No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Red House East

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
The Red House East, Station Road, April Rise, Bourton-on-the-Water, Cheltenham, GL54 2EN
The Red House East bed and breakfast was built in 1880 and was previously the village hospital and is situated in the centre of the very beautiful Cotswold village, Bourton-on-the-Water. There is a tremendous amount of things to do in this region, Stratford upon Avon, for those that are interested In the bard, there's Shakespeare's birthplace, the Shakespeare's Centre or the Royal Shakespeare Theatre. The city of Bath with its Roman splendour, Oxford for its famous book shops or Cheltenham for the racing are all within an easy drive. There is fishing, horse riding and golf all available within 3 miles and shops and pubs within 300yds. Breakfast is served in our south facing dining room. Guests can choose from our full English or vegetarian breakfast along with cereal and toast. At the Red House all our bedrooms either have an en-suite shower room or a private shower room. They also have a TV, tea/coffee making facilities, alarm clock and a hair dryer. There are many pleasant walks around the village, varying from the easy to the difficult, or if alternatively you can spend a nice easy day by the river Windrush in the centre of the village, surrounded by cafes, pubs and shops!
Picture of The Red House East, Cheltenham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2014 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

it's a decent place to live in

Reviewed by
X Li

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice guest house near village centre
nice guest house comfortable bed will use this guest house again

Reviewed by
R DAVID WHEELER

From Ilford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Our welcome was very pleasant, the room was fine for our stopover, it was very clean. The house is close to the village so you can walk to the shops, pubs and restaurants. Katie was a good host, she was very helpful and pleasant..

Reviewed by
Malcolm B

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Family room - but check the main door.
We stayed in room 3 as we wanted a family room. This was a big suite with a double bed and two singles. We were taking my Dad to a wedding and he has just suffered the loss of his partner so my sister and I wanted to accompany him to keep him from being sad – hence the family room.
One of the single beds was far too narrow for an adult. I had the honour of sleeping in this bed and although it was a very comfortable bed, you fell out every time you turned over – so a rather sleepless night for me! Dad and my sister slept like logs.
The place was spotless as far as bedding and fittings, but the down side was the bathroom. The extractor fan was not working and with 3 people taking showers (and no window) it got very steamy and the steam could only go into the bedrooms! That left everything feeling damp. I’m sure this can be fixed quite easily but has obviously been broken for a while as the paint has marks all over it where the condensation has been streaming down the walls in there.
The only real downer was that after gaining access to our room and changing for the wedding, we could not get out of the lobby. The key would not work. We tried everything and were literally shouting at the top of our voices for any member of staff. I was having a bit of a panic attack in the end about being locked in. This was also the fire exit. There seems to be no way at all of contacting a staff member whilst you are inside the building – the staff live next door. To get out in the end we had to unbolt the catchment door on the left (top and bottom) and literally kick the doors open.
I did report the door incident, but the young lady seemed to either not believe us or not believe that we were shouting for her. She said that that ‘couldn't happen’.
If this happened in an emergency situation it could be fatal.

ManagementResponse

Dear Dawn, Thank you so much for your review, and thank you for staying with us. Room 3, the family room is a lovely room with 1 double bed and 2 singles, you are quite right that 1 of the beds is a bit narrower, but we do advertise this as a child's bed. the room is only suppose to sleep 3 adults, 2 in the double and 1 in the full size single so we are sorry you didn't sleep well but it is advertised like that for a reason. With regards to the extractor fan, this is simply not true, extractor fans will struggle with 3 people having a shower in 15 mins. The marks on the paint work you referred to in the bathroom are because we had a leak in the chimney in May which we had fixed in June. I haven't been able to paint it yet due to how busy the room has been. (I don't want customers going into a room with wet paint) We can only apologise for your not being able to get out of the front door with our simple skeleton key and lock system. I have spoken to many guests since and not one person has struggled with it. As for your screaming at the top of your lungs for a member of staff, there is only one member of staff. The owner. and not being able to get hold of me is an exaggeration. You have 2 numbers in your guest information book, which you are told to ring me anytime if you need me. The numbers are also placed by the front door and in the dining room. There is also a bell to use which comes through to my house next door. I'm not sure there is anymore I can do to make myself more accessible to you. The fire door at the back of the house, as you quite rightly said is locked. There is a smash and grab key box right next to the door in case of emergency. The front of the house has very large windows, so if we all needed to get out, we could. All my doors are fire doors and I have a high level fire alarm system, so please do not worry yourself about our fire safety, we have a high safety rating. May I add that, I the young lady (the owner) had to apologise to the rest of my guests once you had left the building after your yelling at me that you couldn't get out of the building and had to kick the doors open (impossible as the doors open inwards) No fewer than 5 guests made complaints about your behaviour the previous day. Kind regards, Katie, The Red House East B&B.

Reviewed by
Dawn H

From Liphook, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a lovely welcoming host and in a good location

Reviewed by
p child

From Cwmbran, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely B&B in a picturesque area
A lovely quiet place. We were given a big family room in this lovely old house, even though there were only 2 of us. The food and hospitality were good. The Cotswolds were new to us, and Bourton on the Water is one of the most attractive villages we have seen. The Windrush fish & chip shop is to be highly recommended too!

Reviewed by
H White

From Newton Abbot, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Location is great, easy walk into village. Very comfortable bed, had a lovely sleep. Tasty breakfast with good choice of hot food. Owner was friendly and helpful. Bathroom wasn't ensuite but close to the room and seemed to be for my exclusive use, so not a problem.

Reviewed by
Sylvia D

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I had a nice clean, room and was very comfortable. Red House is in a quiet area with ample parking. I had to leave very early but the owner kindly got up especially and made some toast. Very kind of him.

Reviewed by
R TATLER

From Belper, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had the attic room and it was lovely only stayed the one night but would stay over again. Full English breakfast. And ten out of ten for the staff warm and friendly.

Reviewed by
Wendy Lee

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Katie was a great host, we where moved to lovely large room, it was our wedding anniversary and she made our stay a enjoyable experience. The house is a lot closer to the centre of the village than we thought and therefore you can leave your car with plenty of room on the Red house car park and stroll into Bourton ( parking there can be difficult at most times of the year ). The full English breakfast we had was excellent and set us up for our journey home. As regular visitors to Bourton we have stayed in many of the local Hotels and B&Bs but this is now our favourite and will definitely return.


Reviewed by
Anthony H

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next