No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Himley Country Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
HIMLEY COUNTRY HOTEL, SCHOOL ROAD , DUDLEY, DY3 4LG
This former 19th-century schoolhouse has been converted into a comfortable hotel with a friendly atmosphere. Himley Country Hotel is located on the Shropshire border, on the edge of Dudley.

The old school room has been extended, and now houses a popular conservatory restaurant. The hotel has quiet bedrooms and a peaceful setting, in an ideal location from which to explore the beauty of the Staffordshire countryside. Please note that the hotel has no elevator

Location
This hotel is located in Dudley (Himley), close to Himley Hall and Park and the Crooked House. Area attractions also include the West Midlands Safari Park, Black Country Museum and Dudley Zoo and Castle.

Hotel Features
In addition to a restaurant, Himley Country Hotel features a bar/lounge. We also offer complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel and BT Sport in the bar

Room Amenities
Guestrooms have complimentary wireless Internet access, climate control, and coffee/tea making facilities; rooms also include desks and direct-dial phones.

Picture of Himley Country Hotel, DUDLEY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2014 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 62 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Late Booking
Value for money, good sized room, but needs some updating.

Reviewed by
Adrian M

From Ilkeston, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Staff- but needs a spruce up
Positives- The staff were friendly and helpful, the food was very nice. of a good quality and reasonably priced.
Negatives- The room was a bit musty, wallpaper was hanging off on one wall. The rest of the hotel, although clean needed a fresh lick of paint and modernising. Great potential but everything seemed tired and worn

Reviewed by
Christopher Laycock

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reasonable for the money.
Overall not to bad for the money, cheap and cheerful. Place has bottomed out and things are surely going to get better but for £30 what do you expect. Always a sign things aren't the greatest when you have a car park full of white vans, but would still stop again if I were looking for cheap accommodation.

Reviewed by
john w

From wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for
It's cheap for a reason. Room in need of refurbishment, as an added extra I got to use the last residents wet towel and dirty cup which had not been changed.

Reviewed by
P Taylor

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Late booking
Value for money and good location. Rooms really need to have some investment to update facilities.

Reviewed by
Adrian M

From Ilkeston, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired but Great Value
I work in wolves during the week and have been staying at this hotel now for a few months. All in all I'm very happy with the facilities considering the price. The rooms are a bit pot luck with every one I've stayed in slightly different. In general they are spacious and well equipped. The decor is dated and some of the bathrooms could do with tidying up. That said the cleaners always do a good job.
As a business traveller I find the free WiFi to be terribly slow and unreliable but for occasional briefing I'm sure it's fine. A wifi dongle and data plan is still cheaper than changing hotels.
The hotel staff have always been very friendly. I've not ventured into the bar area though and my one meal in the restaurant was disappointing so won't be going there (you can have your steak any way you like as long as it's well done).
Overall though I think it's great value for money and good service which is why I keep coming back. Yes it's basic, but it's also a bargain basement price too. Even the cheap chain hotels can be almost double the price per night. They must be doing something right as the hotel car park is quite full most nights.

Reviewed by
Martin C

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel. Coming back next week. Prices are amazing

Reviewed by
A Chumber

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Himley Country Hotel
OK for the money. Rooms a bit tired, but big and clean.

Reviewed by
Henry C

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just needed to stay over last minute for one night, good clean rooms and excellent value for money with free parking

Reviewed by
M R

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awful start to the New Year
Diabolical customer relations and an insulting dining experience, avoid this hotel.

Reviewed by
Kevin S

From Cannock, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next