You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Contractors INN


Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (16)

31% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Room quality


  • Iain Bancroft

  • March 2016

Take this area home

Could be useful as a spare house for a shared hotel.

  • jean m

  • February 2016

The room we stayed in was dirty, dusty and smelly! It was completely a health&safety hazard!

We would not dream of staying there again and would hope that no one else does either as completely unsafe and can not be called accommodation of any sort.

Completely run down,filthy and definitely not value for money. We had to first of all pick up the keys from location 20min bus ride away, once we got to accommodation there is a very steep set of stairs and a strong smell of cigarette smoke and damp and when we finally arrived in the room we found a crack in the ceiling which water had leaked through,no TV or coffee making facilities and a bed which linen didn't seem clean and duvet was old and smelt of smoke(Once we went into bathroom up another set of steep stairs) it was smelly, cold, mouldy and filthy unlike photos which were shown in description. The mat on the bathroom floor was soaking wet and extremely dirty. All in all I would say not suitable for anyone unless you are a contractor hence the name. If you are not completely avoid at all costs and if you do stay, stay at your own risk as the hazard tape shows which has been placed above stairwell!

  • Daniel C

  • January 2016

Good for money.

What more can you expect for 20 pounds.

Simple room shared toilet. Would not recommend for couples.

  • Ian W

  • December 2015

Not for non smokers nor those who like any thought to be given to the room

This is a room with beds and a bathroom available.

Pros- water is hot. Parking off road. Kettle in room. Wifi. TV. Floor swept. Beds made. £20 per night

Cons- stinks of smoke (chain smoker lives below I guess). Window will not open. Bathroom not clean. Bed sheets unclean (I had to sleep on top of the sheets). Stairs to room are hazardous. Keys must be collected n dropped off over a mile away. Room got cold overnight.

Final comment. - wifi a real bonus as you may not be able to sleep!

  • Paolo F

  • December 2015

think twice

This is avery basic place to crash for one or two nights.

The place is very old, smells very bad, and the bathroom is below borderline. The coffee/tea thing is a joke. Security is also a concern. If you are (literally) a male contractor needing a very basic accommodation, then you *might* consider this, otherwise stay away. Don't even dream of going there if you are a couple, or on a leisure trip. For double this price there are very good inns in the centre. So think twice.

  • S Daly

  • November 2015

Awful smelly hovel

Despite being listed as 'newly refurbished' the room was full of rye stench of smoke, like a block of old flags, and had cracked walls and ceiling.

The window was curtainless and broken in the pane, so that it let in a freezing draft and noise from traffic and fireworks all night. The door didn't quite fit in the frame, so that there was a line of light all around it at night. The shared bathroom was right next to my room on the landing, and the thinness of the walls and door meant I could hear everything when my fellow lodgers used it, meaning I was disturbed in the night. The bathroom had cracked and dirty tiles, a small bath instead of a shower, no soap, and the rug was filthy with what looked like vomit on it.

The room had two double beds, which was great, but also a broken glass cabinet thing that had no shelves, and the light in the top of it had its wires cut. Why it was there, i don't know. It better belonged in a skip.

The main reception where you pick up keys is a mile and a half away at the Clarence hotel. The staff are distracted and quick to get rid of you, and have never answered my multiple emails. I had to ring beforehand to make sure it wasn't a scam.

Never never ever stay here.

  • rachel s

  • October 2015

very cheap room for a weekend stay.

The room was an attic room with very steep stairs leading up to it,as we were in an attic room I was suprised to see that there was no fire escape.

so wont be staying there again.Also the room and bathroom needed a good clean.Finally if you do stay here take coathangers as theres no where to hang clothes.

  • Christopher Mann

  • October 2015

As expected

for £20 what do you expect, the room itself was very basic.

A clean double bed and clean towels, tv and hanging space if needed. The parking is on the drive on a slant and to get the key to the room you need to firstly go to a separate hotel 1.3miles up the road. Satnav doesn't take you to the Contractors Inn however after some help it is easy to find drive straight down the road until you get to Greggs / Shell garage and its No7 (4 doors up from the garage). Its a shared bathroom on the top floor (if you can, get room 3, its next to the bathroom). You will also handover £20 cash deposit when you get the key but you get this back when you drop off the key in the morning. Overall excellent for me on my own but would not dream of taking my wife there. For £20 I would definitely stay again.

  • Herenia Ventura Rodriguez

  • October 2015

My perfect experience with Laterooms.con

I really like this site because is very reliable and sure.

  • Damian H

  • May 2015

Cheap but good

Very clean.

Only complaint is it has very narrow stairs which are difficult to get a case up.