Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Kent > Channel Tunnel Hotels > The Grand Burstin Hotel – A Grand Entertainment Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Grand Burstin Hotel – A Grand Entertainment Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Marine Parade , Folkestone, CT20 1TX
Superbly located by the seaside, this hotel overlooks Folkestone's picturesque harbour.

Choose Grand Burstin Hotel for your gateway to the continent, with easy access to the Port of Dover & Eurotunnel, combined with unparelled evening entertainment. The hotel is conveniently situated only a 10 minutes' walk from the main town and 3 minutes' from the beach.

All 550 en-suite bedrooms are tastefully decorated and have TV, Telephone, Hairdryer and Tea and Coffee making facilities. The Health and Leisure Club is fully equipped with and boasts a Swimming Pool, Sauna, Solarium and much more per Session:- £4.00 for an adult and £2.00 for a child.

There are two restaurants, the Victorian and the Harbour, which serve some tasty food. The Ocean bar hosts the LIVE entertainment programme, music from the resident band and bingo! Or you can dance the night away with our late night disco. WIFI is free to all guests and available in all ground floor lounge areas of the hotel.

Well behaved pet dogs are allowed in the hotel at a cost of £10.00 per night, or £25.00 per stay
Picture of The Grand Burstin Hotel – A Grand Entertainment Hotel, Folkestone at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 630 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 69% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

you get what you pay for but staff excellent friendly and helpfull entertainment was great

Reviewed by
Anthony H

From Middlewich, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Deal
If you like cheap and cheerful this is for you. No frills no class and no over pricing. The area at night at the weekends does not feel safe to walk through in the evening due to lager louts.

Reviewed by
Derek W

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room and room location was very poor

Reviewed by
Graham Watts

From Paignton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

days away
paid for premier room,shower was rubbish,no signal on tv often,bath seemed smaller. very glad of balcony because of the very hot weather. have stayed many times before in normal rooms,and got good value for money.staff are always friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
J L

From Westcliff on Sea, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

grand burstin
Nice place. Big and corporate. My pet hate is being greeted with "alright mate" and i got that here

Reviewed by
Michael M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It never gets any better
We thought the hotel may have got better but we were very wrong. Room very hot indeed, window only opens a couple of inches, no hand towels, shaver light did not work and dimly light bathroom. When showering the water did not drain away in the bath, no bath mate. All the people we spoke to, was not looking forward to going back to their rooms because of the heat , and most said they have to sit outside to keep cool, not very good for a hotel is that. The overall picture we got that there is no money spent on the hotel and it's getting worse, queues of people waiting for the lifts, and some not working. We gave it a try again, but it will be our last visit.

Reviewed by
N Missons

From Lowestoft, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very outdated
This hotel is like a 2* all it needs is to have a major overhaul to bring it up to a good standard! lifts look like they are newish but walls,decor , carpet, sofas, bedroom furniture are so outdated they are in desperate need of redoing, breakfast was buffet with a very good selection, eggs, bacon, sausage, beans. Tomotoes mushrooms and even black pudding aswell as cereals, yogurt and tea/coffe/juice altho there was over 500 rooms fully booked there was a good stock of food but sadly a long queue for the 2 toasters so ended up with just bread! Didn't eat dinner here but plenty of places nearby and fresh seafood stalls across the road!
My room was on the first floor in A wing, names on doors could do with changing as sounded like a prison, I had view of harbour but I also had the roof above the entrance which the seagulls seem to nest, lots of bird poo on window! It had 2 single beds even tho I booked a double so waited 2 hrs for that to be sorted! Busy busy hotel but local to everything and clean bedding.
All in all it was a bargain at £65 for 1 night with breakfast as long as you don't expect too much!! I didn't go to evening entertainment even tho I heard it, seemed like karaoke!
I will stay there again but I noticed there were some carpeted stairs off the bar area which must be higher priced rooms which I'd gladly pay to stay in,
Swimming pool was closed for cleaning so didn't get to go in it! Looked small for the size of hotel, just don't expect too much if like me you like luxury :)

Reviewed by
Bridget P

From Dagenham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I have stayed a few times in the past, also ay you outlet in blackpool a couple or tomes.
I like in particular the Burstin, I have updated a couple of times in the past and had a grand view of the harbour, and the sunrise around 5.30. Wonderful. This time on arrival I asked reception to please cover the pillars and duvet with cotton sheets as I am allergic to your new feather bedding. This was of course done by the time I entered the room. The room was a nice double facing west. I will of course be back.

Reviewed by
michael steventon

From Staines upon Thames, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value For Money
Needs a good clean chairs in function bar stained and tables sticky need new chairs in lounge and reception area, Asked to pay £14 for 4 nights parking which is fine but if you move your car not guaranteed to get a space, lot of vehicles not displaying parking tickets workmen's vans taking up 2 3 or even 4 spaces Dose not seem to be policed, Did not use my car during stay but came back one afternoon works van parked within 1 inch of drivers door. Been to this hotel 4 times before seems to have gone down hill a bit but still good value for money. Know I sound a bit picky but its the little things make all the difference hope its a little better next time .

Reviewed by
stephen gratton

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not premier!!
Booked a premier room as wanted better room but was no different to a standard room a lampshade was missing just a exposed bulb requested a No Smoking room but got a smoking one which was alfull as smelt of smoke, didn't like the idea that you had to pay to park in the hotel car park oh and the breakfast was only just edible!!

Reviewed by
Julie C

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next