No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Pen Mill Hotel

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Sherborne Road, , , Yeovil, BA21 5DB
The hotel has been under the same ownership for the past 10 years and have transformed the business from a live music venue to one of Yeovil's most popular eating venues serving quality homemade, locally supplied food and premium quality drinks. In February 2014 an almost £200,000 refurbishment of the hotel rooms took place bringing the rooms from distinctly average to a level far beyond the local average, indeed, far beyond the national average for hotel rooms! All rooms now boast Hand Made British ‘Healthcare’ Bed, our Deluxe Superior room also benefits from a top quality Hand Made Cornish Brass Bed Stead, this all stands on luxury world famous Axminster Carpets (we're 28 miles from Axminster, Devon). You can lay back and relax to watch 32” Panasonic ‘Smart’ TV’s with Freeview. Free of charge WiFi is always available throughout the hotel, bar and restaurant powered by BT Infinity (fibre-optic broadband). Even the colours on the wall were carefully chosen by a professional interior designer who also chose the quality furniture in all of the rooms. We left nothing to chance. As well as new fixtures and fitting in the rooms, ALL rooms now host a luxury en-suite, all with quality British Mira pumped showers to unwind in at the end of the day or wake you up from a fantastic nights sleep. All of our front facing rooms have also been fitted with high quality secondary glazing units (we can’t have double glazing as we’re a historic Grade 2 Listed Building), these units virtually cut out all noise from the outside. There's a fantastic Somerset Breakfast Menu, included in the price! Want more? How about a FREE of CHARGE car park with over fifty spaces. On Sundays we serve a fantastic Somerset Carvery, Yeovil’s most popular! With three local meats and locally supplied produce, this is something that would be hard to beat, anywhere! With great vegetarian options and an alternative menu to choose from, this is why we are one of Yeovil's favourite destinations.
Picture of Pen Mill Hotel, Yeovil at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2014 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good nice clean room good service at times due to staff shortage
would stay again although there seemed to be a staff shortage which was obvious although the food was good some aspects of the food was not of that good quality some over cooking which left a chicken meal we had very dry and don't think serving medium rare steak on a wooden platter was very good idea think good breeding ground for bacteria.

ManagementResponse

It is with great concern that I read your review and the negativity you have portrayed about the Pen Mill. I can safely say this is in stark contrast to previous reviews by LateRooms customer's and indeed Trip Advisor customer's! It is of great annoyance to not only myself but fellow hoteliers that people choose to air their opinions online rather than bringing these matters to our attention at the time, it is practically impossible to agree or disagree with you almost a week after you have stayed! But I'll try! You mention a staff shortage, we had no staff shortage during your stay, I will say that we were busy over the weekend of your stay but our staff are all trained to the highest level to cope with this, ensuring that customer service levels do not drop. You mention an over cooked chicken dish however as I said earlier we need to be told at the time and not a week later. You would have been checked on at least once during you meal and if all was good with your meal when clearing you plates but, nothing was bought to our attention! With regards to your medium rare steak on a wooden board. Firstly let me point out that since the introduction of the 5* hygiene rating we have gained the maximum score of 5* on all occasions, the last one being back on the 26th June 2014. Our meat comes from a 5* rated supplier, who is local and uses only local farms for his beef. Our boards we use are not pieces of wood from a local DIY store but bought from reputable catering suppliers who treat the items for food use. These are indeed used around the world. The title of your review is 'Good nice clean room' but you mark our room rating down as just '1' along with our cleanliness!!!!! Cleanliness is a very important issue for everyone and a '1' I would say equals a squalid, filthy flea pit but you started your review by saying you would stay again! I am upset that we did not meet your expectations but I think for the money you have paid, you would struggle to find anywhere, better value for money however, this is obviously my own biased opinion but I would challenge you to find better value for money not only around Yeovil but indeed nationally! All in all I have to say that your review does not really add up but if you would like to contact me to discuss the matter further I would be more than happy to do so. Kindest regards, Jon Palmer, Owner

Reviewed by
a smith

From Barnetby, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You won't be disappointed
My wife and I stayed at the Pen Mill for only one night over the August Bank Holiday. Whilst the hotel is not modern it is very well appointed and the Management and staff are friendly and helpful and take a pride in what they can offer. The hotel has recently had extensive upgrading works done to its rooms and we found our room to be very comfortable and with everything we needed even to the extent of the free Wi fi. The only thing it lacked was air conditioning.
We took the opportunity to eat in at the hotel restaurant on the evening we stayed and each had a very good filling, and keenly priced meal.
As others have said the morning breakfast is plentiful and cooked to order. You will have a choice of a full English (Somerset) breakfast or a breakdown of whatever you think you can manage. Juice, cereals, toast and jams are also available if you want it.
One more thing I would add is that the Real Ale available at the bar is kept really well. :-)
Are only disappointment was that we couldn't stay longer. We are trying to think of another excuse visit again.

