No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hillingdon Prince Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
39, Christchurch Road , Reading, RG2 7AN
We offer something different to the big chains – great value and friendly service at an affordable price.
We are a budget hotel, but we have very high standards. Our rooms are clean, simply furnished and the price you see is the price you pay; with no hidden extras. We don’t charge for Wi-Fi, parking, using the gym, cooking facilities, or anything else you may have had to pay for at other hotels.
We encourage our guests to bring their own food and drink to save money on expensive restaurants. We can recommend a selection of delivery restaurants that offer discounts to our guests. You can eat in our lounge, or in the comfort of your own room. Our bar serves breakfast and bar meals, should you require this service, and all of our rooms are equipped with fridges and microwaves.
Located in the Heart of Reading
We are centrally located, just a short walk from Reading University, a 10 minute walk to Reading Town Centre, the Royal Berkshire Hospital and the Oracle Shopping Centre. We’re a short drive to all the local business parks and five minutes drive from J11 of the M4. Guests can visit local attractions, such as Windsor Castle, Lego Land and the Reading FC, Madejski Stadium.
Stay in the heart of it all at Hillingdon Prince, an affordable, quiet place that truly feels like a home away from home.
Picture of Hillingdon Prince Hotel, Reading at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2014 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient location good value
Stayed with my son for weekend and rate was excellent value. Clean simple accommodation. Walked into Reading in 20-25 mins. Bus stop only 5 mins.

Reviewed by
Robert G

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good bargain accommodation
Small room, but with all necessary stuff, plus microwave, fridge and kettle very useful additions to make stay a little cheaper. Great price, especially at weekends, friendly reception staff. Bit worn in places, but what would you expect for such competitive price. Would def stay again.

Reviewed by
Rebecca O

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reading Hillingdon prince review
Room was clean and was adequate.
I think this was too expensive as a room rate of 79 worth 49-50 only.
Summing up basic and ok.

Reviewed by
phil g

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for overnight stay after a gig!
Exactly as expected. Cheap n cheerful, just what we needed. Would definitely stay again. Close to town centre and train station if you walk and cab into town cost a fiver.

Reviewed by
a sheward

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good room - a little noisy at times
I've stayed here twice now.
Once in the summer and once in the winter. The summer stay was decidedly more problematic. There was no air conditioning in rooms. We were provided with an old fixed fan on the wall and the option to open the window but it was still absolutely boiling in there.
The second time I had a nicer room and I found it clean and tidy. The only issue was from 7 in the morning there was a loud bang regularly down the corridor. I figure it was a defective door, or something that staff were using while delivering to rooms. It was ridiculously loud and probably one of the reasons I don't want to stay here again. Once it woke me up that was it.

Reviewed by
S Mayne

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

did what it said on the tin
Excellent location very clean did what it said on the tin

Reviewed by
R Jones

From , UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very small but adequate to our needs
Room was in separate building. Access by card at anytime. Room small but enough for needs. Batroom very small, if you on large size best to request large room/suit, as two other friends staying said bathroom very small. Radiator right by door when on full could be dangerous to large person going to toilet - so beware. We didn't sample food but small adequate kitchen in room with 2 ring cooker, microwave, toaster, kettle and fridge for guests use. WIFI free but ultra slow.

Reviewed by
Carole R

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

just okay
The service from staff was excellent and we were also able to check in early which was brilliant as we managed to fit in more shopping! The location to shopping at the Oracle was a twenty minute walk or two minute taxi shoe which cost us £6. We had a family room which would definitely fit a family. My only negative was the bathroom. It looked and felt unclean. There's no doubt the whole place could do with a makeover but for the price and availability abolt hole served us well

Reviewed by
julie r

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Interesting
The concept is good. Encouraged to bring your own food and drink to save money. Rooms look like old student accommodation. Clean, but the appearance is dull. Not a bad stay, but not a great one.

Reviewed by
Chris R

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasantly surprised, room had all we needed, only thing I noticed but not a issues was the use of lime scale remover would have been nice on shower door and kitchen sink, but did not effect our stay. We decided to to stay another night, had to rebook so got different room but cosy, warm. Breakfast was good too, good selection plus cooked breakfast cooked to order

Reviewed by
Sharon Thomas

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next