No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Oddfellows Arms

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
40 Low Street, , , Sherburn in Elmet, LS25 6BA
The OddFellows Arms boasts six newly re-furbished rooms all with brand new en-suite facilities perfect for those who are working locally or ideal for those visiting the 'York Races'. Situated in the heart of historic Sherburn-In-Elmet, The Oddfellows Arms is ideal for those visiting locally or working in the area, within close proximity between Leeds and York. The Oddfellows Arms prides itself in sourcing ingredients from local producers in North Yorkshire, ensuring quality and supporting local business. At the Oddfellows Arms we pride ourselves on consistent quality from the products through to the service. Tony, Annette and the team provide a friendly warm welcome to all our customers both new and old. We have three rooms to accommodate for every taste, firstly our dining lounge which seats around 50 people and holds adequate space for a dance on the weekends enjoying our live musical events. Secondly, we have the tap room which boasts two televisions showing live sports and in the Winter providing a large wood fire. Our Sports room provides a pool table, a quiz machine and a gambling machine for those who are over 18. To the rear of the pub we have our Beer Garden which can hold numerous people and is also our smoking area as it is covered by our electronic canopy with heaters and lights. Ample parking is available to the rear of the pub.
Picture of The Oddfellows Arms, Sherburn in Elmet at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
62% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't Go
Arrived for overnight stay late Sunday afternoon.
Staff very friendly, accommodation appalling. Only window was in the door to the outside, and no obvious ventilation other than a single small airvent. Room basic to say the least. Breakfast at 8am or presumably not at all. No food on Sunday. Only place to eat out in Sherburn after 6pm on a Sunday seems to be an unlicensed, and not particularly good, Indian Restaurant next door.
My worst Laterooms encounter to date.

Reviewed by
Mike R

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Travelling by M/Cycle overnight stay
The room was clean, bed firm but comfortable, unfortunately the kitchen was closed when I arrived so had to eat out.
Bar was friendly, beer good, Breakfast was very good kept me going until i reached Cairnryan.

Reviewed by
John H

From Newtownards, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A quick stay over on business
A very nice layout. T.V .A nice shower in the morning. This little block of rooms is nicely situated at the back of the main odd fellows pub.With plenty of parking space for guest I found. A nice little village with not far to go for the railway station.This guest house is in a nice spot. The staff are very helpful and pleasant.

Reviewed by
Paul D

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good room but basic service
small, comfortable room, you pay the money first before seeing the outside accomodation, when asked for a receipt it was scribbled on a piece of paper 'as they don't normally do one', the room was very cold with no heating controls so you have to go into the public bar & ask to have the heating put on, 'not good'. breakfast started at a very late 9.00am, when i decided to have breakfast after all, the pub was locked up with no-one about so you could not get any anyway. At £30.00 a night it would be more reasonable at £20.00.

Reviewed by
c toynton

From Elgin, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our overnight stay at Oddfellows
The pub is not very appealing from outside but is clean and tidy inside. The rooms are around the back in upstairs/ downstairs apartments facing car park. Our double room had a window, comfortable bed and small but adequate bathroom with shower. The shower was clean/modern but very poor water pressure. Plenty of good quality towels, tea/coffee making stuff and flat screen TV. Ironing board & hair drier available from bar etc. BUT at about 6am the most awful noise from either a generator or AC spoiled our sleep!! Really bad and for that reason would not go back even if it is a cheap place to stay ie. £45 per night. We were not asked what we wanted for breakfast and gave up waiting after 20mins and left ! The pub does do food but landlords wife was away at time! There are a few restaurants nearby either fish & chips or Indian plus a very expensive boutique place where you need a second mortgage to pay the bill. A few small supermarkets and a couple of other pubs but otherwise nothing to write home about. Might be handy for somebody looking for cheap B&B near York which is only half hr away.

Reviewed by
j cairns

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good weekend
great all round service

Reviewed by
m westoby

From Hessle, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place, shame about the shower!
A nice little pub with a block of rooms in a separate building at the back. The shower was worse than useless! There was virtually no pressure, to the point that when you finally got some soap on your body, there wasn't enough water flowing through to wash it off. Don't even attempt to wash your hair!!! This is the only reason I wouldn't recomment this place to a friend.
Having said that the food in the pub was fantastic a small menu with only about 4 starters and 7-8 main dishses, but something for everyone and cooked to perfection.
We stayed here before spending the following day in York and it was only 20 mins from the Park and Ride and easily accessible from the A1.

Reviewed by
Ann S

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights. The accomodation was perfectly adequate for our purposes, not luxurious but it was clean and had an en suite shower room. We ate on the first night in the pub and the food was excellent and the service good. The meals are enormous! We had breakfast the next morning which was fine. They do not serve meals all the time so be sure to check on arrival. The village is small but has several shops for goodies. The indian next door is a byo on alchohol which we found out after sitting down to order - no signage in the window!! All in all, for the price we paid, we had no complaints.

Reviewed by
R Grimes

From Askam in Furness, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night in Sheburn
The room was adequate, for the cost. A couple of little bits knocked from a 6 down to a 5.
A net curtain over the door window would have been nice, given tge lack of any other window.

Reviewed by
C Davey

From Hyde, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I stayed one night as I was attending a weddding locally. The welcome was very friendly and the staff upgraded me to a double room as they had one spare. It was clean, comfortable and I could let my self in and out as I pleased and there was parking just outside the building. The power of the shower was quite weak but no real problem (sorry - I forgot to mention this). I felt very safe on my own.
My cooked breakfast the next morning was one of the best I'd eaten in a long time and the friendly chat with the landlady was great too.

Reviewed by
Ann D

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next