No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Fox Hotel

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Market Pl, , , Chipping Norton, OX7 5DD
Chipping Norton, at 700ft, is the highest town in Oxfordshire and regarded as one of the "Gateways" to the Cotswolds. William Bliss is the town's greatest benefactor. By 1816 he had established the foundation of the town's textile industry using the latest technology of the industrial revolution. After a fire in 1872, the current mill, a prominent landmark today, was erected and through various owners remained in production until its closure in 1980. The mill has now been converted into luxury apartments and leisure facilities. The Fox Hotel boasts two bars: The Locals Bar A vibrant meeting point for the local town folk, where stories are exchanged and gossip told. Soft lighting, oak panelled walls, traditional furniture, lots of trinkets and atmosphere creates the perfect ambience for this busy bar. The Market Place Bar Go on, take a break from the shopping or sight seeing, enjoy a quiet cup of tea or coffee, or one of our many beverages, while taking advantage of the super views of the hustle and bustle of everyday life in this lovely market town. We offer a selection of real ales including Hooky Bitter, guest beers, a choice of country wines and wine by the glass, a full range of spirits, bottled beers and soft drinks as well as tea and coffee.
Picture of Fox Hotel, Chipping Norton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2014 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly service, cozy and well-kept rooms with a good breakfast
The Fox Hotel was exactly what we were looking for. The breakfast was very good with great friendly service. Because it is such an old building the room was small but very charming and cozy (with some exposed beams) and very well kept. Only complaint from my partner was he thought the bed was too soft (though I enjoyed it). The pub downstairs was also very cheerful with a fire going.

Reviewed by
Ryan F

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap, clean, basic, pleasant staff
Good clean room, reasonably comfortable bed, friendly staff.
Surprised that there was no evening food but helpful staff suggested plenty of local options

Reviewed by
A Geddes

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The windows aren't properly fitted and noises from the main street come in easily: the town clock, drunken youths on a Saturday night revel, etc.. Also, the breakfast service was very slow. Otherwise pretty much OK, though unmemorable.

Reviewed by
A Selleri

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room clean and comfortable, could have done with a mirror in the bedroom, only one in the bathroom. Staff friendly and polite.

Reviewed by
kim e

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Character pub. Delicious breakfast.
The Fox is a simple old character pub in an excellent town centre location. My room was beautifully decorated and set out. Tall folks should be aware of the low beam. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there, particularly breakfast!

Reviewed by
Stuart O

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little find with very friendly staff
Just stayed here for one night bed and breakfast. Great pub, hotel and perfect location. Staff very friendly and helpful, even the locals come to think about it.
Accommodation was great real boutique feel in such a wonderful old building, would benefit from a little updating however that didn't spoil our stay and looks like parts are being renovated.
The breakfast was first class, would definitely stay here again, would even visit chipping norton just to stay here

Reviewed by
Andy T

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb value for the money.
After a late booking done online due to a last minute change of plans my wife and myself couldn't have been more pleased. As we entered the premises via the locals bar we were met by the barman who then went to get the owner to confirm our booking, and as this was going on the local drinkers struck up a conversation with us so friendly you could be forgiven in thinking we ourselves were local! If we hadn't have been so tired we would have stayed in the bar to enjoy the great company.
The room itself was clean and had all the facilities you could need with the added bonus of a super comfy bed and pillows. So much so the morning came too soon! Breakfast followed in the same trend, staff couldn't do enough for you and the full English was superb. Both myself and my wife agreed that if we were around the area in future we wouldn't hesitate, in fact would make a point of staying here again and next time arrive much earlier.
Thanks to all concerned and we will be back.
Alan and Sharon.

Reviewed by
Alan Bateman

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hello
Hello

Reviewed by
A Metcalfe

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
Friendly hosts, breakfast excellent, very good value for money. Would use again.

Reviewed by
Steve B

From Ferndown, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

BBrief overnighter in 'chippy'
I booked this accommodation on a wing and a prayer with no idea of position or quality of the venue.
On arrival we were greeted cheerily and helpfully by a jovial landlord - offers of help with our luggage as one of us is a blue badge holder.
The room was clean, bright and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, and the staff were helpful and cordial.
All in all, I was pleased with the whole set-up. We were en route to a motorcycle rally in nearby Stow, so this was just right. Evening meals were not available, but there are plenty of eating places and pubs nearby, so no bother there.
All in all, an enjoyable short stay. Worthy of a second visit when touring the area. Easy reach of most Cotswold attractions. A pleasant market town.

Reviewed by
Geraldine Smedley

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next