Reviews - Number 1 Hotel & Wine Lounge


Number 1 Hotel & Wine Lodge, 1 High Street,, Wooler, NE71 6LD

Price From 117 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (22)

91% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • S Rogers

  • July 2015

Lovely short break

Room was very nice and bed comfortable.

My only criticism is that the lighting can be a little on the dark side for women applying their make up . Also, they do not automatically change towels , we had to ask for ours to be done and the toiletries and biscuits were not replenished once used but this is only a small thing and would not stop me from staying here again if visiting the area.

  • Jamie B

  • July 2015

Brilliant little town & excellent hotel

Staff couldn't have done any more for you, really nice little hotel excellent value for money

  • A Hennessey

  • July 2015

Lovely little getaway hotel

Location great being right on the high street of Wooler, with nice little walks around about.

The hotel itself is a rural treat with decorative wooden lights and ceilings. We went to the sister restaurant Milan which was nice, they didnt have garlic mushrooms on the menu (which we thought strange for an italian restaurant) but when we queried this they happily made them for us. All in all a good little getaway :-)

  • H Smith

  • July 2015

Stunning hotel. Didn't want leave!

Cannot recommend this hotel enough.

We stayed in room three with a roll top bath in the window. An absolutely fantastic room which could've easily been worth double what we paid. Staff were so helpful throughout and the evening was busy and buzzing with a great atmosphere. Breakfast was fabulous too and the perfect end to a perfect stay. We are now just deciding when we have a free weekend to go back for another break!

  • deborah west

  • July 2015

Number 1 Hotel & Wine Lounge

This hotel was excellent value for money.

The breakfast was excellent and we particularly enjoyed the tapas menu at dinner. Staff were friendly and helpful at all times.

  • David L

  • June 2015

Lovely lovey stay

We only stayed here one night - on our way to Holy Island.

We literally put a pin in the map and got Wooler. What a great find - both the hotel and the location. Our room was a little small - but this more than matched the very very reasonable price we paid. Everything was so nice - the bar, the staff and the comfort of the room. Due to menu choice we ate at the hotels 'sister' restaurant Milano (Italian) but be warned even at this off season time people were being turned away because they hadn't booked. Meal was lovely. Place hotel and restaurant highly recommended,

  • Sue R

  • April 2015

Bit disappointed

Paper thin walls in our room.

I could hear next door's snores. Odd decor with tartan carpet, rustic boutique furniture and very strange branches in the room which just looked dusty. Wine bar was very noisey at night and we were woken by a loud arguement in the hallway above us. Wooler is a lovely old town in a beautiful part of Northumberland but this didn t do it justice

  • Melanie W

  • November 2014

A night away

We stayed in room 4 .

This was a gorgeous room with a roll top bath . It was spacious And clean and well maintained . The manageress was lovely . Nothing was too much trouble for her .

  • Gary Bacon

  • November 2014

Worth Driving Off Route For

I had some problems trying to book a room here (IT type problems) but something told me to keep trying and it was worth it.

This is far and away one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. If you like big corporate soulless hotels then don't stay here - this is a hotel with more personality than most can handle. The staff were great as was the food.


  • September 2014

good value

booked due to a short notice job in the area so selected due to price staff friendly and efficient food good and reasonably priced, only down side would be the breakfast starting at 8 which is fine for holiday makers but not if wanting to get way first thing in the morning but the meal was sufficient for all day