No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Clarion Collection Cromwell Stevenage

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
27 HIGH STREETOLD TOWN, STEVENAGE, SG1 3AZ
Clarion Collection Hotel Cromwell Stevenage was long ago converted from a farmhouse which was once home to John Thurloe, secretary to Oliver Cromwell. This attractive hotel in Stevenage town centre boasts a stylish decor that perfectly compliments the character still in evidence from its former times. Nestled in the heart of the old town, it offers a fitting base for both business and leisure travellers seeking comfortable hotel accommodation in Stevenage.

Clarion Collection Hotel Cromwell Stevenage is conveniently located close to the A1 if you are driving into Stevenage, and central London is quickly reached from Stevenage Station, which is only 1 mile from the hotel. There is a regular service to London Kings Cross with a journey time of just 27 minute.

Clarion Collection Hotel Cromwell Stevenage offers 76 tasteful rooms including some with four-poster beds, and all include flat screen TV’s with Freeview, free WiFi, trouser press, tea & coffee making facilities, hairdryer and 24hr room service. Discounted leisure passes are available to all guests for just £5.00 per person, per entry at the nearby David Lloyd leisure centre.
Picture of Clarion Collection Cromwell Stevenage, STEVENAGE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2014 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
63% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I found the Cromwell hotel to be a very well managed spotless hotel, staff were friendly, helpful and I would definitely stay again. I only had breakfast but there was a large selection including cooked breakfast.

Reviewed by
P Collings

From BOOTLE, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Furnishings were tired and needing some tlc.

Reviewed by
B Richardson

From St Austell, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant, almost perfect one night stay, pity we had to move on.
Toilet flush needed coaxing. Top marks to Staff who thanked us for reporting and made provision for repair next day. Otherwise perfect - would certainly stay again and recommend to others.

Reviewed by
Donald S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room for the money. Only comment was room was too warm due to the weather.

Reviewed by
R Creegan

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall okay, but abit shabby in places
Room was decent and clean. Staff were pleasant. No issues checking in or out. Some areas could do with a bit of TLC as were a touch shabby, eg bar seating worn/holey, peeling wall paper, thread bare carpet. Pretty building from front. Some good character inside, such as main staircase and function rooms with wood panelling and bar fireplaces etc. Good location. Bar nice to chill in before going out/when coming back. However if in room at front get a lot of noise from street due to the single glazing. Was so hot but if you opened the window got a lot of noise from street at night.

Reviewed by
Karen T

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room...no air.
The Cromwell is a nice looking hotel with very friendly staff and we got a nice room for the money.
My real disappointment was that the room had no air conditioning and the windows were bolted shut.
There was no fresh air and the room was stiflingly hot, reception tried to find us a fan but the hotel only had two and both were out. We ended up, after a very uncomfortable night scouring Stevenage to buy a fan which made the second night bearable.
The cooked breakfast was very nice but the coffee from the machine was revolting so we went across the road to cinnabar after breakfast instead. A good price for a couple of nights but I wouldn't stay there again because of the lack of fresh air.....

Reviewed by
J GREEN

From Inverurie, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the accommodation just for one night
I was quite glad to find a room in the needed area for only 50 pounds and with the option of late check in. And it could be value for money if bathroom floor was clean off some trash that was left by the previous guests I suppose. And if clean towels were provided, there was only one shower towel instead of two in the room and it was not washed. As it was already about 1 am we did not bother calling up the reception to ask for towel or for cleaning up our room. In the morning when we were checking out, I told the receptionist the situations about the towels, no apologies were given. It seemed like it is the usual practice. Also the breakfast service should be mentioned. The breakfast does not worth about 20 pounds even though we got it with a discount of 10 pounds, it is still not. The positive thing about the breakfast was that the catering staff there was lovely.

Reviewed by
ZULFIYA A

From Canterbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a great start but got better
This is in a great area with plenty of places to visit if you want a drink or something to eat. My room wasn't great though, situated above the kitchen with the noise of the ventilation being very apparent. On a hot evening and the windows open, this wasn't perfect. I contacted reception and was immediately given another room which was far better. Breakfast was very good with lots of variety. Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Richard P

From West Wickham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fine if you're looking just for a bed with no frills
Basic room, clean enough but lacked any charisma and a little tatty in places. Serves a purpose for basic affordable accommodation

Reviewed by
Nicky G

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night stay
nice comfortable accomodation
We had to ask for an extra bath towel, only one in room
We had to ask for the wifi code, This should be given automatically on arrival.
Not told breakfast times.
Otherwise a nice room and a comfortable stay

Reviewed by
M Clancey

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next