The Turf Hotel

3

Victoria Road, ,, Richmond, DL10 4DW

Price From 145 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (9)

67% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • R Hoyland

  • May 2015

Parking

No parking at hotel, not mentioned on hotel write up as far as I could see.

OK though if arrive after 6 pm and leave before 8 am as parking is free.

  • Dennis Gates

  • November 2014

Stay over Remembrance weekend.

Arrived Friday, Front room overlooking the Remembrance Area, ( Great ).

Room small, but as we were hardly going to be in it, We were happy. Could do with window in room being double glazed to stop noise coming in all night and early morning, But lets remember it was Remembrance Weekend, so lots of army lads about,

We had something to eat on night we arrived, food nice,

Breakfast, my wife is ill and had a bad morn, so only I had breakfast, very nice. After Rememberance parade and service we came back for booked Sunday dinner. Very Nice, by dinner my wife was better, so hungry, She loved DINNER.

  • Alan L

  • September 2014

Excellent service & food - accommodation cramped and basic with a brick wall view but it is old.

There was help carrying our cases upstairs and the food was delicious with a good breakfast included in the price.

But - the room was very small with no bedside tables for spectacles or an alarm clock and there was only one parking space. Luckily we were given this space. It is an old building and very well situated for the town centre. We thought it a bit pricey considering the time of year.

  • janis handscombe

  • September 2014

one night stay in Richmond

Had 2 rooms booked, staff not sure if they'd been paid for or not, even when we showed email that said they hadn't.

Staff quite brusque on arrival, showed us door to stairs but didn't take to rooms or offer assistance. Rooms were adequate but could have done with a good clean. Bedcover had a stain ( told by staff it had been cleaned but wouldn't come out), however, sheets and towels were clean. Breakfast cereals were a very limited choice of small boxed cereals & orange juice to start. No other cereals available as I didn't like any of them (& I'm not a fussy eater) & no other juice available.

Cooked breakfast was supplied without asking what we wanted on the plate, it tasted OK if a little greasy. There was a football match on the TV in the pub later evening and the noise from the bar was audible in both rooms. We all enjoyed Richmond and the hotel was adequate to sleep in (if a bit noisy), however, wouldn't choose this accommodation again.

  • Robert Smith

  • September 2014

the turf hotel richmond yorkshire

had a lovely stay at the turf hotel the food was fabulous the staff were great

  • Jim M

  • June 2014

The Turf Hotel Excellent value for money

My wife & I picked the Turf at random for a single night stay to break our journey, in Richmond, en route from Glasgow to London.

We booked an en-suite bedroom as what was a very reasonable price. The room was comfortable & clean though the plumbing was a bit 'tired' and really could do with some attention. The hot water tap wasn't working properly and the shower was poor, whilst the toilet was hard work to flush until you got used to it . All staff were courteous and helpful and the quality of the breakfast was certainly excellent and of very generous proportions. . We were warned that there might be some late noise from the Saturday night disco which didn't finish until 1.00am but to be honest, it was barely audible and didn't affect us. We were certainly happy with what we got for the price paid and we would certainly return.Just sort out that plumbing please!

  • S Arnold

  • May 2014

Surf and Turf

I can't properly review the Turf Hotel as they cancelled on me on the day I was due to arrive with my partner.

This when we were at a wedding on the lunchtime, leaving us a scramble to find new accommodation. They were apologetic, but then tried to blame LateRooms, saying they'd tried to get in touch a week before and they were fully booked. Very poor. We did quickly find somewhere else, fortunately.

  • Sara T

  • May 2014

Gem in Richmond

Second time staying at The Turf and both times have been looked after brilliantly.

Bar staff and owners are lovely, food is wonderful and lots of it and there is a great atmosphere at night.

Will be staying again this month and for future breaks.

  • john M

  • April 2014

the room was fine, clean plenty of tea and coffee, a little noise from the bar below when closing, breakfast was plentiful, and good, for the money very good value.