No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Captain Cook Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Captain Cook Inn, 60 Staithes Lane, , Staithes, TS13 5AD
The Captain Cook Inn was built in 1883 to serve as the Station Hotel in the village of Staithes. Unfortunately both the train line and the impressive viaduct connecting Cowbar to Staithes no longer exist, however the Station Hotel still remains in the guise of The Captain Cook Inn. Staithes is a beautiful pictureque fishing village nestled between some of the highest cliffs on the east coast. Visitors can comb the beach and rockpools for hidden treasures and sea creatures, there are many walks to be enjoyed through the wooded valleys or cliff top rambles. The village has a Heritage and Captain Cook Centre housed in the old Methodist Chapel. The Village also has an ecclectic collection of shops, restraunts, pubs and a Gallery. The Captain Cook Inn sits at the top of the Village and offers free parking for patrons and residents. The Inn offers a variety of real ales, the locally brewed house ale (only available at The Captain Cook Inn) is very popular with the locals and supplied from North Yorshire Brewery. The pub has live music events every month and during these evenings the music can carry through the building, if you have any questions or concerns regarding this please contact us. We offer an extensive menu of home cooked meals, supplemented by a specials board. All produce is locally sourced where possible to ensure freshness and to assist with the local economy. We attempt to cater for all dietry requirements, if the menu does not suit please ask and we will endeavour to meet your needs. We can cater for all size of parties, but require pre-booking for larger parties where possible. The Captain Cook Inn accommodation consists mainly of double en-suite rooms, although we also have en-suite family rooms and can cater for larger parties such as walkers or surfers. All rooms have flat screen televisions with free view, free wifi, tea and coffee making facilities, bottled water and complementary bathroom toiletries
Picture of The Captain Cook Inn, Staithes at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2014 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Little Inn
Refurbishment work is still in progress, but this didn't spoil our enjoyment. Our room was spotlessly clean, large and very comfortable.A full length mirror would have been handy, but I suspect some finishing touches have yet to be made (pictures etc). We may have been amongst the very earliest visitors since the room refurb was complete as décor, carpets and so on were immaculate.
Breakfast was great. They do a lovely full English. Staff were helpful and very friendly. Good value for B&B and certainly much cheaper than anything we've found in regular visits to nearby Whitby.

Reviewed by
tony e

From York, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will definitely return
We arrived at the Captain Cook Inn fully aware it was undergoing refurbished and expecting parts of it to be a bit of a building site. This wasn't the case at all. There was scaffolding surrounding the building and parts which were obviously unfinished but it was clean and comfortable throughout.
Our room was gorgeous - big and light and airy with period furniture and a beautiful fireplace. The en suite bathroom was bigger than my main bathroom at home and, like the rest of the room, very clean.
The proper coffee and biscuits in the room were a welcome treat too!
We ate dinner in the pub downstairs and were both very happy with our meals. The local ale, Northern Navigator, is well worth a try too!
Breakfast the following morning was generous and tasty with veggies well catered for.


clean.

Reviewed by
Rachel S

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent stay
Having read some of the reviews we were a little concerned about staying at the Captain Cook, but we were pleasantly surprised. All the staff were very helpful, our accommodation in one of the refurbished rooms was excellent and the food was very good. We will be happy to stay again when we are next in the area.

Reviewed by
N Goodlad

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

our three day stay
first the car park entrey is right on bend ,the inn is in state of repear room was niceas it is new but could do with a good clean,food was very good, staff very helpfull ,it should be a very nice place when it is all finished

Reviewed by
Michael B

From Spalding, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, undergoing refurbishment
Our room was brand new and finished to a high standard, others were still being refurbished.
Excellent position at the top of the village, with free parking, which is at a premium here.

Reviewed by
Paul Haywood

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Captain Cook Hotel ( Staithes)
The hotel is in the middle of being renovated, so very untidy at the moment. I am sure it will be worth another visit when it is done.

Reviewed by
G Wood

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel undergoing refit. Updated areas are great and service is very friendly and helpful.
The family room was excellent. The bedroom was being updated, so not fair to judge yet, but all the work so far suggests that it will be bright and comfortable. The owners are helpful and friendly. The home made bar food is very good. Particularly liked the extra big bath towels and the coffee tray.

Reviewed by
Janet E

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous food and beer, shame about the service and the noise!
I stayed for the one night to break up a business trip. I'd picked the hotel, knowing that there was still a fair amount of work going on - which didn't worry me.
I was met with a very warm welcome by (what turned out to be) the chef, who was running around, showing people to their rooms, whilst trying to prep the evenings' food and serve behind the bar!
Once upstairs, despite the work and mess, the room was really spacious and comfortable and was obviously one of the newly refurbished ones.
The overall service in the evening was barely acceptable, with lengthy waits for service and for food - though both were well worth waiting for when they came - fantastic beers and good wholesome food!
What started out a very comfortable nights sleep was shattered at 5am by a guest running a shower immediately above me, then clattering about until he stomped past my room on his way out at 5.30!!
I'd definitely stay here again, for the ale and food, but I'll be happier when the refurb is finished and there are adequate staff.

Reviewed by
Paul W

From Shipley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oh dear!
The Captain Cook Inn is being refurbished....but the public areas such as corridors were awful - paint spattered and worn carpets, the room we had been booked into was hardly any better, a second room worse - the views - one of an unkempt garden area the other no better. In short we did not stay.
Whilst accepting that the place was under new management, the staff were off hand, no apology for the state of the place and a 'take it or leave it' attitude.
I would not recommend this place to anyone and I will not use laterooms again.

Reviewed by
D Allum

From York, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

personable and hospitable service...
very pleasant stay...lovely room, all amenities, good breakfast, friendly reception by all staff

Reviewed by
Ann Fish

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next