No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Turf Hotel

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Victoria Road, , , Richmond, DL10 4DW
The Turf Hotel is a friendly, family run local hotel based in the heart of Richmond, North Yorkshire. With the Yorkshire Dales National Park, and Coast to Coast walks all on our doorstep, we are able to offer comfortable home from home accommodation, and quality home-made meals. We have two bars to relax and unwind in -offering a wide range of beers, ales, lagers, wines, spirits and soft drinks. Our restaurant has an extensive menu, and is very reasonably priced – we are also not shy with our portions! For visitors wanting to explore the historic town of Richmond, we are perfectly located – The Georgian Theatre is right next door, and both the famous Norman castle and banks of the River Swale are within short walking distance. The Turf Hotel has five light and airy modern and tastefully decorated rooms – guests are also provided with a tasty breakfast. Conveniently located for all local attractions including Richmond Castle, The Georgian Theatre, and the River Swale. Breakfast (staying guests only) Served from: 7.15am – 8.30am (Mon-Sat) 9.00am – 9.45am (Sun) Lunch Served from: 12pm – 2pm (Mon-Sat) 12pm – 3pm (Sun) Evening Meals Served from: 6pm-9pm (Mon-Sat)
Picture of The Turf Hotel, Richmond at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2014 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 8 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
62% recommended this accommodation to a friend 62% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay over Remembrance weekend.
Arrived Friday, Front room overlooking the Remembrance Area, ( Great ).
Room small, but as we were hardly going to be in it, We were happy.
Could do with window in room being double glazed to stop noise coming in all night and early morning, But lets remember it was Remembrance Weekend, so lots of army lads about,
We had something to eat on night we arrived, food nice,
Breakfast, my wife is ill and had a bad morn, so only I had breakfast, very nice.
After Rememberance parade and service we came back for booked Sunday dinner.
Very Nice, by dinner my wife was better, so hungry, She loved DINNER.

Reviewed by
Dennis Gates

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night stay in Richmond
Had 2 rooms booked, staff not sure if they'd been paid for or not, even when we showed email that said they hadn't!
Staff quite brusque on arrival, showed us door to stairs but didn't take to rooms or offer assistance.
Rooms were adequate but could have done with a good clean. Bedcover had a stain ( told by staff it had been cleaned but wouldn't come out), however, sheets and towels were clean.
Breakfast cereals were a very limited choice of small boxed cereals & orange juice to start. No other cereals available as I didn't like any of them (& I'm not a fussy eater) & no other juice available.
Cooked breakfast was supplied without asking what we wanted on the plate, it tasted OK if a little greasy.
There was a football match on the TV in the pub later evening and the noise from the bar was audible in both rooms.
We all enjoyed Richmond and the hotel was adequate to sleep in (if a bit noisy), however, wouldn't choose this accommodation again.

Reviewed by
janis handscombe

From Shefford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service & food - accommodation cramped and basic with a brick wall view but it is old.
There was help carrying our cases upstairs and the food was delicious with a good breakfast included in the price. But - the room was very small with no bedside tables for spectacles or an alarm clock and there was only one parking space. Luckily we were given this space. It is an old building and very well situated for the town centre. We thought it a bit pricey considering the time of year.

Reviewed by
Alan L

From Staines upon Thames, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the turf hotel richmond yorkshire
had a lovely stay at the turf hotel the food was fabulous the staff were great

Reviewed by
Robert Smith

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Turf Hotel Excellent value for money
My wife & I picked the Turf at random for a single night stay to break our journey, in Richmond, en route from Glasgow to London. We booked an en-suite bedroom as what was a very reasonable price. The room was comfortable & clean though the plumbing was a bit 'tired' and really could do with some attention. The hot water tap wasn't working properly and the shower was poor, whilst the toilet was hard work to flush until you got used to it ! All staff were courteous and helpful and the quality of the breakfast was certainly excellent and of very generous proportions. . We were warned that there might be some late noise from the Saturday night disco which didn't finish until 1.00am but to be honest, it was barely audible and didn't affect us. We were certainly happy with what we got for the price paid and we would certainly return.Just sort out that plumbing please!

Reviewed by
Jim M

From St Albans, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gem in Richmond
Second time staying at The Turf and both times have been looked after brilliantly. Bar staff and owners are lovely, food is wonderful and lots of it and there is a great atmosphere at night.
Will be staying again this month and for future breaks.

Reviewed by
Sara T

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surf and Turf
I can't properly review the Turf Hotel as they cancelled on me on the day I was due to arrive with my partner. This when we were at a wedding on the lunchtime, leaving us a scramble to find new accommodation! They were apologetic, but then tried to blame LateRooms, saying they'd tried to get in touch a week before and they were fully booked. Very poor. We did quickly find somewhere else, fortunately.

Reviewed by
S Arnold

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the room was fine, clean plenty of tea and coffee, a little noise from the bar below when closing, breakfast was plentiful, and good, for the money very good value.

Reviewed by
john M

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.