No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Waterside Hotel - Newcastle

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
48, Sandhill , Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 3JF
Situated on Newcastle's famous and picturesque Quayside, the Waterside Hotel occupies a handsome Grade II listed building. Steeped in history this 24 bedroom hotel is perfectly situated for the virbrant and cosmopolitan lifestyle which made Newcastle famous.

We want your stay to be all that you could expect from a top UK location. If you have any questions, queries or special requirements then do not hesitate to ask our experienced and friendsly staff who will be more than happy to help.
Picture of Waterside Hotel - Newcastle, Newcastle upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2014 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location but a little tired
I had read the other reviews about the decor and have to agree. Carpet was badly worn in places and overall decor tired. But the room was a good size, warm and the bed was very comfortable, and the staff friendly and welcolming. Breakfast was of good quality too. Great location for a budget hotel so overall good value for money.

Reviewed by
M Gibson

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Waterside Hotel - Newcastle
This hotel was in a great location and the staff were so helpful to us as we had never been to Newcastle before, would definitely stay again!

Reviewed by
Jodie M

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy and dingy

Reviewed by
v smithies

From Redcar, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Can't fault the Waterside for value for money & central location.

Reviewed by
Graeme W

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great stay!
Me and my friend stayed here when we were going to watch lee Evans at the metro and it was brilliant. The staff were polite and helpful, we didn't try the food but it smelled lovely! Would definitely stay here again!

Reviewed by
Paige M

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff but really not the cleanest
Staff were very friendly and seemed genuinely pleased to deal with us as guests, but the cleanliness of the rooms left a lot to be desired. My room smelled really badly of cigarette smoke, and the cleaner's solution for this seemed just to be to leave the window open a little bit. As a non-smoker, this really put a damper on my stay, and I could still smell the smoke on my clothes when I came home after a two-night stay. As the room was quite cold, I called down for an extra blanket (which was delivered promptly by a very friendly night porter) and was given a duvet without a cover which had a blood stain on it. There were two flies in the room, and the previous resident had killed a fly in the bathroom and the cleaner hadn't seemed to think it was worth to clean the blood smear off the ceiling. Also: there was a pubic hair in the sink. I feel bad giving a bad review because the lady in reception and the night porter were lovely and seemed to genuinely care if we had a bad stay, but the management need to spruce up their rooms a bit and hire a new cleaning firm. Wouldn't go back.

Reviewed by
S Larsson

From , UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Avoid this hotel if you value cleanliness
My husband and I were really disappointed with this hotel. We paid £95 for a one night stay, having seen pictures on the hotel's page through late rooms. The pictures were very, very misleading and the hotel was nothing like we expected. The smell in the foyer when we arrived was very unpleasant and the room itself was very tired and very dirty. There was a disposable razor cap left in the shower which suggested it hadn't been cleaned since the previous occupant and the bathroom sink had filthy channels full of dust and hair to either side of it. Even the bowl which had toiletries in it had a layer of dust / hair in the bottom of it. The carpets were thick of dust around the edges and the decor certainly needs updating. The lampshades were stained and dusty and the walls were patched with plaster but not painted over. Thankfully the bedding was clean otherwise we would have checked straight back out again. The bar was in darkness with a couple of mattresses dumped in front of it and bore no resemblance to the 'elegant lounge / bar' as described on their website. We decided to stick it out as it was just for the one night but we were really unhappy with our stay. I have stayed in a lot of hotels in my time and this was without doubt the worst I have ever stayed in. It wasn't cheap either! Avoid at all costs.

Reviewed by
N Davey

From Middlesbrough, England
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel with very friendly staff
I enjoyed my stay in the waterside Hotel, lovely to walk about by the river in front of the hotel. Basic rooms but that's all we needed and the price was reasonable. The staff are really friendly and helpful too. The only downside is the walk up a steep hill to the city centre but apart from this I would recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
Ryan D

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
Staff excellent, breakfast very good and great location next to river and easy walking distance to lots of attractions.
Slight downside was room facing very noisy road

Reviewed by
Ian F

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Late summer Visit
Waterside Hotel is in a great location for the Quayside and easy access into the City. Own free car park is a real benefit.

Reviewed by
J King

From Leigh on Sea, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next