Reviews - The Ballachulish Hotel


Glencoe Nr Glencoe, BALLACHULISH, PH49 4JY

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (38)

84% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • R Porter

  • November 2015

The Ballachulish Hotel

Had a lovely stay at the scenic Ballachulish Hotel at its very beautiful setting right on the water.

The building itself is beautiful, with a large lounge, made cosy by the log burning fire. The food was great and the service cannot be faulted. We will definetly be back!

  • Paul O

  • November 2015

The Ballachulish Hotel

The public rooms were all decorated to a reasonable standard and the open fire was welcoming.

The room itself, despite having paid more for a 'superior room', was disappointing. While clean, the decor was dated and the sink cracked. The restaurant offered good value for money and the standard of cooking was surprisingly good.

  • Jim Traynor

  • November 2015

Overnight stay for business meeting

Hotel staff very helpful and hotel warm and very clean.

Would certainly go back and also recommend it to friends.

  • r storey

  • November 2015

The Ballachulish Hotel

Staff are helpful/friendly lovely comfortable and clean room beautiful location and fantastic old decor in the lounges I am planning on a return with my 3 girls,partners and grandson

  • D Williams

  • September 2015

The Ballachulish Hotel

Booked in for one night on the way home and was really pleased with the hotel, would stay there again if in the area

  • R Eves

  • August 2015

Feels more homely than its size suggests

Booked the Ballachulish as a stop-over on our way from Torridon to Dumfries and Galloway as it was about halfway between the two.

We were made to feel very welcome and our room was a good size. My only criticism is that the grouting around the tiles in the bath was a little tired, which made it look less clean than it obviously was.

We ate in the restaurant that evening and even though it's a light, airy room, it still felt warm and cosy and had lovely views over the loch. The food was excellent and we were served swiftly. Breakfast was fine; there was plenty to eat, but I was a little suprised that it was self-service and that the cooked breakfast just seemed to be fairly standard fare - for the B&B price, I might have expected a similar level of care/dedication to excellence as we'd had for our dinner the previous evening.

That being said, it certainly didn't spoil things and we would definitely return.

  • Jelena B

  • November 2014

Beautiful location

A lovely hotel in a beautiful setting with great area for sitting and looking at the mountains and loch with real fire places.

Relaxing and enjoyable place to stay

  • Peter S

  • November 2014

A Great Retreat

Fabulous old building with wonderful views of the loch.

Staff were most helpful, large room with a clean, roomy, modern bathroom and excellent breakfast. A most enjoyable stay.

  • Anthony O

  • October 2014

Shabby but not quite chic!

We booked a superior room expecting the usual upgrade and although it was a good sized room with a loch view there was no mineral water or complimentary bisquits supplied.

The shower over the bath in a compact windowless bathroom left a little to be desired but the bed was comfortable and the room clean. The staff were pleasant and helpful and the public areas well presented and nicer to relax in than the room. The food in the restaurant was excellent and was delivered to our table promptly by very helpful and cheerful staff.

  • david lee

  • October 2014

Lovely hotel very old in need of update