Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Kent > Channel Tunnel Hotels > The Grand Burstin Hotel – A Grand Entertainment Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Grand Burstin Hotel – A Grand Entertainment Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Marine Parade , Folkestone, CT20 1TX
Superbly located by the seaside, this hotel overlooks Folkestone's picturesque harbour.

Choose Grand Burstin Hotel for your gateway to the continent, with easy access to the Port of Dover & Eurotunnel, combined with unparelled evening entertainment. The hotel is conveniently situated only a 10 minutes' walk from the main town and 3 minutes' from the beach.

All 550 en-suite bedrooms are tastefully decorated and have TV, Telephone, Hairdryer and Tea and Coffee making facilities. The Health and Leisure Club is fully equipped with and boasts a Swimming Pool, Sauna, Solarium and much more per Session:- £4.00 for an adult and £2.00 for a child.

There are two restaurants, the Victorian and the Harbour, which serve some tasty food. The Ocean bar hosts the LIVE entertainment programme, music from the resident band and bingo! Or you can dance the night away with our late night disco. WIFI is free to all guests and available in all ground floor lounge areas of the hotel.

Well behaved pet dogs are allowed in the hotel at a cost of £10.00 per night, or £25.00 per stay
Picture of The Grand Burstin Hotel – A Grand Entertainment Hotel, Folkestone at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 575 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
63% recommended this accommodation to a friend 69% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room location was not good
The room over looked a flat roof which was covered with litter and cigarette buts

Reviewed by
derrick barratt

From Bexleyheath, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great all round hotel . only small downside is that the lounge furniture needs renewing

Reviewed by
christine h

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was clean but we couldn't use the shower.
When I mentioned it to the reception I was made to feel like a complainer by the duty manager,she had an attitude problem and shouldn't be in a business dealing with the public.

Reviewed by
eric buckle

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money we chose this hotel as we were travelling on the Eurotunnel the next morning so took away the stress of travelling in a rush

Reviewed by
K Pearson

From Burntwood, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grand Burstin
Wonderful hotel, good entertainment, friendly staff, beautiful location, first class food. good value for money.

Reviewed by
gerry williams

From Barking, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recent Stay
The hotel needs to be modernised/updated, our bedroom had plaster missing from the walls, the bath needed to be replaced, the wallpaper was coming off of the walls in the bedroom, the furniture was very very old fashioned.
The food in the restaurant for breakfast and evening meal was a good quality and a reasonable amount of choice, althugh if something ran out they did not always replace it, this should of been replaced immediately and not allowed to run out.

Reviewed by
L Album

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel has been open for many years and shows its age in places. We had an excellent stay with a wonderful view over the harbour. The staff were friendly and efficient, dealing with large numbers of guests daily.
No sign of any asylum seekers.
Breakfast was a buffet with good hot food.

Reviewed by
Philip V

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely Awful - Do not stay here unless there are no cardboard boxes available!
We travel often and stay in many hotels but Never have we stayed in such an awful Hotel. If I had an enemy I would not even put him through staying at The Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkstone. When we arrived the young man at Reception said which room can we chuck you in!. The room allocated was dirty, run down and in great need of refurbishment, the bathroom had a shower that was falling off the wall and the sink, toilet and room was disgusting covered in dirt, mould and the toiletries were half used. I went for a swim and sauna and when I went into the sauna I was greeted with an empty tin of Stella Artois on the floor, a cigarette butt and a used razor blade. We decided to attempt to eat at the Hotel Bar and when I went to order a Steak and Chips the Barman (Named Nick) said, no steak left you need to choose something else so I asked for a Jacket Potato and he replied, depends what filling you want depends on whether you can have that! I replied what about a toasted sandwich and he replied Na none available! I went to the Reception to complain and was told the Duty Manager was too busy to deal with customers and I should come back later or complain online. I have taken many photographs of the room, the restaurant, the public areas which I will use to make a complaint but happy to share with anyone. To Park in the Hotel Car Park you have to pay 3pound 50 which doesn't't even guarantee you a space, it's over crowded, and if you leave the hotel and return to the car park chances are you will not get a parking space and will need to park elsewhere as we had too. Do not stay here it is absolutely awful.

Reviewed by
Dean Murch MBE

From Paderborn, Germany
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy Hols!
We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel - the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly - and there was a really jolly holiday atmosphere around the hotel with all the coach parties staying there. The room was basic but okay (it might be worth the hotel making some rooms a bit more modern and charging slightly more?) - the food and drinks were really cheap. We really enjoyed the happy positive atmosphere around the hotel. One slight negative is that the lady who was clearing the breakfast tables around us made a lot of noise clattering dishes and scraping chairs across the floor - it would have made breakfast a bit more pleasant if the clearing away was done in a quieter manner - and it would have been nice to have some gentle music in the dining room.

Reviewed by
Fiona M

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

worst hotel i have ever stayed in
would not recommend it

Reviewed by
a raynor

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next