No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Number 1 Hotel & Wine Lounge

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Number 1 Hotel & Wine Lodge, 1 High Street, , Wooler, NE71 6LD
A warm welcome awaits at the No1 High Street Hotel and Wine Lounge in the beautiful location of Wooler in Northumberland. Our lovely building is steeped in history and our fantastic quirky rooms are an ideal retreat after a long day walking in the Cheviot Hills No1 Hotel is a small hotel in the heart of Wooler. built in the late 1600's it is one if not the oldest buildings in Wooler. Now modernised to a very good standard, with all en-suite rooms, freeview TV, coffee making facilities, hair driers, ironing facilities, WI-FI, free use of GYM, Wooler is a popular destination for walkers, cycling, fishing, horse riding, golfing etc.
Picture of Number 1 Hotel & Wine Lounge, Wooler at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2014 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value
booked due to a short notice job in the area so selected due to price staff friendly and efficient food good and reasonably priced, only down side would be the breakfast starting at 8 which is fine for holiday makers but not if wanting to get way first thing in the morning but the meal was sufficient for all day

Reviewed by
STEPHEN N

From Carterton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top Marks!!
Absolutely Brilliant! Staff were great, room was outstanding, food amazing also.
Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Antony Samson

From York, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hospitable and generous-highly recommended.
Very good value, loads of hot water, everything you need in the room, hair dryer,iron,tv,tea and coffee. Interior decoration slightly wacky but it made the most of the rooms. Wooler was a lovely little town bang on St Cuthbert's way. Breakfast very good ,loads of choice freshly cooked and again very generous.

Reviewed by
elizabeth bennett

From london, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel
We stayed overnight for a friends wedding and will definitely go back for a weekend away. We loved the hotel, very clean, very modern, very friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are beautifully decorated and are extremely clean. The hotel is currently undergoing some refurbishments but this did not impact in our stay what so ever. The breakfast was the best breakfast we have ever had in a hotel. The service was quick, and again very friendly staff. Will definitely be staying in this hotel again and would recommend it.

Reviewed by
Emma D

From Hoddesdon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Enjoyed my stay very good value breakfast was fantastic the staff we very freindly and even found save place for my push bike witch meant a lot to me

Reviewed by
M Nelson

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really Worth Going
3 nights very well spent in this unique small hotel. All rooms different, we stayed in no.2, very nice double room wit he suite. Definitely stay here again, Milan restaurant over the road also highly recommended, but booking advised.

Reviewed by
D Clarkson

From Wetherby, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay.
Friendly welcome, clean and spacious room. Very comfortable bed and excellent breakfast, superb value for money, helpful and courteous staff.
What more do you want!

Reviewed by
David P

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accomodation and standards

Reviewed by
adrian p

From Worksop, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Number One Hotel & Wine Lounge, Wooler.
First of all the negatives.
We had been promised an upgrade to a room with a standalone bath. When we arrived, we were told that there had been a mix-up and the room wasn't available. Whilst the room we were given was comfortable, the walls are so thin that you could here the occupants of the room next door making a cup of tea.
Aside from these issues, we can't complain about our stay. The staff were extremely friendly, the room was comfortable and the breakfast was superb.
We ate in the restaurant one night and the tapas on offer was really good and excellent value for money. Again, the service was superb and the staff very friendly.
Wooler isn't the liveliest place in the world, but an excellent base to explore the Northumberland coast.
With a little more attention to detail our scores would have been higher.

Reviewed by
STEVE H

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great room, needed a bit of a hoover, the shower not draining away quickly and in the morning I clearly heard a neighbours tv so there might be a problem with sound proofing but I never noticed it at night. but everything else unexpectedly good value and the staff could not have been more helpful

Reviewed by
Wendy G

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next