Reviews - The Grand Burstin Hotel – A Grand Entertainment Hotel


Marine Parade, Folkestone, CT20 1TX

Price From 53.84 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (343)

66% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • R Cooper

  • September 2015

Very good quick to help with all our needs

I love staying here we stay about 25-30 times a year the staff are lovey and help full the food nices there not a bad thing to say about this hotel

  • Carol S

  • September 2015

The Grand Burstin Hotel – A Grand Entertainment Hotel

Good value however needs an upgrade

  • david jones

  • September 2015

The Grand Burstin Hotel – A Grand Entertainment Hotel

We arrived on the Friday night about 7.00pm and struggled to get a parking space, once we had parked up we went to check in but it was like a cattle market.

When we got into our room the ceiling t lies were hanging down and were black with hand marks, patio windows to the balcony looked as if the had not been cleaned in months. The following morning we went for breakfast which was cold and swimming in grease. At the check I was asked if I had parked in the hotel car park which I had only to find out a fortnight later that they did not Owen the car park and it was a private company this then cost us £60.00 in a parking fine, I would not recommended this hotel to my worst enemy.

  • David N

  • August 2015

Folkstone surprise

The decor was old and worn out.

Doors hard to close quietly with locking system in use.

We booked a twin room and were given a double, too tired to object. From late bookings, booked harbour/ sea view and yes could see water but actually overlooked back of hotel and other building,could have saved £20 pounds and booked "any" room.

  • Danny m

  • August 2015

ok for overnight but no longer

Stayed 1 night as getting early euro tunnel next day.

Sofas in foyer very ripped and worn, room very outdated and bathroom needed a good scrub. Hadn't pre booked breakfast so has to go in Victorian restaurant, had to put bread through toaster 5 times before it looked like toast!. Rest of food was dry.

  • Marilyn D

  • August 2015

If Wetherspoons did hotels......

Don't be fooled by the photos, this is definitely only a 2 star hotel (if that).

The furniture in the bar was falling to bits and the whole hotel needs refurbishment. The breakfast was about adequate but did not inspire us to eat in the buffet restaurant which closed at 8 p.m. anyway. The waiter service restaurant only does lunches so the only food available after 8 p.m. is bar snacks and the bar closes at 11 p.m.. This would not be a problem if anything was actually open in Folkestone on a Sunday evening. The only thing I can say about the hotel is that the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • P Gardonyi

  • August 2015

This hotel is the worst I've ever stayed at.

I genuinely believe that you need to be paid to stay here. Despite a requesting a non-smoking room, this was clearly ignored as every room is a 'designated smoking' room. The floor was covered in something disgusting, there were cigarette burns in the bath, and the worst part was that the sliding doors don't even lock and anyone could climb over the balcony and come in. Genuinely disgusting.

  • Adrian C

  • August 2015

Pet Friendly Hotel

We went to Folkestone to take the dog on holiday so she could have some fun on the beach.

Having found dog friendly beaches in August, I decided to book the hotel that was nearest to these beaches for 1 night. I was rather concerned that a large hotel would except a large dog, but I was wrong. We saw many other people with dogs and this was reassuring. We arrived early, and the welcome was friendly and we has a quick meal at the bar with the dog whilst our rooms were getting ready. Our room was pleasant with a small window looking over the harbour, and a single and double bed. The old VHS casssette player/TV was OK just. The room was clean and the coffee/tea making facilities were good. The only downsides were that a nightclub near the hotel was rather loud and some other guests were outside being rather raucous (Not youngsters but people in their 30s and 40s ), but I guess the hotel cannot help that. The breakfast was a self-service buffet of scrambled eggs, fried eggs, bacn, sausage, black pudding, hash browns, fried bread, beans tomatoes, a selection of cereals, and some tinned peaches and prunes, tea coffee juice and toast. The food was OK, nothing special, but at least we were all full for the day.

  • roswitha K

  • August 2015

If possible, not again.

Like a time machine to the 70s.

Everything is old except things that no longer work. On the balcony, you will be attacked by nesting gulls. To get out of the harbor in the city you walk past dilapidated houses. Way too expensive for one night, but it was the only remaining hotel that was available near Dover. One fifth cheaper might be okay.

  • C Griffiths

  • July 2015

The room was good and spacious.

The bathroom was a bit jeded and would need a relooking. There is no WIFI and the restaurant closes too early. There is no Children channel. The parking was problematic.

It was fine for one night before a long journey.