satnav use postcode B35 7AD
Picture of Castle Bromwich Inn Birmingham, BIRMINGHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable hotel staff were very friendly

Reviewed by
deborah topping

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Easy From M6 Junction 5? Not if you are Southbound!
Chose hotel for proximity to M6 and NEC for Horse of The Year Show. Checked website directions to hotel 2 or 3 times on map and had already thought that it didn't look as outlined in hotel directions.
This was the case, coming southbound THERE IS NO EXIT - NO JUNCTION 5. A 6 and a 4A but NO 5. Saw hotel sign from motorway but no way to get to it, complicated by the fact that the 4A junction is the branch of the M42. Difficult decisions on a wet dark night,,surrounded by traffic driving at motorway speeds, when you don't know the area. As I had researched the hotel/NEC we drove to NEC junction, turned around and retraced up M6 Northbound to junction 5. and found hotel. Girl on reception had no idea what we were talking about and wasn't interested..
It was fine for our return journey to NEC following day.
Going North on Saturday morning, thanks to smart phones, accessed M6 via A38.
We were able to sort ourselves out, many others would not and the information on the hotel website is misleading, or id there are other directions I certainly couldn't find them.

Reviewed by
Ros Wilson

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
We arrived at the hotel (after having to travel an extra half an hour because of the silly spaghetti junction, but I won't go into that!) to a friendly receptionist. The hotel was nice and clean and the room smelled lovely upon entering. Slightly cold but cranked up the heating to max which sort of did the trick.

Reviewed by
M Kolia

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A quick break
Stayed with my husband whilst visiting my grandparents before the birth of our first child. The room smelt strongly of smoke, although we didn't request to be moved it was offered but just wanted to highlight the fact to staff. We were then greeted with an apology and the offer of breakfast free of charge as compensation. I had to ask for a third pillow to support my substantial bump & the staff were more than happy to accommodate this. Unfortunately the disappointing aspects (although trivial) were the lack of hot chocolate, only 2 tea bags and no complimentary biscuits in our room, sure I've had these when I've stayed before & they're always a little welcome basic bonus in most 'travel inn' style places.

Reviewed by
B Meadley

From Ripon, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was clean and well-appointed. Reading light on desk a bit dim.
You're near the M6 motorway, so don't expect silence. There is a constant background hum of traffic which is fin if you're accustomed to it.
Continental breakfast was more than adequate and well-priced at less than £5.

Reviewed by
Ian K

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Better than it looks on arrival
The picture on the website is actually a better indication of your stay than first impressions on arrival.
Appearing to nestle gracelessly in the surrounding industrial landscape, this unappealing edifice of modern fortress style architecture, rubbing shoulders with slightly uncomfortable proximity to the M6 raised section near the appropriately named "Fort Parkway" road, this building is approached from a feeder road that you take your life into your hands attempting to emerge from the following morning. Guarded on the main entrance steps by a possee of nicoteen addicts, their trigger fingers twitching in the evening sunset on their tobacco filled cancer sticks surrounded by a light haze of toxic fumes, you enter the inner sanctum of the reception to be greeted with fairly standard hotel decor and a very friendly if ever so slightly undertrained receptionist who met me with a warm greeting, tinged ever so slightly with the tone of surprise on discovering I was staying for two nights not just one.
Inside the building you could have imagined you were in any one of a number of anonymous hotel chains across the globe, which gives you a fairly comfortable sense of familiarity. All the public areas and the bedroom were clean and modern. The bed surprisingly comfortable, although a mix of pillow thickness to select the perfect height would have enhanced the somnambular experience. With the windows closed in the room nearest to the flyover, the surprisingly surpressed melody of the nearby M6 was not too remote from the roar of waves on an imaginary Mediterranean shingle beach although as the road got quieter late a night, the few larger lone vehicles sounded more like trains passing over rail track expansion joints with their hypnotic rhythmic percussion, sleep was surprisingly easy.
Breakfast was a fairly lightweight but not unpleasant affair being only a continental style, but with Christmas fast approaching (only 103 sleeps to Santa!) I need to reduce some of the Santa style padding around my own waist.
The nearby Fort Jester was also surprisingly good as an eating and drinking establishment with a reasonably good selection of fine dining. The name did nothing to surpress the Fortress theme in my mind and "Fine Dining" might be a bit of a stretch too far from simply well cooked and tasty but in these surrounds, not without some arboreal vegetation, you need to let your imagination flourish.
I probably won't be back, but don't be dissuaded from giving this place a chance. It's reasonably priced, potentially handy for the airport and not too distant exhibition centresand the friendly staff will make your visit a pleasant one. If you are thinking of a romantic retreat, I suspect your loved one may not see the funny side. Certainly a far cry from my subsequent hotel in Folkestone which delivered, free of charge to my room an unusual pet for my consideration. A cockroach. The Castle Bromwich Inn would be too clean for that eventuality.

Reviewed by
Bruce R

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Good quality for money, clean and simple

Reviewed by
Amanda C

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money for a family stay.
Great value for money, staff lovely, will stay again.

Reviewed by
D Dunne

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Passing Through
Immaculate clean rooms, staff helpful and polite an asset to the company, continental breakfast fresh and tasty just right before the onward trip.

Reviewed by
Neil H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We liked the hotel
We were happy with the accommodation offered. It was comfortable, clean and well situated. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
C A Cass

From New Malden, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next