Reviews - Salomons

4

Salomons Estate, Broomhill Road, Southborough, Tunbridge Wells, TN3 0TG

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (49)

73% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • DAVID S

  • August 2015

Disappointing

As you drive up the drive you are blown away by the imposing building which you assume is the hotel...well it is....kind of..

The reception, lounges, bar and restaurant are there but the accommodation is in wooden student accommodation. To be fair they have done their best to make it look and feel 4 star but it doesnt quite work. Everything creaked every time someone came in the building and the room was warm and stuffy even when it was cool outside. I was glad to see plans for new accommodation which looks the part but sadly the current arrangement left us disappointed.

  • K Allam

  • July 2015

A little disappointing

I think one of the biggest disappointments was that the accommodation is off up the hill in some uninspiring institutional looking blocks.

The web site and reality didn't really marry up.

  • Stephen T

  • June 2015

Great place to stay

Initially a little disappointed as a wedding was taking place over our visit but the quality of service and accommodation we received was faultless.

The staff set up special rooms so that non wedding guests could eat and drink and the service they provided was excellent. The accommodation was very clean and the hotel grounds were lovely to stroll around. We would recommend Salomons especially the customer service experience.

  • J Hill

  • June 2015

Didn't live up to expectations

The Old Hall and grounds have a faded charm and quirky historical points of interest that should make this a great destination.

However, the sleeping accommodation is in charmless 60's ex-student blocks which really spoils the experience.

Having said that, things were clean and tidy and the staff were helpful.

  • John B

  • June 2015

Garden of England

The Salomon Estate puts my faith back in the known long term title of Kent being the Garden of England.

The estate, buildings, staff, accommodation, food and are absolutely superb. The staff were very informative, giving advice when required. The food was excellent served in a very serene, clean and airy dining area. The accommodation was very good, again clean, the ambiance very restful, we both had a very good nights sleep woken only by the birds singing. The garden and grounds are superb, well tended with the added bonus of all the wildlife so often not found,

  • Rose Singleton

  • April 2015

Lovely Hotel and very helpful staff

We stayed here for a wedding so just one night, bu the staff couldn't do enough on check-in and allowed a later check-out to tie in with our transfer times.

Rooms were lovely and absolutely spotless. Couldn't fault it. Thank you.

  • C Furniss

  • April 2015

Hen do

We stayed here before my sisters hen do.

the room was clean and the shower worked well. thought it was a bit odd to have the wardrobe in the bathroom. Would have liked some hot chocolate sachets in the room rather than having to order room service or walk down the hill to the main building.

  • David G

  • March 2015

Overpriced and pretentious

Check in and check out process painfully slow.

When I booked the room I wasn't told that it was 250 yards uphill from the main block. A mini bar in the room would be good idea. Decorations and finishing look shoddy and "temporary". For this price I would have expected a decent breakfast. There was little choice of fruit and no cooked fish. Coffee is out of an urn and definitely not fresh

  • Emma F

  • March 2015

Not quite what it seems

The accommodation in which I stayed in this hotel is not in the manor house displayed in the hotel's promotional images.

Instead, you stay in an accommodation 'block' which is a distance from the main building. The rooms there are absolutely fine but lack the period features you might expect from the image of the estate. I can't fault the standards of the whole place, the staff were very good, but the rooms were rather 'Travelodge' and I wouldn't be happy to pay any more for a night's stay, expecting a top-end experience.

  • Michael P

  • March 2015

Salomans hotel review.

Very impressed with my stay at Salomans hotel.Booked a room via laterooms.com as was taking my girlfriend away for a weekend In Kent as she lives in the City.First impressions are amazing,the grounds in which the hotel are set in are amazing,has a Downton Abbey feel to the place.

The receptionist Gabby couldn't have been more friendly and inviting,she arranged a cab and a restaurant booking in Tunbridge Wells which was very helpful.The accomadtion are purpose built flats which are quite modern when compared to the Manor House that you're greeted with upon arrival,but the room was spacious and good value. I would go back without hesitation,thank you Gabbi & the rest of the staff for making our stay memorable.