Reviews - Hillingdon Prince Hotel

2

39, Christchurch Road, Reading, RG2 7AN

Price From 151.35 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (76)

78% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Andrea D

  • December 2015

Room 405

We stayed here for 1 night for my Xmas doo and I must say I really liked the room.

It was clean&nice but my bf thought it looked a bit gothic (well you cant please everyone). All in all a pleasant stay and would stay here again. There's plenty of car parking space too. Great value, the only thing I would change is the cleanliness of the carpet. Perhaps that needs attention but otherwise excellent.

  • M Martin

  • December 2015

Lost property. Resolution atrocious.

I have to say that, as far as the room, there were only two small pillows on a double bed.

The mattress was very hard and uncomfortable. The duvet very thin. I did not sleep at all.

The breakfast consisted of pre-cooked scrambled egg, which was very rubbery. Mushrooms appeared to be out of a tin, Bacon was hard and burnt on the edge. Didn't rate the hotel as being value for money, but after leaving I realised i had left my brand new gilet behind on the back of the chair. Within approx half an hour I rang the hotel. I finally got to speak to a messaging service some time later. When I finally had a call back, that evening I explained my problem to a man who had difficulty understanding me, as I had him. He called back very much later and explained that the room had been let since I left, and whoever was now in the room must have taken my gilet. I asked him if the room had been re-let with an unmade bed and dirty crockery I had left there. He said there was nothing more to be done.

Absolutely appalling service, oh and the loo wouldn't stop flushing. I give this hotel a zero!

  • Karen H

  • December 2015

Quirky and interesting

Our first room was a very small double that was nicely appointed.

However, the heating did not work and it was very chilly. The man on the reception desk came and checked it out and within 30 minutes we were moved to another room. This was a large family room with older furnishings but he did tell us this when he offered us the room. The water pressure from the taps was a dribble but we were on the third floor. Fortunately, the shower, whilst dated, was on a pump system and worked fine. And it was very warm. A quirky and interesting place if you are not wanting modern and chic with very friendly, helpful staff.

  • Jean d

  • December 2015

Pleasant good value

Very pleasant stay,have booked for another couple of nights.

Room not refurbished yet but clean and comfortable.

  • Mike P

  • December 2015

Excellent Service

The Staff were brilliant nothing seemed to much trouble

  • Robert W

  • November 2015

Disappointing

We needed somewhere to check in late in the evening and spend a couple of hours before sleeping, so our requirements were quite basic and the reviews for the hotel seemed promising.

In the event we were given a room that had clearly been pained that day because there was a high reek of freh paint and the room had nit been ventilated. When we said we were nit going to sleep in that room we were shown to another one, which was acceptable once we had put the heating on and come back after a couple of hours. Unfortunately the bathrom door made a racket when being opened so one person going to the bathroom would wake up the other. The skylight blind was broken and did not stay closed so we could not sleep once it became light outside. The mirror in the room reflected a litter strewn wardrobe top. We were going to complain on keaving but another guest at reception was making a more serious and long winded complaint, so this mine. The rooms are well set up with basic kitchen facilities for those working away from home, but in this case a budget hotel was a false economy, because of the lack of attention to detail which would have been simple to remedy.

  • K Channon

  • November 2015

Weekend Away

Booked this hotel to visit a friend at reading university for the weekend.

On arrival noted that we had been upgraded to the newer and quieter part of the hotel free of charge. They were more than happy provide an extra key for my boyfriend. The bed was comfy and shower great. Good selection of breakfast in the morning. Overall great budget stay. My only issue was the room was slightly small. But the fact there was a microwave and fridge was a big plus. Would stay again!

  • Nathan G

  • November 2015

Entirely Positive Experience :)

This hotel was easy to find, not far from the centre, lovely on the outside and spic-and-span on the inside.

The lady behind the desk who checked me in was lovely, courteous and professional. The inside of the hotel was a bit of a maze but that's normal in an old house conversion. The room was very warm but it was a dry heat and actually quite pleasant. Bathroom had a warm floor and a well-lit mirror. Bed was clean and well-tucked. TV was nice and large and although I didn't need them this time, I was pleased to see a fridge and microwave and two sets of cutlery / crockery. The only down-side (and it's very minor) was a medium-large wood spider which circumnavigated the ceiling before sleeping quietly in the corner. Facilities excellent. Staff delightful. Room perfect.

  • T Manning

  • November 2015

Okay

The room itself was nice, at first glance looked clean and fresh, the closer I got to the bed the more I noticed stains on the bed linen.

Then went to use the bathroom and there was hairs in the bath, dust on the toilet roll holder, and the flush on the toilet didn't work. I just didn't feel clean and fresh at all in the bathroom. It was as if the bathroom was from a completely different, old, rundown hotel. Quite upsetting really as the room itself was nice.

  • D Jones

  • November 2015

PLEASANT BERKSHIRE RETREAT IN THE HEART OF READING

This was my second visit to the Hillingdon Prince.

It has a quiet, rural feel with its late 19th century buildings in characteristic orange and grey brickwork, surrounded at this time of year by gravel drives covered in autumn leaves from the surrounding trees. Situated directly opposite Christchurch, Reading and the Abbey Junior School, the hotel is within easy reach of Reading centre, Shinfield Road and the Royal Berkshire Hospital. The large rooms are well-maintained and clean and supplied with everything you might require including TV, fridge, iron, microwave and hair dryer. If you take your room with breakfast, the cooked food is prepared by friendly staff and, whilst the portions are a bit on the small side, they are amply supplemented by a wide self-service range of cereals, croissants, toast, preserves, muffins, juices, tea and coffee in limitless supplies. I found the bar well-stocked, though almost completely deserted most of the time, possibly because there are no evening meals offered, though a local hostelry does give a discount to hotel guests and the hotel staff do recommend this option if asked. However, there are plenty of local facilities within easy travelling distance. Parking at the hotel is easy, but in general Reading is not very car-friendly. There are plenty of buses, though, which seem to run late into the evening. My purpose for staying at the Hillingdon Prince was as a base from which to visit friends in Woodley, Earley and Wokingham, and it fulfilled this purpose admirably. In general the place is kept very clean. My room was serviced every morning after breakfast. A minor problem with the plumbing in the bathroom on the first evening was swiftly attended to at the next service visit. If you want a luxury hotel experience this is not for you, but if you are looking for a spacious B&B the Hillingdon Prince should fit the bill very nicely.