No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Himley Country Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
HIMLEY COUNTRY HOTEL, SCHOOL ROAD , DUDLEY, DY3 4LG
This former 19th-century schoolhouse has been converted into a comfortable hotel with a friendly atmosphere. Himley Country Hotel is located on the Shropshire border, on the edge of Dudley.

The old school room has been extended, and now houses a popular conservatory restaurant. The hotel has quiet bedrooms and a peaceful setting, in an ideal location from which to explore the beauty of the Staffordshire countryside. Please note that the hotel has no elevator

Location
This hotel is located in Dudley (Himley), close to Himley Hall and Park and the Crooked House. Area attractions also include the West Midlands Safari Park, Black Country Museum and Dudley Zoo and Castle.

Hotel Features
In addition to a restaurant, Himley Country Hotel features a bar/lounge. We also offer complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel and BT Sport in the bar

Room Amenities
Guestrooms have complimentary wireless Internet access, climate control, and coffee/tea making facilities; rooms also include desks and direct-dial phones.

Picture of Himley Country Hotel, DUDLEY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2014 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 44 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant value!
I was a bit apprehensive about staying here as some reviews aren't great but I really like this hotel. It isn't ultra modern but it is very clean, tidy and welcoming. In terms of value for money it is brilliant and I will be staying here on a very regular basis now. Can't comment on food as didn't have any but I will try at some point.

Reviewed by
P Taylor

From Smethwick, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad for the price but not may amenities around
I purposely booked a double room but got twin beds, for a big tall person this was poor. They were unable to find me a double bed, so I did not sleep well at all on single bed, no offer of compensation. Water was too hot unable to control temperature, risk of scalding, mould around sides of bath & main bathroom light did not work, Toilet seat kept banging on the wall, tea/coffee cups were dirty too. Towel and beds were clean, room was clean and tidy but not as pictures on website.

Reviewed by
T Sharif

From Rochdale, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value for Money
This is a traditional hotel, rather than a modern chain. It was clean and tidy with traditional decor. There was tea/coffee in the room. The bathroom was dated but fully functional. The carpark was large and watched by cameras, and the staff were friendly. It was busy when I stayed with a lot of business travellers. I would stay there again.

Reviewed by
Mark H

From Kilwinning, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One of the best Hotels
Superb hotel, out in the country, what more could you ask for.
The Hotel is clean and friendly staff.
The Breakfast was all cooked fresh and what a lot to choose from.
This is a Hotel we shall return to
Well done to all the staff for making our stay 1st class
John & Linda

Reviewed by
john silver

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

on the whole good
we were going to each in the bar but found the young lad on the bar very miserable and ignorant so we got a taxi into Bromsgrove,the girl at breakfast made up for him as she was really pleasant and made us very welcome.

Reviewed by
d norris

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff were friendly and helpful and were quick to respond when there was a problem. Everything was great, I just felt that the room could have been a little cleaner especially round the edges of the carpet, and the wallpaper peeling off the wall didn't look very nice.

Reviewed by
K Willats

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I night stay
Second time stayed here. Good value for money but breakfast over priced if you book online
Would stay again

Reviewed by
Robert P

From Benfleet, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the best shower in Britain 8-}
Gotta say the best shower in Britain. Staff seemed to like to make you wait and not all that attentive. Cleaning staff friendly and efficient. Decor could do with a spruce up. Location nice and quiet, shame the gardens were so neglected.

Reviewed by
s williams

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed!
Sadly a very large unit with noisy fans is situated just outside the window of the room I was in.
The shower cubicle had paint peeling off the tiles and quite a lot of black mould.
The very hot towel rail is so close to the toilet that it is imposible to sit and not get burned.

Reviewed by
David P

From Newmarket, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Midlands visit
Great spot with 2other choices to eat out within walking distance
Our room wasn't ready on arrival although check in time was stated as 1400 , we arrived at 13.55 so yes 5minutes early , but rooms still being cleaned
On arrival to room , had to search for cleaner as no loo rolls in room
Hotel is tired and in need of refurb but for £30 is good value for money
Don't book breakfast on line as they give you a half price voucher on check in
Breakfast was very good

Reviewed by
J Tillsley

From Bangor, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next