No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Ballachulish Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Glencoe Nr Glencoe, BALLACHULISH, PH49 4JY
Make yourself at home at one of Scotland's most famous Highland Hotels: The Ballachulish. Situated in a breath taking lochside setting at the foot of dramatic Glencoe, The Ballachulish Hotel offers a year-round warm welcome and comfort near Fort William. Whatever the reason for your break, be it romantic getaway, walking holiday or business trip, we offer a great choice of bedroom styles, many of which have outstanding loch views. For Fort William Hotels or Glencoe Hotels, look no further!

The log fires roar all year making this romantic hotel the perfect venue for great escapes to The Highlands of Scotland. The more adventurous explore the West Coast from this base or discover many local attractions and activities from golf to the great outdoors. Book your accommodation in Glencoe direct and take advantage of our Passport to The Isles of Glencoe Hotel and Leisure Centre and enjoy complimentary use of nearby leisure centre with pool, jacuzzi, bio-sauna & exercise room.

Days and nights pass easily in the friendly and contemporary warmth of Bùlas Bar & Bistro, one of the best options for eating out in Fort William or Glencoe. Savour hearty dishes made with the best Scottish ingredients. After dinner, relax by the fire with a glass of your favourite tipple whilst the sun sets over the mountains and the colours reflect their fiery hue on the waters of the loch outside.
Picture of The Ballachulish Hotel, BALLACHULISH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2014 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect end to our honeymoon
Loved the character of this Hotel - the drawing room is steeped in history. Hope the new owners keep the charm. Receptionist very helpful indeed. The food very nice and views fantastic - we will return.

Reviewed by
Caroline Richardson

From Saltburn by The Sea, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

dated but fab

loved the location staff were great food was great felt like we had stepped back in time, historical could do with a bit of an update but feel this might spoil the character of the place

Reviewed by
m kerr

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired and worn out
The hotel is very dated. The furniture in the main lounge was torn and thread bare ( every item of furniture) the carpets were also worn with holes nailed down so you didn't trip on them. Our room had not been vacuumed as there was hairs all over the floor. The furniture was old but in good condition. The view was gorgeous and the breakfast quite good. Staff were friendly and helpful.
Other than this I can't think of anything else positive to say.
We won't be going back.
We will choose a different hotel next time, sorry
MF. Durham

Reviewed by
M FAWCETT

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
Friendly staff. Great room 28 ideal for luggage from car park.
Good food . Evening meals and breakfast.
Ideal location .Great views of the loch and hills.

Reviewed by
sheena ferguson

From Kirkcaldy, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

h

Reviewed by
David O

From Bishop Auckland, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent stay
very friendly staff,excellent food

Reviewed by
June M

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Built for comfort
We were greeted very well. Help with baggage was given without prompting. The room, while not facing the loch, was bright, clean and very comfortable. My on;y reservation concerns the bathroom. The bath (with jacuzzi) is high-sided. I have a slight disability which gave a small problem with access. A grab rail on the wall would have been useful.
The restaurant and bar were very comfortable with good service. The food was excellent but the menu could have been more varied. There was only one fish option and why does no one offer fruit salad anymore? Very enjoyable nonetheless.

Reviewed by
Steve G

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, restaurant is amazing

Reviewed by
Andrea M

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a touch of luxury overlooking the lake
loved this hotel,
room large with HUGE ensuite
staff very friendly and helpful
food delicious

Reviewed by
Rebecca B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean but in need of refurbishment
We were given a room that looked out onto a roof and a corridor. The kitchen could be heard directly below the room, not good when they start preparing for breakfast at 6 in the morning. When this was highlighted to the staff they just said it's not normally a problem with the room. Impossible unless they move the kitchen regularly.
The bed was rather uncomfortable, felt like a 4 inch matress on a plank of wood.

Reviewed by
Erik J

From Livingston, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next