No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Oddfellows Arms

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
40 Low Street, , , Sherburn in Elmet, LS25 6BA
The OddFellows Arms boasts six newly re-furbished rooms all with brand new en-suite facilities perfect for those who are working locally or ideal for those visiting the 'York Races'. Situated in the heart of historic Sherburn-In-Elmet, The Oddfellows Arms is ideal for those visiting locally or working in the area, within close proximity between Leeds and York. The Oddfellows Arms prides itself in sourcing ingredients from local producers in North Yorkshire, ensuring quality and supporting local business. At the Oddfellows Arms we pride ourselves on consistent quality from the products through to the service. Tony, Annette and the team provide a friendly warm welcome to all our customers both new and old. We have three rooms to accommodate for every taste, firstly our dining lounge which seats around 50 people and holds adequate space for a dance on the weekends enjoying our live musical events. Secondly, we have the tap room which boasts two televisions showing live sports and in the Winter providing a large wood fire. Our Sports room provides a pool table, a quiz machine and a gambling machine for those who are over 18. To the rear of the pub we have our Beer Garden which can hold numerous people and is also our smoking area as it is covered by our electronic canopy with heaters and lights. Ample parking is available to the rear of the pub.
Picture of The Oddfellows Arms, Sherburn in Elmet at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 32 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Oddfellows Arms
Me and my husband stayed here before going for a days shopping in York. Room was clean and tidy and the breakfast was well worth the £6, unfortunately my husband could not eat his as the night before he had far to much to drink. There was a band playing and there was a really good atmosphere in the pub. The people and host were really friendly. Would definetly recommend odd fellows. Ten out of ten for us.

Reviewed by
Amanda Snowden

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

staff excellent nice room just the job!

Reviewed by
m lootes

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable & Comfortable Stay
An enjoyable and comfortable overnight stay. Room clean, double glazed with central heating located in a separate block away from high street noise (not that I thought any is likely) with adequate parking.
Sure, water pressure was a little low but there's a pump to compensate and you'll manage without any problems even if its perhaps not as good as you get at home.
Indian restaurant, chinese takeaway, fish and chip shop, Spar and Tesco Express all within a couple of minutes walk away. Good breakfast, but food otherwise not available on a Saturday night
My stay was for one night but would have been happy to stay for a week and will bear in mind for future trips.

Reviewed by
Guy W

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed here for weekend unfortunately were not doing evening meals as live music on Sat and only serve lunch time on Sun. Room was comfortable and clean breakfast was good land lady friendly. good value for money.2 pubs only a mile away (one in each direction) both served great evening meals.

Reviewed by
Eileen Churchman

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay at Oddfellows
A pleasant country pub, with good hosts and great value accomodation

Reviewed by
Mark S

From St Leonards on Sea, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't Go
Arrived for overnight stay late Sunday afternoon.
Staff very friendly, accommodation appalling. Only window was in the door to the outside, and no obvious ventilation other than a single small airvent. Room basic to say the least. Breakfast at 8am or presumably not at all. No food on Sunday. Only place to eat out in Sherburn after 6pm on a Sunday seems to be an unlicensed, and not particularly good, Indian Restaurant next door.
My worst Laterooms encounter to date.

Reviewed by
Mike R

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Travelling by M/Cycle overnight stay
The room was clean, bed firm but comfortable, unfortunately the kitchen was closed when I arrived so had to eat out.
Bar was friendly, beer good, Breakfast was very good kept me going until i reached Cairnryan.

Reviewed by
John H

From Newtownards, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A quick stay over on business
A very nice layout. T.V .A nice shower in the morning. This little block of rooms is nicely situated at the back of the main odd fellows pub.With plenty of parking space for guest I found. A nice little village with not far to go for the railway station.This guest house is in a nice spot. The staff are very helpful and pleasant.

Reviewed by
Paul D

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good room but basic service
small, comfortable room, you pay the money first before seeing the outside accomodation, when asked for a receipt it was scribbled on a piece of paper 'as they don't normally do one', the room was very cold with no heating controls so you have to go into the public bar & ask to have the heating put on, 'not good'. breakfast started at a very late 9.00am, when i decided to have breakfast after all, the pub was locked up with no-one about so you could not get any anyway. At £30.00 a night it would be more reasonable at £20.00.

Reviewed by
c toynton

From Elgin, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our overnight stay at Oddfellows
The pub is not very appealing from outside but is clean and tidy inside. The rooms are around the back in upstairs/ downstairs apartments facing car park. Our double room had a window, comfortable bed and small but adequate bathroom with shower. The shower was clean/modern but very poor water pressure. Plenty of good quality towels, tea/coffee making stuff and flat screen TV. Ironing board & hair drier available from bar etc. BUT at about 6am the most awful noise from either a generator or AC spoiled our sleep!! Really bad and for that reason would not go back even if it is a cheap place to stay ie. £45 per night. We were not asked what we wanted for breakfast and gave up waiting after 20mins and left ! The pub does do food but landlords wife was away at time! There are a few restaurants nearby either fish & chips or Indian plus a very expensive boutique place where you need a second mortgage to pay the bill. A few small supermarkets and a couple of other pubs but otherwise nothing to write home about. Might be handy for somebody looking for cheap B&B near York which is only half hr away.

Reviewed by
j cairns

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next