Reviews - The Red Lion


Boroughbridge Road, Upper Poppleton,, York, YO26 6PR

Price From 167.27 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (36)

97% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • m goult

  • November 2015


Room was spacious and clean.

Loved the little touches such as bottled water,shampoo and conditioner..nice cosy bar with log burning fire just a thing on a cold winter night. Really enjoyable stay

  • Amanda S

  • October 2015

Fantastic accommodation, very clean room and very friendly staff.

I will definitely stay here again.

The pub was lovely and had a very homely feeling about it. If we hadn't got tickets to the Barbican theatre I would've gladly stayed and had a evening in the pub. The staff were very friendly and polite.

  • Charlotte S

  • October 2015

Great Stay!

Great, friendly staff and a wonderful toasty room.

My favourite part was the chickens. They're adorable.

  • K Wight

  • October 2015

Warm Welcome

Lovely accommodation with friendly hosts and good food.

Nice bar/restaurant area. Very clean. Everything we needed for a quiet night away.

  • leonard m

  • September 2015

Short City break

Lovely stay wonderful food and hospitality was excellent.

We will definitely be back for a return



  • September 2015

york stay

Found accommodation very comfortable and pub traditional and good food.

taxi was reliable and quick, they booked it for us. Fantastic breakfast in a lovely breakfast room. Nice rural location.

  • craig smith

  • September 2015

York Away Day

Lovely pub with fantastic friendly staff.

Food and drink was fine with a lovely comfortable room.Ample on site, although can be a bit noisy in the morning as the rooms face onto the main road. Definitely would stay again.

  • L Brown

  • May 2015

Would definitely stay again

My boyfriend and I stayed for two nights, May Bank Holiday weekend 2015.

The greeting was warm and friendly, but not too much chat. The room has recently been refurbished and provides everything you would need; ample space for two suitcases, plug sockets next to the bed to charge the mobiles overnight, a very lovely shower room (no bath), comfy double bed. Any down sides. Only a few, which certainly didn't detract from the fabulous stay; the shower did not drain well (plug blocked?!), the flat screen was tiny (but this didn't even get switched on!), and the main A59 road is right next door. There isn't a huge amount of traffic, but something to bear in mind if you're a light sleeper. The first night we ate in the pub. Fantastic. We had the fish pie (plenty of fish!) and leg of lamb (lovely tender meat falling off the bone). Breakfast was enormous (I only had scrambled egg on toast the second morning). Service was friendly, if a little slow when it got busy, but very apologetic for the delay. The location is on the main A59 road between York and Harrogate. There is a P&R site just down the road (10 minute walk, and £2.80 for an adult day return), and a shop and Italian restaurant another short walk away. All in all, I would definitely recommend this as a great place to stay if you're seeing the sites of York.

  • Lorraine Chadwick

  • April 2015

The Red Lion

Great stay , with the most scrumsious breakfast ..

  • Richard P

  • April 2015

The Red Lion

Very clean room good facilities and friendly bar in pub.

Very slight road noise and more caffeine required with an otherwise excellent breakfast.