No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Pen Mill Hotel

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Sherborne Road, , , Yeovil, BA21 5DB
The hotel has been under the same ownership for the past 10 years and have transformed the business from a live music venue to one of Yeovil's most popular eating venues serving quality homemade, locally supplied food and premium quality drinks. In February 2014 an almost £200,000 refurbishment of the hotel rooms took place bringing the rooms from distinctly average to a level far beyond the local average, indeed, far beyond the national average for hotel rooms! All rooms now boast Hand Made British ‘Healthcare’ Bed, our Deluxe Superior room also benefits from a top quality Hand Made Cornish Brass Bed Stead, this all stands on luxury world famous Axminster Carpets (we're 28 miles from Axminster, Devon). You can lay back and relax to watch 32” Panasonic ‘Smart’ TV’s with Freeview. Free of charge WiFi is always available throughout the hotel, bar and restaurant powered by BT Infinity (fibre-optic broadband). Even the colours on the wall were carefully chosen by a professional interior designer who also chose the quality furniture in all of the rooms. We left nothing to chance. As well as new fixtures and fitting in the rooms, ALL rooms now host a luxury en-suite, all with quality British Mira pumped showers to unwind in at the end of the day or wake you up from a fantastic nights sleep. All of our front facing rooms have also been fitted with high quality secondary glazing units (we can’t have double glazing as we’re a historic Grade 2 Listed Building), these units virtually cut out all noise from the outside. There's a fantastic Somerset Breakfast Menu, included in the price! Want more? How about a FREE of CHARGE car park with over fifty spaces. On Sundays we serve a fantastic Somerset Carvery, Yeovil’s most popular! With three local meats and locally supplied produce, this is something that would be hard to beat, anywhere! With great vegetarian options and an alternative menu to choose from, this is why we are one of Yeovil's favourite destinations.
Picture of Pen Mill Hotel, Yeovil at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2014 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room, helpful staff
Down in Yeovil on a business trip. Good room, smarter than I was expecting. Great breakfast. Very helpful staff as I left my dressing gown which was posted back very promptly.Thanks for that
If I was staying again I would make sure I was away from the road side of the hotel but I'm a light sleeper and it was a very late booking so I was glad of the room.

Reviewed by
John Dawson

From Bath, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful and tastefully decorated accomodation
Great staff and customer service at all times, from arrival, to food and finally checking out.
Rooms were decorated to a high standard, with everything you could possibly need.
Great food at dinner and breakfast.
We felt so comfortable and at home we both nearly went down to the bar without shoes on!!

Reviewed by
Jonathan Gill

From Hove, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely weekend break
We had a lovely weekend break at Pen Mill Hotel. The room although at the front was quiet and the black-out curtains were excellent. The bed was comfy and the decor very tastefully done, the shower over bath was great too. Food excellent, a fabulous breakfast with plenty of choice, same as our evening meal. Staff very polite and helpful, we both wished we could have stayed longer.

Reviewed by
Sarah W

From ST.ALBANS, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel, very convenient and excellent service

Reviewed by
Victoria m

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good find
This was a last minute booking with choice made on the basis of other reviews. I was pleasantly surprised by this Pub/Hotel. Staff were very friendly and competent, food was good and the room was decent and clean. I arrived quite late and left quite early so can't comment further. I don't usually have time to write reveiws but in this instance I felt that the good standard deserved recognition. Thank you.

Reviewed by
Stephen D

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice friendly hotel
First stay here as we stay in the area once or twice a year and unless you pay over the odds a good value hotel is hard to find. Staff very friendly food was good and room comfortable. Make sure you say hello to the resident dogs.

Reviewed by
Vincent H

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed- for one night and found the hotel to be clean and refurbished to a high standard. The staff were friendly very helpful and efficient.
We did not eat here due to going out, but checked out the menu and found the variety and prices reasonable.
On previous visits we have stayed at other hotels in the area but from now on we will only be using this hotel availability permitting.

Reviewed by
Donald Brenton

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pen Mill Review

Reviewed by
Roy H

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Good!

Reviewed by
Mark Rigby

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good staff, food spot on and value for money. Rooms average.

Reviewed by
David C

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next