No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Royal Oak

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Main Street, , , Gillamoor, YO62 7HX
This traditional Grade II listed building is the ideal place to relax after a long walk through the countryside, with open log fires and oak beamed ceilings, you can enjoy the comfortable and friendly atmosphere; along with the best cask ales and excellent cuisine, which is all cooked fresh to order. Besides the endless walks through fabulous countryside, there are many other local attractions to enjoy. Why not visit Ryedale Folk Museum, North Yorks Moors Steam Railway, Rievaulx and Byland Abbeys, Nunnington Hall, Eden Camp or the stately homes of Duncombe Park and Castle Howard. If you're still searching for exercise, you can try out one of the Golf Courses located nearby. Whether you're in need of a weekend getaway, a holiday, or just an overnight stay, the Royal Oak Inn, with our 4 Star Tourist Board rating, can accommodate you. Our 8 bedrooms are both comfortable and elegant, and are all well-equipped with en-suite bathrooms and all the luxuries of a home away from home. Nestled in the peaceful village of Gillamoor, amongst the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors, The Royal Oak Inn is placed in an idyllic part of the world. Surrounded by many miles of countryside, the village of Gillamoor is the ideal place for walking and hiking, whilst relaxing in the beautiful setting of the Moors. Other places of interest include the stately homes of Castle Howard and Duncombe Park, together with local market towns of Kirkbymoorside, Helmsley, Pickering and Thirsk. The coastal resorts of Whitby and Scarborough are also within easy reach.
Picture of The Royal Oak, Gillamoor at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2014 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Regally royal Oak
Weekend break at the Royal Oak was a welcome tonic. Hats off to the management and staff for providing the basis for a stress free break. Accommodation, food and drinks all excellent. Will not hesitate to return. 10 out of 10 all round.

Reviewed by
a bretherton

From Leyland, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely accommodation and fantastic staff
The staff were really friendly and helpful. I would definatley recommend to friends and family. Although the village is small there are beautiful walks to other towns and villages.

Reviewed by
Poppy H

From Ripon, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth a visit
This is a lovely village Inn. Staff very friendly, food excellent, accommodation clean and comfortable. One of the few places I have visited where I have sort out the chefs to thank them for their quality of food. This place is in a small village off the beaten track in beautiful walking country. Will definitely be going back.

Reviewed by
Mark T

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent food and service, lovely area
The food, and the creative menu, were excellent, with great friendly service. The hotel was generally clean and tidy, good facilities in the room, although it was a little overcrowded - a smaller wardrobe would have sufficed, I suggest.
Our only small gripe was that our room was a little noisy, being over the rear residential/staff entrance to the hotel. Therefore, we were woken by the closing of the door, both at the end of the evening and in the early morning.
Otherwise, an excellent and most enjoyable stay and an ideal base for exploring the wonderful North Yorks Moors.

Reviewed by
Adrian Shuttleworth

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just what we wanted
The Royal Oak was just what we needed - a lovely base in the North York Moors area, away from (but within easy reach of) the main tourist areas. Gillamoor is a lovely quite village, but the restaurant is very busy on an evening - it's certainly more of an eatery than a pub. The food is very good - tasty and decent sized portions - but it is perhaps just a tad overpriced. The room was a reasonable size, and everything was nice and clean. The staff, especially the lady who dealt with our booking, were exceptional - helpful and attentive.

Reviewed by
Sarah L

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very welcoming great choice on menu and very reasonable will almost certainly be back for another stay

Reviewed by
p latchford

From Mauchline, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent food. Nice clean room- some comfy chairs in our room would have been welcome.

Reviewed by
Fiona E

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pre Easter break
Only booked 3 days before travelling, as we were unable to stay at our usual hotel in Yorkshire, this proved to be a good omen as the Royal oak stay was superb, whilst the room was not that large it was very clean, had everything we needed and the shower was hot and powerful.
The staff were excellent and both breakfast which was included and dinner which we had on all 3 nights and offered a great menu was both plentiful and well served

Reviewed by
N Sherwood

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just returned from a three night stay at this lovely pub. Well we could not fault it, the rooms were very clean,and the food was excellent and and very good value for the money which was well presented and always hot at every meal.The staff where very freindly and curtious. We would definatley stay here again.Mick & Sue Garner Lincoln

Reviewed by
MICHAEL GARNER

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.