No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Himley Country Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
HIMLEY COUNTRY HOTEL, SCHOOL ROAD , DUDLEY, DY3 4LG
This former 19th-century schoolhouse has been converted into a comfortable hotel with a friendly atmosphere. Himley Country Hotel is located on the Shropshire border, on the edge of Dudley.

The old school room has been extended, and now houses a popular conservatory restaurant. The hotel has quiet bedrooms and a peaceful setting, in an ideal location from which to explore the beauty of the Staffordshire countryside. Please note that the hotel has no elevator

Location
This hotel is located in Dudley (Himley), close to Himley Hall and Park and the Crooked House. Area attractions also include the West Midlands Safari Park, Black Country Museum and Dudley Zoo and Castle.

Hotel Features
In addition to a restaurant, Himley Country Hotel features a bar/lounge. We also offer complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel and BT Sport in the bar

Room Amenities
Guestrooms have complimentary wireless Internet access, climate control, and coffee/tea making facilities; rooms also include desks and direct-dial phones.

Picture of Himley Country Hotel, DUDLEY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2014 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 34 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice but needed a good clean
The room was surprisingly nice for the price, but the bath was dirty, there were bottle tops on the floor and cellophane behind the drawers. Staff were pleasant, but there was no change available for the snack machine. Lots of parking.

Reviewed by
L Jones

From Matlock, England
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room 102 shower did not work and as pensioners could not use the bath, very disappointing.
Breakfast good, especially the fried mushrooms, normally we get tinned button mushrooms so 10/10 for those. Toast disappointing, had to queue up for it instead of it being brought to the table by a waitress also had to queue for tea/coffee, would have preferred the waitress to come to our table and ask us what we would like and bring us a pot etc. Other than that the breakfast choice was very good. Would recommend it. The blond receptionist on duty on Friday afternoon 26 Sept could have managed a smile on our arrival, very serious. The duvets were too thin, had to put a coat over our legs, they were summer duvets.

Reviewed by
David Jelley

From Nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent customer service, facilities a bit 'tired'
The staff at this hotel are generally really friendly and helpful, and dealt with a booking mix-up professionally and pragmatically. The breakfast was also superb.
On the downside, the décor of the room was old-fashioned and tired, with a coloured bathroom suite and a pervading smell of damp. We were also disappointed that despite arriving 15 minutes before last food orders, we were told we could only choose from 3 things on the menu, none of which we particularly fancied.
Overall, though it did represent value for money at a 37% discount, although I would have been disappointed if we had paid full price.

Reviewed by
Sue F

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good value
The hotel has an unpromising exterior with its potholed drive but once inside the room was a good size, comfortable, with all the basics and plenty of storage space. It is off the main road so it's quiet which is a real bonus. There's also ample free car parking and free wifi. Cleanliness is a minor issue but a bit more attention to detail in the bathroom would make all the difference. I'd be happy to stay again especially for the price.

Reviewed by
Margaret R

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value room and breakfast
twin bed a wee bit lumpy but slept ok -room nice and roomy and quiet despite many functions going on in the hotel. New TV good picture and hot shower . Good breakfast.

Reviewed by
catherine b

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely quiet room

Reviewed by
S Smith

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Somewhere to lay your head!
Not bad for value for money! Could do with updating! Restaurant bit poor but ok.

Reviewed by
T Martin

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel Review
Can't be beaten for value for money. The location is good, as it's easy to find and quiet too. There's a good-sized car park. Tip - book breakfast when you get there, it's half the price of booking online!

Reviewed by
Jane M

From Ulverston, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

welcoming stay
The hotel staff were very pleasant, the room was very good quality for the money, overall a pleasant stay, would stay again.

Reviewed by
M Kelly

From Stourbridge, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely village location, comfortable and very quiet room. Would happily stay again, very good value.
We only had one meal, but it was very good. Decor a little tired in places, but perfectly acceptable and very clean.

Reviewed by
a fitzhugh

From Arbroath, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next