You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Station Tavern


Grosmont, ,, Whitby, YO22 5PA

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (15)

93% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Claire E

  • September 2016

Exactly what we wanted

We stayed for two nights and it was exactly what we wanted.

The staff (tenant owners and employees) were polite and helpful. The food (breakfast and bar meals) were generous and well prepared. They didn't mind what time we wanted to arrive or depart - storing bags while the room was unavailable. The room was in a good condition and newly decorated. Minor downsides were that I would have chosen to put the radiator on if possible (but this was for comfort not need) and tightening up the toilet seat was needed frequently.

  • Linden S

  • August 2016

Perfect for us

We booked the Station Tavern for two nights as we had booked the dining Pullman train on the Saturday evening and wanted a convenient spot for the station without having to drive.

The location for us was perfect, the room was modern and clean with a huge bed, tea and coffee making facilities and very nice en suite. The owners couldn't do enough for us and the breakfast was excellent. Will definitely be going back

  • Mark Morris

  • July 2016

Steam trains, Yorkshire moors, and Whitby

The Station Tavern was an unexpected delight.

It's set right alongside one of the main stations of the North Yorkshire Moors Railway, with historical steam and diesel engines and rolling-stock, and whose main workshops are just on the edge of the village, open to the public in a short walk through a now disused railway tunnel built by Stephenson, and thought to be one of the first such tunnels anywhere in the world. That all sounds as if it is going to be noisy and crowded, but it isn't - Grosmont is a very quiet little village, and the last train rolls through around 6.30 (at night the village was so quiet you could hear a pin drop), the railway enthusiasts add colour, and - as we discovered - this is a great place to use as a base to visit Whitby. Have a huge Yorkshire cooked breakfast at the Station Tavern, take the train to Whitby (around half-an-hour) - the station is right in the centre of town - wander around that famous tourist destination, and take the last train back, in time for a pint of a local Yorkshire beer and then the excellent dinner - how sensible to have a limited menu, and to cook that well - at the Tavern. The first night there I ordered the whitebait starter followed by a main course. When the Whitebait came, the serving was so huge, I hastily cancelled the main course. The room was comfortable, thoughtfully appointed (though a shelf above the sink would be welcome...), and clearly the owner and staff - all genuinely friendly - care about their customers. Food was excellent (and good value), and the bar is a focal point for railway engineers and volunteers coming off work, hikers passing through, and locals. The village has a good local shop (the oldest co-operative still in business in the UK), and for anyone who is a railway enthusiast - and for those who aren't but are stirred by the sound of a steam locomotive whistle and the chug of that locomotive starting - the Tavern sells itself.

  • Donald B

  • October 2015

Steam / Walking Break

Nice Village with friendly people.

Very nostalgic with the steam Trains in close proximity. Lovely area for Walking. Hotel comfy with a warm welcome and very tasty breakfast.

  • Stuart M

  • September 2015

North York Moors

The owners were new to the Station Tavern and possibly still getting to grips with the business.

They were friendly enough but the pricing of drinks and food is far too high for the quality of the establishment. £3.70 per pint for Cameron's Strongarm is unrealistic for a basic village pub. Main meals were around the £10 mark, again a bit on the high side for a basic village pub and portions were very small. Serving a meal in a dish on top of a plate makes the meal look bigger than is. So does filling half the plate with salad. This will not do. Breakfast was better value. The room was OK for a one-night stay, though the bed was dreadful and in dire need of a new mattress. There was unexpectedly no facility to pay by credit/debit card and we had to use up all of our cash to pay the bill.

  • c clare

  • July 2015

Extremely friendly staff, lovely location.

Couldn't have asked for more

  • A Pretlove

  • May 2015

Lovely stay to 'meet the parents'!

Stayed at the station tavern on a short break to meet my boyfriend's parents.

Being a couple of miles outside of whitby the b&b was perfect for us as it was peaceful and away from the hustle and bustle. It was very homely and welcoming and would definitely recommend to others or book if we return to Whitby ourselves.

The steam train opposite is such a lovely thing to have so that was a novelty.

  • Graham B

  • April 2015

New Owners - A Good Start

New owners still getting things sorted (they said) but perfectly acceptable already.

Good value at the price too (£43). Freezing cold outside but a hearty breakfast in front of an open fire was the perfect start to a day on the NYMR - only 50 yards away.

  • D Bowles

  • April 2015

The Station Tavern

Good value for money with excellent service.

  • jayne b

  • January 2015

great for train spotting

Fabulous pub run by a lovely couple the food was excellent and plentiful and the home made chips a were to die for.

Breakfast was plentiful although you did have to order the night before. Or room was clean and functional with plenty of tea and coffee. we will definitely be going back.