No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Captain Cook Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Captain Cook Inn, 60 Staithes Lane, , Staithes, TS13 5AD
The Captain Cook Inn was built in 1883 to serve as the Station Hotel in the village of Staithes. Unfortunately both the train line and the impressive viaduct connecting Cowbar to Staithes no longer exist, however the Station Hotel still remains in the guise of The Captain Cook Inn. Staithes is a beautiful pictureque fishing village nestled between some of the highest cliffs on the east coast. Visitors can comb the beach and rockpools for hidden treasures and sea creatures, there are many walks to be enjoyed through the wooded valleys or cliff top rambles. The village has a Heritage and Captain Cook Centre housed in the old Methodist Chapel. The Village also has an ecclectic collection of shops, restraunts, pubs and a Gallery. The Captain Cook Inn sits at the top of the Village and offers free parking for patrons and residents. The Inn offers a variety of real ales, the locally brewed house ale (only available at The Captain Cook Inn) is very popular with the locals and supplied from North Yorshire Brewery. The pub has live music events every month and during these evenings the music can carry through the building, if you have any questions or concerns regarding this please contact us. We offer an extensive menu of home cooked meals, supplemented by a specials board. All produce is locally sourced where possible to ensure freshness and to assist with the local economy. We attempt to cater for all dietry requirements, if the menu does not suit please ask and we will endeavour to meet your needs. We can cater for all size of parties, but require pre-booking for larger parties where possible. The Captain Cook Inn accommodation consists mainly of double en-suite rooms, although we also have en-suite family rooms and can cater for larger parties such as walkers or surfers. All rooms have flat screen televisions with free view, free wifi, tea and coffee making facilities, bottled water and complementary bathroom toiletries
Picture of The Captain Cook Inn, Staithes at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2014 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel, lovely service
We stayed at the Captain Cook Inn for two nights and have to say how pleasantly surprised we were. The hotel is currently undergoing some refurbishment and the room we stayed in was absolutely beautiful and much larger than expected. It was clean and welcoming and the pub downstairs was friendly and cosy with its log fire and traditional benches. As a vegan, I sometimes struggle with the breakfasts at b&b's but the owners were extremely accomodating and even had some veggie sausages in so I got a fried breakfast. The food was home cooked and was lovely. Would highly recommend and we plan to stay here again.

Reviewed by
R Collins

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little break
We had a cracking room on the first floor, just been done up. The Captain Cook Inn is still in the process of being decorated but we knew this as it was mentioned on all the websites it appeared on. It didn't interfere with our trip, everything was still clean. The staff were all great, very friendly. Great food,
Drinks in the bar were reasonably priced too.
- Shame nothing could be done about the weather!
I'd read somewhere that the place has a ghost but the only spirit I came into contact with came straight out of a Bacardi bottle :) Hope to visit again some day.

Reviewed by
Joanne Stockdale Burt

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great and we have rebooked
Great little pub.very clean and staff were all very pleasant and friendly. We have booked to go back in a few weeks,this time we are taking our two youngest daughters.would recommend to both couples and families.

Reviewed by
V Stephenson

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

holiday accomadation
i had a very pleasurable and comfortable weeks holiday at the captain cook inn.even though renovations are being carried out i could not find anything untoward to say.the food was very good and plenty of it.next time i come to staithes i will be staying at captain cooks,if i manage to get in.

Reviewed by
R Gargett

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good position hotel for car parking
This hotel is currently having a complete makeover and therefore there was scaffolding up around the outside of the building and painting being done. This will look lovely when completed.
The rooms we had were at the top of the hotel and had very old fashioned furniture, but the beds were extremely comfortable and the bathroom excellent. Just a few finishing touches required e.g. bathmat and handles on the bath for older people. One floor down the rooms are nearly finished being renovated and will be lovely and modern and bright. Once all the rooms are modernised this will be a really lovely hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Once finished it will be a great place to stay in Staithes as there are not many places to stay where you can park a car.

Reviewed by
Anna Tate

From Bingley, England
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We have book to come back in January
We like many had read the mixed reviews and still thought it was worth a try, how very pleased we are that we did, yes it is a work in progress but Rome was not built in a day. Staithes is lovely but what made our visit wonderful (2 adults 3 grandchildren aged 6,10 &13) was our stay at The Captain Cook, our room was in need of some minor finishing but it was spotless and very comfortable, the meals are very good, in fact we had lunch at three other pubs in the area and our evening meals at the Captain Cook and the evening meals were always the best.
Unfortunately our last evening was disturbed by a very noisy female guest who at 3 am in the morning thought it was okay to talk very loudly and stomp up and down the corridor for over 15 mins, other guests and ourselves mentioned this the next morning at breakfast, wonderful breakfast by the way, and the result was that a party of four after a lenghty discussion with the management were asked to pack and leave. The Captain Cook would have lost money because of this but handled the situation very well and in our eyes gained the respect and I hope loyalty of the other guest. We are going back in January for my husbands 60th birthday and I can't wait.
Thank you to every one of the very helpful and friendly staff for making our stay so wonderful.

Reviewed by
ann robinson

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff gave a warm welcome and showed us to our newly refurbished room, which had a beautiful view. Food was available until 9pm and a hot, delicious breakfast available until 9:30. The hotel is at the top of the hill, which is fine for most. Parking was free, to the rear of the hotel which meant a small 4min walk down the hill in to the village. I'd definitely go again.

Reviewed by
l moorhouse

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will definitely return
Our room was clean and well presented. Very pleasant and helpful staff. Free parking and the food was first class. Would highly recommend and we will definitely return.

Reviewed by
J Marsden

From Belper, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Little Inn
Refurbishment work is still in progress, but this didn't spoil our enjoyment. Our room was spotlessly clean, large and very comfortable.A full length mirror would have been handy, but I suspect some finishing touches have yet to be made (pictures etc). We may have been amongst the very earliest visitors since the room refurb was complete as décor, carpets and so on were immaculate.
Breakfast was great. They do a lovely full English. Staff were helpful and very friendly. Good value for B&B and certainly much cheaper than anything we've found in regular visits to nearby Whitby.

Reviewed by
tony e

From York, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will definitely return
We arrived at the Captain Cook Inn fully aware it was undergoing refurbished and expecting parts of it to be a bit of a building site. This wasn't the case at all. There was scaffolding surrounding the building and parts which were obviously unfinished but it was clean and comfortable throughout.
Our room was gorgeous - big and light and airy with period furniture and a beautiful fireplace. The en suite bathroom was bigger than my main bathroom at home and, like the rest of the room, very clean.
The proper coffee and biscuits in the room were a welcome treat too!
We ate dinner in the pub downstairs and were both very happy with our meals. The local ale, Northern Navigator, is well worth a try too!
Breakfast the following morning was generous and tasty with veggies well catered for.


clean.

Reviewed by
Rachel S

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next