Reviews - Armathwaite Hall Hotel


Bassenthwaite, Bassenthwaite, CA12 4RE

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (13)

85% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • p albright

  • December 2014

Beautiful old country house in a magnificent setting.

We have been before on several occasions, and find the accommodation and facilities fantastic.

The location and area are also fantastic. Food a bit pricy but overall we love this hotel.

  • s conkey

  • December 2014

well worth a visit

I had been earlier in the year to this hotel and have enjoyed both trips, however this one was a lot cheaper due to going through late rooms.

  • Shaun Mcdowell

  • November 2014

Please can we come back

This stay was bought as a wedding gift from my parents,omg it was amazing,

  • K Sawrey

  • July 2014

Standards have slipped somewhat

I have stayed at Armathwaite Hall before and had afternoon tea several times.

I must say that the quality of the food hs reduced somewhat and this time we were in a room between the main house and the spa and that room was ok although did smell musty and the lip just under the top rim of the bath tub was dirty with hairs from the previous visitor and a layer of dust/dirt obviously not cleaned for a while but whilst sitting on the loo it was right next to you and in clear eye sight. I was a bit disappointed with Armathwaite Hall standards to be honest although with the great deal we had through Late Rooms the spa and breakfast was still a very very good deal and I dont mind saying an absolute bargin. Armathwaite just need to do something about the smell of those 'stable' rooms, the food standard for afternoon tea and also the cleaning of the rooms. If I had not had such a great deal with Late Rooms I would certainly be putting in a complaint and I may pass on my disappointment with the Afternoon Tea separately.

  • Valerie C

  • April 2014

Amazing Scenery and Excellent Customer Service

The hotel although old is very well looked after.

Customer service was terrific and there were some great members of staff. (Danni - reception, Johnie - assistant manager, Christian - Bar, Daisy (sunshine valentine) - Brasserie and David - Hotel Manager but leaving shortly) The pool and spa were looked after extremely well and the weather during our visit was sunshine all the way. If going out driving/sight seeing - beware of traffic jams as a very busy location.

  • M Ince

  • April 2014

Luxury Hotel

What an excellent hotel.

All of the staff work as a team, nothing is a problem. A wonderful place highly recommended.

  • m gardner

  • April 2014

We were in a room at the top of the house and the bathroom was very small.

The shower was in the bath and getting into the bath was a trial as it was surrounded on three sides by walls. Which meant you had to get in at the end of the bath. We had to ask for a Rubber mat to put in the bottom of the bath to prevent slipping. The decor of the room and bathroom was very good I also used the spa which was excellent with friendly and experienced staff. The smell of smoke was very strong.

  • Stuart R

  • April 2014

Armathwaite hall

An enjoyable stay overall.

It is a little out of the way, so a car is essential and means a drive in the evening if not eating in the hotel. Spa facilities very good and not overcrowded. A proper coffee maker in the room would have been nice rather than the instant found in cheaper hotels, but they did deliver fresh milk to the room. Didn't eat in the restaurant but bar food was good. Room was good standard and bed huge, an in room safe would have been nice.

  • d ellis

  • March 2014

wedding anniversary

Tried the spa—very relaxing, food brilliant, this was our 3 time, we go for our wedding anniversary.

This time my wife was disappointed as the outdoor hot tub was not working on the day we went. Over all very nice intend to go back next anniversary.

  • sara m

  • March 2014


this is the best hotel stay i have had and would love to go back very soon