No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Red Lion

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Boroughbridge Road, Upper Poppleton, , York, YO26 6PR
The 8 rooms at the Red Lion are all comfortably appointed and provide the perfect environment with its own private garden with fish pond and large lawns for a relaxing stay in York, whether for business or pleasure. Full English breakfast and free parking is included in the price of your stay. The Red Lion offers a superb selection of mouth-watering dishes served in the bar or conservatory restaurant. In addition to being 3 miles from York city centre, the Red Lion is well placed for many other interesting locations and activities including Castle Howard, which has been in the worlds top 10 Greatest Mansions and setting for Pride & Prejudice as well as the Thornbirds. Harrogate is also only 20 mins away for great shopping and the conference centre. There are also local activities such as Fishing, Microlites, Gliders, Flying, Clay Pigeon Shooting, Quad Biking, Paint Balling and much more. We are also on the Tour De France route. We are located just of the A59 (Boroughbridge Road) and have a large Free Car Park. Our car Park entrance is entered off Hodgson Lane.
Picture of The Red Lion, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2014 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place for a weekend break in York
Outside of York but only a short (10 minute) walk to No. 59 Park & Ride bus service which runs every 10 minutes into York centre - 15 minute journey. Lovely room, great breakfast, friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Anne C

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday surprise
After looking on the net for an hotel in the centre of York and not been successful, I was reluctant to book The Red Lion due to the distance from the centre of York. However, after arriving at the Red Lion I was welcomed by very friendly staff who escorted us to our room and showed us the lay out of the accommodation which we thought was very professional. Everything about the Red Lion was warm and friendly and we would recommend the hotel to everybody. We would just like to thank all the staff for a most enjoyable stay and looking forward to going back in the future. Kind Regards - Dave Caswell

Reviewed by
Dave Caswell

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good - but very cold!
The room was good quality. Bathroom was particularly nice with a fairly big shower and toiletries included. Staff were very nice and the food was great in the pub.
However, it was one of the coldest rooms I have ever stayed in. We cranked the thermostat up to full and it was still absolutely freezing.
Tip: It's roughly about £10 in a taxi to York from the hotel.

Reviewed by
S Greene

From Hyde, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A cold welcome
The heating could have done with being put on sooner as the room was large and took a long time to warm up. It was on maximum and was still chilly when we returned. Lovely large bathroom and shower. Probably great in summer when the garden could be used and the heating is controllable by the guest.

Reviewed by
J Pinder

From Stowmarket, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Rooms
We received a nice welcome and the room was clean and of a good standard. The rooms open out directly to an external walkway and garden and face the road so there was more external noise than a conventional hotel.

Reviewed by
Tony M

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Red Lion
Really enjoyable stay, staff were happy to help at all times. Room was clean and well presented and the shower was excellent. Although breakfast was quite early, the food was lovely. Would highly recommend.

Reviewed by
J Gorman

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

handy adn accessible
Chalet-style accommodation block attached to the original pub. Next to a bust and fairly noisy road, but with windows shut was acceptable. Room appeared not to have been used for several days and took 4 hours to reach temperature after cold days previously. Pub was welcoming, and breakfast good (but devoid of fresh fruit). Plenty of safe parking.

Reviewed by
David H

From Monmouth, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Overnight Stay.
Efficient check in. Room very spacious, clean and modern. Very good bathroom/shower.
All staff extremely helpful and friendly. Decent selection of meals and drinks in the bar/restaurant all reasonably priced. Very tasty breakfast cooked freshly to order.
Located just off the main York ring road next to the A59. Although this is a busy road, there was very little traffic noise during the night, slept very well.
Would definitely stay again in in the area.

Reviewed by
SHAUN P

From Wisbech, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place. Would stay again.
The hotel is in a really nice location and the hotel it self has a warm, cosey feel to it. The room itself was nice and clean and the bed comfy.
The hotel offers a wide range of drinks at reasonable prices.
We didn't have an evening meal there but the breakfast in the morning was a good standard. The food was fresh and of good quality.
Would recommend staying here.

Reviewed by
B Ridley

From Dronfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel
very nice hotel, helpful staff , very good food ,clean warm room ,good hot shower.
would stop again at this hotel.

Reviewed by
c ingleby

From Carnforth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next