No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Station Tavern

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Grosmont, , , Whitby, YO22 5PA
We have one single room with its own bathroom, one double en-suite room and a family en-suite room. Prices start from £43 per room per night. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities and colour television. We can accommodate infants. We have a traditional bar and a separate dining room. Diners can choose to have a meal in the bar, dining room or on the patio area outside the front of the pub and watch the Steam Trains arrive and depart Grosmont Station. Situated in the village of Grosmont, the Station Tavern is ideal for the visitor wishing to take full advantage of the beautiful countryside of the North Yorkshire Moors with many footpaths for the keen walkers to explore the wonderful scenic parts we have in this area. The famous and picturesque fishing port of Whitby is easily reached by the local bus service, Esk Valley train or now the North Yorkshire Moors railway. Grosmont is also the northern terminus for the North Yorkshire Moors Railway, a preserved Steam railway, which travels through some breath taking scenery to reach Pickering some 18 miles away. North Yorkshire Moors Railway have now included some services to Whitby by Steam Train.
Picture of The Station Tavern, Whitby at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2014 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great for train spotting
Fabulous pub run by a lovely couple the food was excellent and plentiful and the home made chips a were to die for. Breakfast was plentiful although you did have to order the night before. Or room was clean and functional with plenty of tea and coffee. we will definitely be going back.

Reviewed by
jayne b

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grosmont
For £25 for a single room, including breakfast, this represented excellent value for money. Walking all day, I just wanted a convenient base for the night, which this provided. This is a traditional pub, which when I was there, was well used by locals. It is failrly basic, but a clean and friendly place. I slept well as I was tired, but probably the mattress may be a bit tired and "springy" for some people. Overall an enjoyable place to stay for the money paid.

Reviewed by
Martin C

From Brough, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little gem
Overall great value for money, the room was clean and basic but had all our needs catered for. The breakfast was outstanding as was the evening meal. Stunning location and ideal for accessing Whitby and the surrounding areas.

Reviewed by
N Stafford

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

they go the extra mile

Reviewed by
m williams

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

birthday break
Booked for my husband and I to celebrate his 60th birthday. Fantastic time there. Warm welcome and excellent food. Will be going bback again

Reviewed by
Annette N

From Ripon, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

station tavern ,whitby.
excellent stay,friendly staff,good room,and great value.

Reviewed by
r proud

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we booked the night before we were going.
I'll start with the bad bit. We were told by late rooms that this hotel was in the center of Whitby. It wasn't and was in a remote village called Grosmont. We had an absolutely fantastic stay. Grosmont has a steam railway only 10 steps away and is like stepping back into a bygone era. Our children all of whom are in their late teens loved their stay. We arrived ay 12 oclock and went straight to the station and caught the steam train I to Whitby. We returned to Grosmont on the last train at 6 oclock. We decided to eat in the hotel where the food was simple but delicious. The staff in this hotel were awesome and very attentive. I wont tell you this hotel is the most luxurious ,but it was comfortable and it was a top experience that we will remember for a long time. I also ended up doing my ALS ice bucket challenge here ,with the help of Sally and Tom. Thanks guys. Go visit Grosmont !!!!!
. Rich ,Julie ,Aaron ,Brad ,and Taryn Hodgkins. From Essex... 10/10.

Reviewed by
richard hodgkins

From Halstead, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Away day to visit steam railway.
The hotel was ideally situated near the north Yorkshire Moors Railway. Parking was on-site. The room was very nice for 3 adults, clean and tidy. We ate our evening meal at the hotel where unfortunately they had ran out of our first choice, our second choice was still nice food, very friendly bar staff and good service, we left our order for a cooked breakfast before retiring. Breakfast was served soon after we arrived in the breakfast room. The manager allowed us to leave our car on-site whilst we explored the railway for the day.

Reviewed by
G B

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic place to stay
Fantastic place to stay whether you like Steam Engines or not.
Lovely Walks in Nature

Reviewed by
Carl F

From Dewsbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

breakfast and service 1st class if there was a 7 you would have got it...
i understand you get what u pay for but 43GBP propably to much....will be back.

Reviewed by
John Wright

From Prescot, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next