No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Ballachulish Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Glencoe Nr Glencoe, BALLACHULISH, PH49 4JY
Make yourself at home at one of Scotland's most famous Highland Hotels: The Ballachulish. Situated in a breath taking lochside setting at the foot of dramatic Glencoe, The Ballachulish Hotel offers a year-round warm welcome and comfort near Fort William. Whatever the reason for your break, be it romantic getaway, walking holiday or business trip, we offer a great choice of bedroom styles, many of which have outstanding loch views. For Fort William Hotels or Glencoe Hotels, look no further!

The log fires roar all year making this romantic hotel the perfect venue for great escapes to The Highlands of Scotland. The more adventurous explore the West Coast from this base or discover many local attractions and activities from golf to the great outdoors. Book your accommodation in Glencoe direct and take advantage of our Passport to The Isles of Glencoe Hotel and Leisure Centre and enjoy complimentary use of nearby leisure centre with pool, jacuzzi, bio-sauna & exercise room.

Days and nights pass easily in the friendly and contemporary warmth of Bùlas Bar & Bistro, one of the best options for eating out in Fort William or Glencoe. Savour hearty dishes made with the best Scottish ingredients. After dinner, relax by the fire with a glass of your favourite tipple whilst the sun sets over the mountains and the colours reflect their fiery hue on the waters of the loch outside.
Picture of The Ballachulish Hotel, BALLACHULISH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2014 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 32 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful location
A lovely hotel in a beautiful setting with great area for sitting and looking at the mountains and loch with real fire places. Relaxing and enjoyable place to stay

Reviewed by
Jelena B

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Great Retreat
Fabulous old building with wonderful views of the loch. Staff were most helpful, large room with a clean, roomy, modern bathroom and excellent breakfast. A most enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
Peter S

From Perth, Australia
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel very old in need of update

Reviewed by
david lee

From Bathgate, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shabby but not quite chic!
We booked a superior room expecting the usual upgrade and although it was a good sized room with a loch view there was no mineral water or complimentary bisquits supplied. The shower over the bath in a compact windowless bathroom left a little to be desired but the bed was comfortable and the room clean. The staff were pleasant and helpful and the public areas well presented and nicer to relax in than the room. The food in the restaurant was excellent and was delivered to our table promptly by very helpful and cheerful staff.

Reviewed by
Anthony O

From Fleet, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect end to our honeymoon
Loved the character of this Hotel - the drawing room is steeped in history. Hope the new owners keep the charm. Receptionist very helpful indeed. The food very nice and views fantastic - we will return.

Reviewed by
Caroline Richardson

From Saltburn by The Sea, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

dated but fab

loved the location staff were great food was great felt like we had stepped back in time, historical could do with a bit of an update but feel this might spoil the character of the place

Reviewed by
m kerr

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ballaculish Hotel
Great views of Glen Coe, food pretty good, room a bit pokey and no view.

Reviewed by
ed m

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired and worn out
The hotel is very dated. The furniture in the main lounge was torn and thread bare ( every item of furniture) the carpets were also worn with holes nailed down so you didn't trip on them. Our room had not been vacuumed as there was hairs all over the floor. The furniture was old but in good condition. The view was gorgeous and the breakfast quite good. Staff were friendly and helpful.
Other than this I can't think of anything else positive to say.
We won't be going back.
We will choose a different hotel next time, sorry
MF. Durham

Reviewed by
M FAWCETT

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
Friendly staff. Great room 28 ideal for luggage from car park.
Good food . Evening meals and breakfast.
Ideal location .Great views of the loch and hills.

Reviewed by
sheena ferguson

From Kirkcaldy, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

h

Reviewed by
David O

From Bishop Auckland, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next