No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Lighthouse Inn Folkestone

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
111 Old Dover Road, , , Folkestone, CT18 7HT
The Lighthouse Inn near Folkestone in Kent is located on top of the White Cliffs of Dover in the picturesque village of Capel-le-Ferne. From the hotel's windows you have stunning views of the English Channel and the surrounding Kent countryside. The Channel Tunnel – the undersea rail tunnel linking Folkestone and the French city of Coquelles near Calais and the Port of Dover are nearby, also very convenient? for the cruise terminal at Dover. The family run business welcomes you with its comfortable rooms, friendly staff, authentic Thai and home cooked English food and a bar featuring a wide selection of beers, international and award winning local wines, many brands of whiskeys and malts. Bikers welcome - ample parking available. We also welcome dogs on lead in our garden room. The Lighthouse Inn is a wonderful place to stay for business or pleasure. It's amazing setting offers plenty of opportunities to escape and explore the surrounding area.
Picture of The Lighthouse Inn Folkestone, Folkestone at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 8 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A handy stopover.
I stayed for just one night at The Lighthouse on my way to catch a ferry to France.
There is nothing very exciting about The Lighthouse. I arrived quite late (22.00) and there was no food available which was disappointing.
The room was adequate but somewhat spartan.
The breakfast was ok but nothing very special.
The whole place needs a good re-vamp urgently.

Reviewed by
M Bain

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay Great staff in a beautiful part of the country
A very peaceful stay in a clean room with great food and magnificent views from the top of the white cliffs (a sheer drop about 50ft away so keeping hold of little hands is a must!!)A five minute drive gets you to Folkestone and a 15/20 min drive takes you to hythe and dymchurch where you will find the hythe and dymchurch miniature railway which is brilliant alongside lots of little arcades and gift shops as well as great pebble and sandy beaches. Really friendly helpful staff although on handing in our key didn't get chance to give our thanks as they must have all been busy!!

Reviewed by
P Richardson

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel, amazing views.
We stayed in the Family Room with our two young children. The room was clean and spacious, and there was a bath as well as a shower in the ensuite which is great as the kids are a bit young for a shower. The beds were lovely and comfy, and there were lovely sea views from the huge bay window. The staff were very welcoming and the breakfast was really nice. The only small bit of constructive criticism I can give would be that it would be good to have darker curtains in the room as there was an external light which shone right in. It's turned off when the bar etc closes for the night so probably isn't a problem for most people, but given we had little ones, we were in bed well before that time.

Reviewed by
katy s

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rom clean and comfortable. Some music noise came up from the bar but fortunately this stopped at 10.30pm.

Reviewed by
Stephen B

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over night stay
The outside could do with a lick of paint but the room was lovely and the staff fantastic.

Reviewed by
Derek Wotton

From Rochester, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, nice fully equipped room, well decorated
Stopped over a night here whilst visiting Port Lympne safari park, friendly staff and a nice room.
if you get time to wander round Folkstone on a sunny day it's not far at all, great location by the sea.

Reviewed by
Ben L

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good place to stay and friendly people who run it, nothing was to much trouble.the breakfast was very good .great entertainment really enjoyed our stay ,will go back again

Reviewed by
c kay

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were greeted by the very friendly owner of the hotel and made to feel very welcome.
The hotel was very clean and warm and our room was spacious with excellent facilites.
As we had an early start the following morning we were unable to have breakfast as service did not start until 8am,however the owner very kindly arranged sandwiches for our onward journey.

Reviewed by
Lorraine Dowson

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.