No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Captain Cook Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Captain Cook Inn, 60 Staithes Lane, , Staithes, TS13 5AD
The Captain Cook Inn was built in 1883 to serve as the Station Hotel in the village of Staithes. Unfortunately both the train line and the impressive viaduct connecting Cowbar to Staithes no longer exist, however the Station Hotel still remains in the guise of The Captain Cook Inn. Staithes is a beautiful pictureque fishing village nestled between some of the highest cliffs on the east coast. Visitors can comb the beach and rockpools for hidden treasures and sea creatures, there are many walks to be enjoyed through the wooded valleys or cliff top rambles. The village has a Heritage and Captain Cook Centre housed in the old Methodist Chapel. The Village also has an ecclectic collection of shops, restraunts, pubs and a Gallery. The Captain Cook Inn sits at the top of the Village and offers free parking for patrons and residents. The Inn offers a variety of real ales, the locally brewed house ale (only available at The Captain Cook Inn) is very popular with the locals and supplied from North Yorshire Brewery. The pub has live music events every month and during these evenings the music can carry through the building, if you have any questions or concerns regarding this please contact us. We offer an extensive menu of home cooked meals, supplemented by a specials board. All produce is locally sourced where possible to ensure freshness and to assist with the local economy. We attempt to cater for all dietry requirements, if the menu does not suit please ask and we will endeavour to meet your needs. We can cater for all size of parties, but require pre-booking for larger parties where possible. The Captain Cook Inn accommodation consists mainly of double en-suite rooms, although we also have en-suite family rooms and can cater for larger parties such as walkers or surfers. All rooms have flat screen televisions with free view, free wifi, tea and coffee making facilities, bottled water and complementary bathroom toiletries
Picture of The Captain Cook Inn, Staithes at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2014 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Work in Progress
The Captain Cook Inn is undergoing a complete refurbishment and this is reflected in the value for money prices. I look forward to returning when the work is complete because what they have achieved so far is very good. Breakfast was also very enjoyable and the views from my room were great. Hosts could not do enough to help and deserve support. Grab a room while the cheap prices remain!

Reviewed by
S Halsall

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fine time
Will be back because of the perfect base for the area. Fish lovers heaven & a smoke house of epic brilliance around the corner.
When all the renovation's are complete it will be a 6* from us.
Like the mega wine glasses !!!!! 😁. And 4 bob for a game of pool !!!! 😎.

Reviewed by
John B

From Hope Valley, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I'll be back!
Under renovation (a 5 year mission, I'm told), hence the slight down mark for cleanliness. However, the room itself was immaculate. Bed so comfy I slept through the England game!
Very friendly staff, food was excellent, both evening meal and breakfast.
Did I mention the good selection of (real) ale, well kept?
Only slight problem (not their fault at all) was lack of mobile phone reception in the area.

Reviewed by
George Stappleton

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Captain cook inn staithes
This hotel at the time we stayed was basic. Beds were clean our bathroom was very good and clean asit had just been refurbished,
The hotel is being fully refurbished and as time goes on I think the hotel will be a nice place to stay .
We could see the owners were spending a lot on the refurb .
I hope they make a success of it as they are really trying to bring the place up to scratch.the breakfast we had was very good and the staff were helpful good luck with the refurb

Reviewed by
B Drake

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Under renovations
the bed /bathroom very good and clean. Breakfast was also very good,due to renovations under way would not stay again till complete.

Reviewed by
Paul K

From DONCASTER, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Captain Cook Inn Staithes Yorkshire
highly recommended very well maintained and clean with friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Rodger Lee

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel, lovely service
We stayed at the Captain Cook Inn for two nights and have to say how pleasantly surprised we were. The hotel is currently undergoing some refurbishment and the room we stayed in was absolutely beautiful and much larger than expected. It was clean and welcoming and the pub downstairs was friendly and cosy with its log fire and traditional benches. As a vegan, I sometimes struggle with the breakfasts at b&b's but the owners were extremely accomodating and even had some veggie sausages in so I got a fried breakfast. The food was home cooked and was lovely. Would highly recommend and we plan to stay here again.

Reviewed by
R Collins

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little break
We had a cracking room on the first floor, just been done up. The Captain Cook Inn is still in the process of being decorated but we knew this as it was mentioned on all the websites it appeared on. It didn't interfere with our trip, everything was still clean. The staff were all great, very friendly. Great food,
Drinks in the bar were reasonably priced too.
- Shame nothing could be done about the weather!
I'd read somewhere that the place has a ghost but the only spirit I came into contact with came straight out of a Bacardi bottle :) Hope to visit again some day.

Reviewed by
Joanne Stockdale Burt

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great and we have rebooked
Great little pub.very clean and staff were all very pleasant and friendly. We have booked to go back in a few weeks,this time we are taking our two youngest daughters.would recommend to both couples and families.

Reviewed by
V Stephenson

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

holiday accomadation
i had a very pleasurable and comfortable weeks holiday at the captain cook inn.even though renovations are being carried out i could not find anything untoward to say.the food was very good and plenty of it.next time i come to staithes i will be staying at captain cooks,if i manage to get in.

Reviewed by
R Gargett

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next