Reviews - Himley Country Hotel



Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (110)

68% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • David S

  • October 2015

You get what you pay for!

It will be easier to start with the positives.

A comfortable bed and I slept very well. I got the room for £27 which seemed a good price when I booked. Also the local pub - the Dudley Arms- does a cracking carvery. Otherwise it's all pretty negative I'm afraid. Everything feels old and neglected from the moment you negotiate the pot-holed entrance to the car park. The shower had two temperature options - cold or scalding. The carpet was threadbare. I could go on but in summary this hotel desperately needs some investment. The £27 price didn't feel like good value when compared to the budget hotel chains that tend to be a bit more expensive but far better quality.

  • Anthony Cross

  • October 2015

Cheap and to the point

Travelled to the West Midlands for a family funeral, and just needed somewhere to lay our heads the night before.

The room was a decent size and clean and fresh, tea and coffee in room were fine, but we did have an extra bed in the room (single) that was in the way of the dressing table and made room feel a little congested, but other than that not too bad, other than the mattress on the main bed was very saggy in the middle and we both tended to roll in to the middle so did suffer with a bit of a sore back in the morning but at £39 hey ho what can you expect. The staff we had contact with were friendly and helpful also the wifi mentioned by other reviews did work at the far end of the hotel from the bar and reception area even if it was a little slow. Would we use again. Possible if funds were low but you get what you pay for so for the price I can only recommend it and if you are not happy then best go and pay a lot more elsewhere

  • A Windsor

  • September 2015

Tired and dated

Ok for a chep one night stay but the hotel was tired and dated

with polystyrene tiles on the bedroom ceiling dated bathroom and

wall heaters that didn't work reception staff we're nice but the staff

In the restaurant we're igronant laughing and joking among themselves

whilst we were sat waiting to be served

  • j frost

  • September 2015

Good budget hotel

Basic but for the price very good indeed.

  • J Gray

  • September 2015

Himley Country Hotel

Room was nice and big but bathroom was disappointing, needed some TLC.

Breakfast was excellent and for £5 was very good value. Would stay again.

  • Gemma T

  • September 2015


Easy cheap stay.

All staff I had contact with were lovely. Bedroom was acceptable, it's quite dated and the beds aren't particularly comfortable, can feel all the springs. There was an open packet of sweets in one of the drawers. The bathroom is very old and needed a thorough deep clean. Whilst the shower had a good pressure, it was very hot and impossible to change.

Ok for a cheap easy stay in a pinch.

  • L Wood

  • August 2015

Excellent value for money hotel

Comfortable, clean, no frills, value for money hotel.

We use it for a couple of nights when we come to the area to visit our daughter and cannot fault it for the amount we pay. Much better value than any other hotel we have stayed in in this area.

  • john beatty

  • August 2015

We have stayed here several times and it suits us.

Visiting relatives in the area it is handy.Two or three times found the plumbing a bit dodgy,ie,the shower control difficult to shut off(twice) and toilet flush lever non functional resulting lifting the lid and working from inside the cysteine.Did report at desk.

  • Keith G

  • August 2015

Tired but Good Value

We were expecting the worse when we read other peoples reviews, so were pleasantly surprised when we checked in.

OK the place is tired and needs some money spent on it to bring it up to date. However we paid £37.00 on line for a double/bed and breakfast, which is amazing value for money. The service was good, the accommodation clean and comfortable. Clean linen and towels and the room fully appointed..

First impressions not so good as the drive I believe may be a prototype for the Land-Rover experience, and a few flowers at the Entrance would not go amiss

Bottom line, would we go back. Yes of course at it is a good location and we can manage without a porter service.

  • S Pewsey

  • July 2015

Staff lovely

The staff were brilliant, we felt the room was very dated, we had a spring poking out in the bed but the air was cool and it was quiet.

Would def stay again!.