You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Himley Country Hotel

3

Himley Country Hotel, School Road, Dudley, DY3 4LG

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (155)

62% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Linda G

  • July 2016

Typical budget hotel

The staff were friendly and welcoming, and check in was efficient.

The room was large and clean, but the bathroom could do with a little TLC. Breakfast was buffet style, however on the morning we stayed the staff seemed to be under pressure, consequently we had to wait for food to be cooked. Which wasn't a problem for us, but did cause anxiety amongst other guests who had a timescale to keep to. In general the accommodation was no more or less that what we expected.

  • Bradlee Jeffries

  • July 2016

Embarrassing

I have stayed at this hotel a few times but on this occasion it was by far the worst experience ........

When arriving at the hotel with my girlfriend I was advised at the reception infront of many people that my card had been declined when booking, I kindly explained to the gentlemen there was more than enough to pay for my stay (which I proved by showing him my account balance). I did not understand why my card had been declined, after he tried multiple times he asked again am I sure there is enough funds to pay for my stay which was very embarrassing and not very professional especially after I had shown him. It was then I who figured out the gentlemen was entering my card details in wrong and finally gave him the solution to the problem. After all this I did NOT receive an apology for the embarrassing occurrence and then was greeted with a dirty room filled with dead/alive flies, The pictures have clearly been edited because from what I have seen these are far from how the rooms look.

  • Bradlee Jeffries

  • July 2016

Broken shower & toilet

Stayed in this hotel a few times because its cheap and cheerful......

well the last few rooms have been. This time round I had a shower that wouldn't turn off and a toilet that didn't flush because the handle was broken, apart from that everything else was ok

  • A Broom

  • July 2016

Himley Country Hotel

Had a very nice stay room was warm but nothing a fan wouldn't of sorted out

  • J Duff

  • July 2016

A week at Himley

The hotel has at one time been a very high standard but id now looking rather tired.

The lobby carpets were once grand and in many places still are but in many places have been replaced by a cheap blue carpet which in turn now needs replaced. in one of the lobby sections near my room there was an unpleasant odour and the emergency exit was permanently open to air the section. In my room there was a tap which constantly dribbled annoyingly especially when trying to sleep, this was reported to the desk but nothing was done about it. The food was good although one night the restaurant was closed as the chef was ill.

  • Bradlee Jeffries

  • July 2016

Family Room

For my first time staying at this hotel I booked the family room for 2 nights

The room was clean, spacious and very quiet the only downsides to this room is the bathroom extractor fan was broken so after showering it was like walking out of a sauna room and also none of the heating worked

  • Jess Riley

  • July 2016

-

I stay at this hotel quite frequently with my partner as he lives in Liverpool, myself living locally.

But a few rooms we have stayed in have been quite disappointing. The photos of the hotel are quite misleading, other than the odd one or two. Most recent room I booked for us to stay in was very nice, but unfortunately what let it down was the broken bed on one side which made sleep very uncomfortable. The heating in the room wasn't working so it was very cold for the night, there was dead flies on the window sill too which wasn't very pleasant. Me and my partner also noticed the walls were stained, which don't get me wrong it didn't affect the stay at all but it just triggers the cleanliness sector. Lastly, the building itself needs a refurbishment, as walking down the corridors there seems to be a foul damp smell. Its certainly not a luxury hotel at all, but it is somewhere to sleep for the night.

  • karen g

  • July 2016

grim but cheap

Staff very friendly service faultless , room tired and had to clean remote for tv before i wanted to touch it .

Taps were hard to use and stairs to rooms are very steep so care required for carrying luggage and children. Room bit grim but reflected in price so ok for breaking journey . room was quiet .

  • paul b

  • July 2016

good value, BUT

lost my booking so had to wait for a room to be got ready, then no toiletries in the bathroom.

The only good thing was the gentleman on Reception, a credit to this hotel.

  • Tim S

  • June 2016

Himley Country Hotel

Certainly not a luxury hotel but the current management are gradually updating and improving it.

this is the second time we have stayed here and we would gladly repeat the experience on the basis that they give clean comfortable accomodation at very good value prices. If you are looking for 5star luxury with all the trimmings - forget it. If on the other hand, you want reasonable comfort and somewhere to put your head down, thiis is tops.