Reviews - The Royal Oak


Main Street, ,, Gillamoor, YO62 7HX

Price From 181.83 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (16)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Richard C

  • June 2015

Yellow Bellies

Would definitely stay here again.

Everything was excellent except the room was quite small & my husband struggled in the small shower. The food was excellent & also quite large quantities. I must comment that I think we took the last room because we only booked on our way into Yorkshire.

  • Chrys W

  • April 2015

Excellent accommodation

Excellent welcome.

Friendly service. Superb food. Very comfortable room. A perfect relaxing break

  • P Cottrell

  • March 2015

Royal Oak, Giillamoor

Lovely accommodation, lovely food, excellent hosts.

Cracking beer!

  • Catherine H

  • February 2015

An excellent hotel

A lovely clean hotel in a beautiful location.

The food choice and quality was excellent. The staff were polite and attentive and very helpful.

  • Richard G

  • February 2015

Classic country pub

Set in a quiet little village of Gillamoor.

Ideal base for travelling about or great for just relaxing in front of the log fire with a few traditional beers before eating a quality meal. Our first time hear, but I think we will be going back.

  • Peter Brixey

  • January 2015

A Bed For The Night With Great Food

A great place to stay, Staff very good and the food if you like game is very good.

  • Pamela T

  • December 2014

Great value, good food

Highly recommended.

Room was fine, clean, plenty of products in the bathroom although a bit noisy later on when the pub/restaurant was busy. Evening meal very good, lots of local produce on the menu and not too pricey, the pub is full of character and breakfast was excellent. Gillamoor is pretty remote and it's an hour to York which was a bit further than we'd anticipated, but handy for Castle Howard, Nunnington and places like Pickering, Helmsley etc. For £70 I thought it was brilliant.

  • a bretherton

  • November 2014

Regally royal Oak

Weekend break at the Royal Oak was a welcome tonic.

Hats off to the management and staff for providing the basis for a stress free break. Accommodation, food and drinks all excellent. Will not hesitate to return. 10 out of 10 all round.

  • Poppy H

  • November 2014

Lovely accommodation and fantastic staff

The staff were really friendly and helpful.

I would definatley recommend to friends and family. Although the village is small there are beautiful walks to other towns and villages.

  • Mark T

  • October 2014

Well worth a visit

This is a lovely village Inn.

Staff very friendly, food excellent, accommodation clean and comfortable. One of the few places I have visited where I have sort out the chefs to thank them for their quality of food. This place is in a small village off the beaten track in beautiful walking country. Will definitely be going back.