No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Ballachulish Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Glencoe Nr Glencoe, BALLACHULISH, PH49 4JY
Make yourself at home at one of Scotland's most famous Highland Hotels: The Ballachulish. Situated in a breath taking lochside setting at the foot of dramatic Glencoe, The Ballachulish Hotel offers a year-round warm welcome and comfort near Fort William. Whatever the reason for your break, be it romantic getaway, walking holiday or business trip, we offer a great choice of bedroom styles, many of which have outstanding loch views. For Fort William Hotels or Glencoe Hotels, look no further!

The log fires roar all year making this romantic hotel the perfect venue for great escapes to The Highlands of Scotland. The more adventurous explore the West Coast from this base or discover many local attractions and activities from golf to the great outdoors. Book your accommodation in Glencoe direct and take advantage of our Passport to The Isles of Glencoe Hotel and Leisure Centre and enjoy complimentary use of nearby leisure centre with pool, jacuzzi, bio-sauna & exercise room.

Days and nights pass easily in the friendly and contemporary warmth of Bùlas Bar & Bistro, one of the best options for eating out in Fort William or Glencoe. Savour hearty dishes made with the best Scottish ingredients. After dinner, relax by the fire with a glass of your favourite tipple whilst the sun sets over the mountains and the colours reflect their fiery hue on the waters of the loch outside.
Picture of The Ballachulish Hotel, BALLACHULISH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2014 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
Friendly staff. Great room 28 ideal for luggage from car park.
Good food . Evening meals and breakfast.
Ideal location .Great views of the loch and hills.

Reviewed by
sheena ferguson

From Kirkcaldy, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

h

Reviewed by
David O

From Bishop Auckland, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent stay
very friendly staff,excellent food

Reviewed by
June M

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Built for comfort
We were greeted very well. Help with baggage was given without prompting. The room, while not facing the loch, was bright, clean and very comfortable. My on;y reservation concerns the bathroom. The bath (with jacuzzi) is high-sided. I have a slight disability which gave a small problem with access. A grab rail on the wall would have been useful.
The restaurant and bar were very comfortable with good service. The food was excellent but the menu could have been more varied. There was only one fish option and why does no one offer fruit salad anymore? Very enjoyable nonetheless.

Reviewed by
Steve G

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, restaurant is amazing

Reviewed by
Andrea M

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a touch of luxury overlooking the lake
loved this hotel,
room large with HUGE ensuite
staff very friendly and helpful
food delicious

Reviewed by
Rebecca B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean but in need of refurbishment
We were given a room that looked out onto a roof and a corridor. The kitchen could be heard directly below the room, not good when they start preparing for breakfast at 6 in the morning. When this was highlighted to the staff they just said it's not normally a problem with the room. Impossible unless they move the kitchen regularly.
The bed was rather uncomfortable, felt like a 4 inch matress on a plank of wood.

Reviewed by
Erik J

From Livingston, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A welcoming and friendly hotel in a good location with very good staff
Although the hotel seems a little dated everything was clean and the staff were very welcoming,car parking good,bed good,food very good service great.and taking dogs was a real benefit,

Reviewed by
Trevor G

From Breaston.derby, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing hotel with some stunning views. Will definitely stay again.
The hotel was beautiful, I love old hotels! Had fish and chips for dinner which was good, nothing spectacular, but then again I had to stick to a company budget so would love to go back and try more interesting things because I've heard really good reviews on the food. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
Nikki M

From Motherwell, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel but needs a refurb
Hotel was lovely but housekeeping needs reviewing! Lounge was very dusty and furnishings need reupholstering, chairs in bedrooms very stained. We had to change rooms as we were put in a room under the roof and the water tanks were very noisy and the tv did not work, which they knew about so why did they use this room? also hair found in breakfast 2 days running!! Such a shame as evening meal was very good!

Reviewed by
Janet P

From York, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next