Reviews - Hillingdon Prince Hotel


39, Christchurch Road, Reading, RG2 7AN

Price From 87.57 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (71)

79% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • K Channon

  • November 2015

Weekend Away

Booked this hotel to visit a friend at reading university for the weekend.

On arrival noted that we had been upgraded to the newer and quieter part of the hotel free of charge. They were more than happy provide an extra key for my boyfriend. The bed was comfy and shower great. Good selection of breakfast in the morning. Overall great budget stay. My only issue was the room was slightly small. But the fact there was a microwave and fridge was a big plus. Would stay again!

  • Nathan G

  • November 2015

Entirely Positive Experience :)

This hotel was easy to find, not far from the centre, lovely on the outside and spic-and-span on the inside.

The lady behind the desk who checked me in was lovely, courteous and professional. The inside of the hotel was a bit of a maze but that's normal in an old house conversion. The room was very warm but it was a dry heat and actually quite pleasant. Bathroom had a warm floor and a well-lit mirror. Bed was clean and well-tucked. TV was nice and large and although I didn't need them this time, I was pleased to see a fridge and microwave and two sets of cutlery / crockery. The only down-side (and it's very minor) was a medium-large wood spider which circumnavigated the ceiling before sleeping quietly in the corner. Facilities excellent. Staff delightful. Room perfect.

  • T Manning

  • November 2015


The room itself was nice, at first glance looked clean and fresh, the closer I got to the bed the more I noticed stains on the bed linen.

Then went to use the bathroom and there was hairs in the bath, dust on the toilet roll holder, and the flush on the toilet didn't work. I just didn't feel clean and fresh at all in the bathroom. It was as if the bathroom was from a completely different, old, rundown hotel. Quite upsetting really as the room itself was nice.

  • D Jones

  • November 2015


This was my second visit to the Hillingdon Prince.

It has a quiet, rural feel with its late 19th century buildings in characteristic orange and grey brickwork, surrounded at this time of year by gravel drives covered in autumn leaves from the surrounding trees. Situated directly opposite Christchurch, Reading and the Abbey Junior School, the hotel is within easy reach of Reading centre, Shinfield Road and the Royal Berkshire Hospital. The large rooms are well-maintained and clean and supplied with everything you might require including TV, fridge, iron, microwave and hair dryer. If you take your room with breakfast, the cooked food is prepared by friendly staff and, whilst the portions are a bit on the small side, they are amply supplemented by a wide self-service range of cereals, croissants, toast, preserves, muffins, juices, tea and coffee in limitless supplies. I found the bar well-stocked, though almost completely deserted most of the time, possibly because there are no evening meals offered, though a local hostelry does give a discount to hotel guests and the hotel staff do recommend this option if asked. However, there are plenty of local facilities within easy travelling distance. Parking at the hotel is easy, but in general Reading is not very car-friendly. There are plenty of buses, though, which seem to run late into the evening. My purpose for staying at the Hillingdon Prince was as a base from which to visit friends in Woodley, Earley and Wokingham, and it fulfilled this purpose admirably. In general the place is kept very clean. My room was serviced every morning after breakfast. A minor problem with the plumbing in the bathroom on the first evening was swiftly attended to at the next service visit. If you want a luxury hotel experience this is not for you, but if you are looking for a spacious B&B the Hillingdon Prince should fit the bill very nicely.

  • Joanna W

  • October 2015

Great value for money!

We really liked the hotel and the staff were really friendly and helpful.

The room was perfect for what we wanted a place to chill out and sleep after a long awaited reunion. The fridge was a bonus. I loved the building and it's amazing windows. My mini quibble was that the bathroom, it was clean but it could have smelled fresher and cleaner. I think that the hotel offers great value for money and I would definitely use it again. In fact we are planning to in the future.

  • Jeanette C

  • October 2015


We always stay here when coming to Reading.

Our visit normally includes staying overnight on a Sunday for which the rate always seems to be much lower making the overall cost very reasonable indeed. The hotel itself is conveniently located about 10-15 minutes walk from the town centre and has the added bonus of plenty of parking. The staff are always friendly and helpful and a bonus for us is that breakfast is optional but with a microwave and fridge in the room porridge and/or cereals are easily doable - very handy if you want to make a quick getaway on your last day and/or don't want a large breakfast. Our room itself was clean and comfortable - the only very minor criticism is that despite having a whirlpool bath and bidet the shower was just one that ran from the taps and there was nothing to attach it to so that you could stand under it. Not a major problem though and we will definitely be back - I think all of the other times we have stayed we have had a normal shower - so it you have any particular requirements about things like this I'd recommend checking with the hotel when you book.


  • August 2015

The room and the bathroom was big and the bed very comfortable.

Good location in a quiet area of Reading, and near to city centre. A bus stop near in the same Street. Curtains and wallpaper needs updating.

  • Scott J

  • August 2015

Great roon, clean, gym , modern shower room, great value

  • Stephen H

  • July 2015

Good Value For Money

Suited my every need.

The lady at the desk on arrival made me really welcome.

  • Mike S

  • July 2015

They got the priorities right

I needed to stay somewhere overnight to avoid driving home during the night.

The room and bed linen were clean, the kettle worked and the staff were friendly so priority items were all ok. The bathroom was a little tired but functioned fine.