You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland

4

Midland Road, Derby, DE1 2SQ

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (27)

78% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • brenda h

  • July 2016

great

peaceful, big bath, couldn't fault it.

  • Lisa J

  • July 2016

Hot and bothered

Stayed for a night on a muggy day and the room was stiflingly warm with no air con or fan.

Window was wide open but this didn't help. Location great for us just opposite the station and clearly the hotel was once a grand old place but our room certainly felt dated. Breakfast was rather disorganised with more people than tables and again uncomfotably hot.

  • julie smith

  • December 2015

Carpets in the whole of the hotel were very dirty even in the room.

I expected better for the amount of money I paid. Breakfast was very basic with no sign of any tea or coffee.

  • L Mitchell

  • October 2015

Exactly what we asked for!

Everything we wanted we got.

Great staff, gorgeous food, comfy night stay, prompt room service.

  • Steven F

  • August 2015

Hallmark Midland Derby

Hotel was fine however little annoyed on arrival we paid the £68 for our room in cash then was told we had to put a £25 deposit down on our credit card and that it would be released back in the card the next morning.

On checking out the next morning and me having to remind them to cancel my £25 deposit I was told it would take 10 days to get it back

  • B Whiting

  • April 2015

Very Disappointed

We had very high hopes for this hotel based on the reviews and photos but felt very let down.

Paid more money to be upgraded to a nicer room to discover the room was the same as every other double, the bed was rock hard, the towels had make up stains and the TV only had freeview with very poor signal so a lot of the channels were fuzzy. Ate in the hotel brasserie and the service was awful. There were only 3 sets of people in the restaurant and 2 members of staff and yet we stood ignored for over 10 minutes waiting to be seated, in the end my fiancé had to ask a member of staff who was chatting away to another customer about the football if we could sit down. When we needed vinegar we asked one of the 2 waitress who was laying other tables (bare in mind no more guests came in during the whole time we were there) for some and she said the other waitress would get it for us, 10 minutes later we finally got it. We spent £75 on food and drinks and not once were we asked if everything is ok and if we were enjoying our meal, would of been better off going into Derby town centre. We also had breakfast included in our stay and while it wasn't too bad it wasn't worth the extra money.The best thing I can say about this hotel is its location as its opposite Derby train station, We will be visiting Derby at least every 2 months and would never stay here again!

  • j hemming

  • April 2015

I had a really comfortable stay in this clean and spacious hotel, excellent value for money

I was pleasantly surprised at how comfortable the bed was and I had a nice size very comfortable room for the money I paid excellent value

  • L Lawless

  • March 2015

Brilliant value for money

  • Jane M

  • February 2015

Lovely old hotel

Lovely old station hotel, right on the doorstep for the train station.

But it's a decent walk if you're heading into Derby city centre. Room was spot-on; clean, with a comfy bed, a big bathroom and everything we needed. Breakfast is buffet style so you can help yourself,

  • John S

  • February 2015

Mixed Stay

The stay we had at halmark was mixed.The bed was rock hard,also I don't know what was outside the back of our room,but what sounded like a washing machine was spinning all night.Weirdly all the drawers were either glued or screwed shut,so couldn't use them.

But the staff were all very polite and the breakfast staff especially,were very attentive and effiicient at what they did.