Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Kent > Channel Tunnel Hotels > The Grand Burstin Hotel – A Grand Entertainment Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Grand Burstin Hotel – A Grand Entertainment Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Marine Parade , Folkestone, CT20 1TX
Superbly located by the seaside, this hotel overlooks Folkestone's picturesque harbour.

Choose Grand Burstin Hotel for your gateway to the continent, with easy access to the Port of Dover & Eurotunnel, combined with unparelled evening entertainment. The hotel is conveniently situated only a 10 minutes' walk from the main town and 3 minutes' from the beach.

All 550 en-suite bedrooms are tastefully decorated and have TV, Telephone, Hairdryer and Tea and Coffee making facilities. The Health and Leisure Club is fully equipped with and boasts a Swimming Pool, Sauna, Solarium and much more per Session:- £4.00 for an adult and £2.00 for a child.

There are two restaurants, the Victorian and the Harbour, which serve some tasty food. The Ocean bar hosts the LIVE entertainment programme, music from the resident band and bingo! Or you can dance the night away with our late night disco. WIFI is free to all guests and available in all ground floor lounge areas of the hotel.

Well behaved pet dogs are allowed in the hotel at a cost of £10.00 per night, or £25.00 per stay
Picture of The Grand Burstin Hotel – A Grand Entertainment Hotel, Folkestone at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 514 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
63% recommended this accommodation to a friend 69% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
A very good experience the staff was very friendly and helpful even with the unexpected fire drill
We would definitely recommend it and certainly come again

Reviewed by
JOHN G

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

STAY AWAY........far away!!!!!!
We travel 6 - 7 times a year in and out of UK, this was the WORST HOTEL we had ever been. It was full of characters from 'Little Britain'. It seems like a hostel for homeless and people on benefits. If you don't mind swearing people next room (I don't think hotel can do anything about it), than do your self a favour: stay away from here. NEVER EVER EVER THERE AGAIN.

Reviewed by
Altin S

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Does exactly what it saya on the tin!
we have stayed at the Grand Burstin hotel few times and always enjoyed our stay. The food is good and plentiful, the bedrooms clean and tidy. When we arrived they had allocated us a twin room when we had booked a double room. the Hotel confirmed this and got housekeeping to make our singles into a double, and threw in a bottle of wine. Our only complaints about the hotel room was that there was only one single plug socket, and a very small old style tv.

Reviewed by
Mark W

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money
Just exactly what it says. It's not the fanciest of hotels and is in desperate need of refurbishment, however it was very clean, the beds were comfy, the staff were excellent. Just what we needed as a stop over to catch the ferry the next morning.

Reviewed by
L Gilchrist

From Johnstone, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap hotel for a cheap price
It's a get what you pay for experience. £57.50 for two nights mid-week including breakfast is fantastic value! However, this is offset by being a very low quality hotel. Nearly everything about this hotel is run down, in poor condition or out dated- the exterior, the car park, the public areas, the rooms, leisure facilities. I could deal with these issues, however I'm sure some people couldn't.
Parking is £3.50 a day, and tricky to find a space at busy times. There is a chance of free parking if you're willing to explore the local residential streets within a 10 minute walk's distance of the hotel.
Our room (344) was fairly clean- just about acceptable. However, very outdated, had a hole in the wall, completely rusted plug and plug hole in the sink, stains on the ceiling, condensation covering the window, dust on top of the wardrobe and TV stand. A couple of the lights didn't work, the bed wasn't made properly upon arrival, the glass in the bathroom wasn't washed thoroughly, the spare pillow in the wardrobe had an odd smell. Chairs in the room were in extremely poor, damaged condition. Signs and fixtures were shoddily fitted. Our TV was small- a 14" CRT with 7 channels and a couple of radio stations. The walls were thin enough to be disturbed by next door's occasionally barking dog and a man's loud snoring on the second night of our stay.
No option for 'Do Not Disturb'. The room doors do not have handles on the outside so no place to hang a 'DND' sign even if there was one available. This meant room service would often knock and come in to the room at around 9am even if you want a lay in. Be prepared to shout through the door to come back later/ the next day, or just be up and dressed by 8 to be safe.
The Gym and Pool were small, run down (i.e rust over gym machines, missing door locks on showers), but adequate if only 3 or 4 people using it. The pool well heated. Use of the Solarium was not part of the £4 cost for using leisure facilities.
There was a ballroom with cabaret, arcades, a couple of pool tables and a bar, but we didn't make use of these.
Breakfast was fine with lots of staff on hand the keep things tidy. Served until 10am, there was bacon, toast, beans, fruit, cereal and enough variety on the whole. Let down by inedible sausages, watery scrambled eggs and juice machine didn't always work.
Check out was 10am. An hour earlier than most hotels I've stayed at.
I don't regret my stay, and was prepared to except a less than perfect standard, but not sure if I could visit again and would rather spend an extra £10-15 a night to stay at a nicer budget hotel.

Reviewed by
Ben K

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

When I was there I had a fantastic time
staff were fab, entertainment fab, food fab

Reviewed by
s scott

From Canterbury, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst hotel we have ever stayed in
We are just back from a short three day break at the Burstin, and need another break to recover from it. On arrival we had to ask for our room to be recleaned due to the state of the bathroom, the room smelt of weed and old smoke and it had marks all over the walls and celing. That pattern of rundown tiredness continued throughout the whole hotel - there was a musty smell and there was dust everywhere - my partner infact has a dust allergy and used a full packet of hayfever tablets during that one night. We went out and purchased cleaning products for our room to make it habitable after the bath was "recleaned" and had luckily brought our own towels from home with us - the stained off white ones presented would have been more at home in a skip.
On the first night we were awoken by the fire alarm at 5am to which they sounded out a tannoy for 15 minutes after stating it was a false alarm meaning we didnt get back to sleep after our seven hour drive. This also was set off again on our last night; to be fair we were greatful for the wakeup call meaning we could get up and leave as quickly as possible.
The breakfast was ultimately inedible; the orange juice (if thats what it was) was sour with white bits floating in it and the food was tasteless - infact i think childrens plastic play food would have had more appease and taste.
NEVER AGAIN! DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL!!

Reviewed by
Kay E

From Salford, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great service, great accommodation.
When Laterooms failed to process my booking and the guy on the end of the phone wasnt any help, the receptionist at the Burstin was more than helpful and managed to help resolve the issue.

Reviewed by
D Johnson

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent.
excellent part from the booking. I booked for 2 rooms, when we arrived reception could not find the second booking/ this was very worrying. they found another room for the 2nd couple.

Reviewed by
leonard sutton

From Braintree, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff are very helpful
All thow hotel is old the staff made my stay memorable and it was very god value for money

Reviewed by
C Cresswell

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next