No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Red House East

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
The Red House East, Station Road, April Rise, Bourton-on-the-Water, Cheltenham, GL54 2EN
The Red House East bed and breakfast was built in 1880 and was previously the village hospital and is situated in the centre of the very beautiful Cotswold village, Bourton-on-the-Water. There is a tremendous amount of things to do in this region, Stratford upon Avon, for those that are interested In the bard, there's Shakespeare's birthplace, the Shakespeare's Centre or the Royal Shakespeare Theatre. The city of Bath with its Roman splendour, Oxford for its famous book shops or Cheltenham for the racing are all within an easy drive. There is fishing, horse riding and golf all available within 3 miles and shops and pubs within 300yds. Breakfast is served in our south facing dining room. Guests can choose from our full English or vegetarian breakfast along with cereal and toast. At the Red House all our bedrooms either have an en-suite shower room or a private shower room. They also have a TV, tea/coffee making facilities, alarm clock and a hair dryer. There are many pleasant walks around the village, varying from the easy to the difficult, or if alternatively you can spend a nice easy day by the river Windrush in the centre of the village, surrounded by cafes, pubs and shops!
Picture of The Red House East, Cheltenham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2014 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 34 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Good
Nice B&B in quiet location run by a very nice lady called Katie. Excellent breakfast and only a couple of minute from the centre of Bourton

Reviewed by
Chris G

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cosy and comfortable
A warm welcome and friendly hosts. Room compact, but clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good and hearty. Thank you Katie for a good stay.

Reviewed by
Jo H

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Village, Great hosts
My wife and I stayed here for 1 nght on a short break. Stunning location, fabulous hosts and very welcoming. We would definitely reccomend staying here to anyone. Room was very spacious and comfortable, plenty of tea & coffee, great breakfast that really set us up for the day and the finishing touch was the very kind offer to refill our flask for the trip home. Thank you

Reviewed by
John A

From Cleckheaton, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money.
Last minute booking. Single occupancy in twin room with separate but private bathroom. Included the option of having a massive cooked breakfast. Nice and close to the town centre (5 minute walk) which met the needs of my stay, to meet friends. Paid £40 for one night which was very good value for money. Overall a nice stay would use it again for same purpose.

Reviewed by
P Milligan

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Idyllic B&B
Arrived at the Red House and was greeted by Katie who immediately made me feel very welcome and showed me to my room and explained that being in the roof tended to get cold.
The room was small but was ideal for a single guest. Had a slight problem with the bathroom which was dealt with by Charlie who immediately resolved the issue. Bathroom could do with a little TLC as there was a loose fitting (loo roll holder) and grout missing from between the floor tiles but that's just being picky.
The bed was insanely comfortable and the heater made it a lovely warm room. Copious amounts of tea, milk & sugar were provided on request and the breakfast was extremely generous and very filling.
Katie also recommended good places to eat. And even put up with me bending her ear on both mornings I stayed.
Would definitely recommend this B&B to friends and family and will return hopefully next year for another stay.
Excellent value for money and ideally located for the village. Thanks Katie & Charlie.

Reviewed by
Phil Edwards

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Red House East
Very friendly hostess made us feel very welcome.

Reviewed by
M Horn

From Wigston, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

it's a decent place to live in

Reviewed by
X Li

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice guest house near village centre
nice guest house comfortable bed will use this guest house again

Reviewed by
R DAVID WHEELER

From Ilford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Our welcome was very pleasant, the room was fine for our stopover, it was very clean. The house is close to the village so you can walk to the shops, pubs and restaurants. Katie was a good host, she was very helpful and pleasant..

Reviewed by
Malcolm B

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I was welcomed and the owner was very helpful. The room, although not spacious, was clean and tidy and had everything I needed. I had a good night's sleep and enjoyed the breakfast. The room I had was at the top of the building with sloping window above head height. There are other rooms and the owner did offer to carry my things - but you may wish to check which room you have if you find stairs difficult or want a window to look outside.

Reviewed by
Alison B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next