No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Armathwaite Hall Hotel

4AA Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Bassenthwaite , Bassenthwaite, CA12 4RE

Recommended by Condé Nast Johansens

Our inspector loved "Enjoying the lovely views from the large outdoor hot tub."

Few hotels are so beautifully situated as Armathwaite Hall - one of the original stately homes of England. Magnificently set in the secluded spendour of 400 acres of deer park and woodland, bordered by the beauty of Bassenthwaite Lake and framed by the dramatic Skiddaw mountain and fells, Armathwaite Hall is as romantic as the surrounding countryside. This 4 red star Country House Hotel, privately owned by the resident Graves family, reflects a quality of life and old world hospitality of which the famous novelist Sir Hugh Walpole wrote "A house of perfect and irresistible charm"
Picture of Armathwaite Hall Hotel, Bassenthwaite at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Standards have slipped somewhat
I have stayed at Armathwaite Hall before and had afternoon tea several times. I must say that the quality of the food hs reduced somewhat and this time we were in a room between the main house and the spa and that room was ok although did smell musty and the lip just under the top rim of the bath tub was dirty with hairs from the previous visitor and a layer of dust/dirt obviously not cleaned for a while but whilst sitting on the loo it was right next to you and in clear eye sight.
I was a bit disappointed with Armathwaite Hall standards to be honest although with the great deal we had through Late Rooms the spa and breakfast was still a very very good deal and I dont mind saying an absolute bargin!
Armathwaite just need to do something about the smell of those 'stable' rooms, the food standard for afternoon tea and also the cleaning of the rooms. If I had not had such a great deal with Late Rooms I would certainly be putting in a complaint and I may pass on my disappointment with the Afternoon Tea separately.

Reviewed by
K Sawrey

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Luxury Hotel
What an excellent hotel. All of the staff work as a team, nothing is a problem. A wonderful place highly recommended.

Reviewed by
M Ince

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing Scenery and Excellent Customer Service
The hotel although old is very well looked after. Customer service was terrific and there were some great members of staff. (Danni - reception, Johnie - assistant manager, Christian - Bar, Daisy (sunshine valentine) - Brasserie and David - Hotel Manager but leaving shortly) The pool and spa were looked after extremely well and the weather during our visit was sunshine all the way. If going out driving/sight seeing - beware of traffic jams as a very busy location.

Reviewed by
Valerie C

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were in a room at the top of the house and the bathroom was very small. The shower was in the bath and getting into the bath was a trial as it was surrounded on three sides by walls. Which meant you had to get in at the end of the bath. We had to ask for a Rubber mat to put in the bottom of the bath to prevent slipping.
The decor of the room and bathroom was very good I also used the spa which was excellent with friendly and experienced staff.
The smell of smoke was very strong.

Reviewed by
m gardner

From Wigton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Armathwaite hall
An enjoyable stay overall. It is a little out of the way, so a car is essential and means a drive in the evening if not eating in the hotel. Spa facilities very good and not overcrowded. A proper coffee maker in the room would have been nice rather than the instant found in cheaper hotels, but they did deliver fresh milk to the room. Didn't eat in the restaurant but bar food was good. Room was good standard and bed huge, an in room safe would have been nice.

Reviewed by
Stuart R

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wedding anniversary
Tried the spa—very relaxing, food brilliant, this was our 3 time, we go for our wedding anniversary. This time my wife was disappointed as the outdoor hot tub was not working on the day we went. Over all very nice intend to go back next anniversary.

Reviewed by
d ellis

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wow
this is the best hotel stay i have had and would love to go back very soon

Reviewed by
sara m

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Armathwaite Hall Hotel
This was my 3rd visit to Armathwaite and have never been disappointed. 1st class service in a lovely setting

Reviewed by
S Stabler

From Bishop Auckland, England
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent base for exploring the lakes
Our second visit. Beautiful location great service and fantastic food. Room very nicely appointed though a little snug for the price!

Reviewed by
J Quinn

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very relaxing and quiet.
We will be back, certainly

Reviewed by
B Henriksen

From Morpeth, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next