No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Waterside Hotel - Newcastle

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
48, Sandhill , Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 3JF
Situated on Newcastle's famous and picturesque Quayside, the Waterside Hotel occupies a handsome Grade II listed building. Steeped in history this 24 bedroom hotel is perfectly situated for the virbrant and cosmopolitan lifestyle which made Newcastle famous.

We want your stay to be all that you could expect from a top UK location. If you have any questions, queries or special requirements then do not hesitate to ask our experienced and friendsly staff who will be more than happy to help.
Picture of Waterside Hotel - Newcastle, Newcastle upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2014 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Late summer Visit
Waterside Hotel is in a great location for the Quayside and easy access into the City. Own free car park is a real benefit.

Reviewed by
J King

From Leigh on Sea, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfast very good and plentiful. Room roomy, good bed linen and towels. Only negative point wouod be hotel tired and in need of a bit decoration/tlc but gathered from conversations that there are new owners so this mig h t be imminent. Overall suited our needs and perfectly placed.

Reviewed by
Caroline W

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Close to Sage
Nice little hotel; great position - walking distance from Station and Sage theatre; very helpful receptionist and good breakfast. Only downside was that room was hot even with window open.

Reviewed by
Carolyn H

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great little hotel, will stay there again when in Newcastle.

Reviewed by
paul cox

From LEICESTER, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice for £50
After spending a long time reading reviews regarding hotels around Newcastle I opted for the waterside, I am very glad i did so since the room was very clean, comfortable and modern (except the small screen TV, but the shower/wet room was a highlight!)
I did not eat at the hotel, so cannot comment, but from previous reviews it seems people were mostly unhappy at the smell in the entrance area, although it was noticable once entering the reception area everything smelt fine, and continued to be so in the room, so posting negatives is a bit harsh!

Reviewed by
D King

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little hotel
Stands part of a block with a few empty shop fronts/bars either side so on first impression wasnt expecting much. Reception on 1st floor. Staff excellent, superb breakfast and a great bonus with the free parking. Location was good, steady walk into the City and quite a steep walk from the Quayside (great to walk off the hearty breakfast!) Room was small but tasteful and very clean. Excellent value for money :)

Reviewed by
Sue R

From Redcar, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reasonable
The hotel is reasonable and although it was clean and friendly there was a very damp smell in the stairs as you enter. I would stay there again but the management need to take care that everything doesn 't become tired.

Reviewed by
Nigel Dunn

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money!
Nice rooms and good customer service, ideal to stay at while visiting the area!

Reviewed by
E Summers

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Princess and pea won over by good service
Cons: Single bed rather lumpy; some staircases smelt rather damp.
Pros: Very friendly, helpful service. Excellent breakfast, freshly cooked to my requirements.

Reviewed by
J Lilley

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.