Reviewed by
Mike S

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly service and food qualitity was very good.
The bedrooms have been refurbished to a very high standard.
I will be staying here again in the near future

Reviewed by
John Lewis

From Leominster, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful hotel, food and overall stay
We stayed at Pen Mill for 3 nights whilst visiting family. The hotel is wonderfully situated with a lovely frontage and pretty flowers. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the food is wonderful. The rooms are of a lovely standard with good quality bedding and everything you could possibly need . I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel.

Reviewed by
S Meyrick

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation
Spotlessly clean, very comfortable bed. Interior of property has been fully refurbished recently so first class.

Reviewed by
Christian Sharland

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel!
Excellent hotel and very friendly staff. Good food for dinner and breakfast. Busy road out front so it was a little noisy in the room at night.

Reviewed by
Gregory Coulthard

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Almost there!
The Pen Mill is not located in the nicest of areas although looks like it is an area which is improving. It is a lovely old building right on a main road. It is beside the railway station so easy to find & get to. It would be easy to be over critical of some details of the fabric of the building. The outside window sills have peeling paint & clearly some of the furniture in the public areas has seen life, but that would be missing the point. I am guessing that this is not a hotel owned by a rich hotel chain. As far as I could surmise it is a lovely old building which has been taken on by a private couple who have probably saved it from eventual demolition & re-development. They appear to have & continue to improve the place as funds allow. Don't get me wrong, the hotel does not seem down at heel, it is a nice place to be, it's just that we can get too used to visiting places where everything is brand new or reproduction. The rooms is where they've spent the money. Our room was decorated in eclectic style & was comfortable & well equipped. The only downside, & it was a big downside on the night was that we had a room at the front of the hotel, right on the road. On the night we stayed it was particularly hot & muggy so we couldn't close the window as there is no air conditioning. There is double glazing, so in the winter it would be no problem, but that night we roasted & were kept awake by the traffic. Hopefully in the fullness of time aircon can he installed in the room. In the meantime I suggest booking a room not at the front. The breakfast was very nicely cooked & presented & the attentiveness & pleasantness of the lady serving us was great. We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening as we were attending a function elsewhere, but the pricing seemed reasonable & they were busy with non-residents which is usually a good indicator that the place is popular with locals which is always a good sign. Well done & keep up the great work!

Reviewed by
Mark N

From Dartmouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outstanding Service
Room great, food excellent and service of the highest order!
Even though restaurant was busy - food came up in good time and was very good.
Rain was torrential when I left and though the walk to the Station was 3 mins I would have got drenched.
Not so though - a lift was provided and gratefully accepted.

Reviewed by
Nick P

From Benfleet, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value for Money
There was a very friendly and welcoming greeting by the owner on arrival and the staff were also very polite and extremely helpful. The room was lovely, clean and comfortable with a pleasing simple design and I got a very peaceful nights sleep. My carvery dinner was excellent and plentiful with a delicious cherry crumble for dessert. All in all I had a very pleasant stay that was extremely good value for money.

Reviewed by
donna g

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Personal service with a smile
A simple inquiry by phone resulted in a detailed and most helpful email response from Sarah, I was so impressed. On arrival we were warmly greeted and felt like old friends! Our room was spotlessly clean and had been refurbished earlier this year with enormous attention to detail. Beds were the most comfortable we have ever experienced in hotel accommodation. It was a warm evening and being located on a relatively busy road we chose to close the window overnight, but Jon and Sarah had thoughtfully provided individual room fans. Breakfast was sourced from local produce and was more than enough to keep us going all day, delicious! Whilst we breakfasted we observed a member of staff fastidiously cleaning the carvery counter, reflecting the quality throughout the hotel. If you need to stay in or near Yeovil we would have no hesitation in recommending Penn Mill Hotel.

Reviewed by
Jane S

From Twickenham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next