No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Oddfellows Arms

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
40 Low Street, , , Sherburn in Elmet, LS25 6BA
The OddFellows Arms boasts six newly re-furbished rooms all with brand new en-suite facilities perfect for those who are working locally or ideal for those visiting the 'York Races'. Situated in the heart of historic Sherburn-In-Elmet, The Oddfellows Arms is ideal for those visiting locally or working in the area, within close proximity between Leeds and York. The Oddfellows Arms prides itself in sourcing ingredients from local producers in North Yorkshire, ensuring quality and supporting local business. At the Oddfellows Arms we pride ourselves on consistent quality from the products through to the service. Tony, Annette and the team provide a friendly warm welcome to all our customers both new and old. We have three rooms to accommodate for every taste, firstly our dining lounge which seats around 50 people and holds adequate space for a dance on the weekends enjoying our live musical events. Secondly, we have the tap room which boasts two televisions showing live sports and in the Winter providing a large wood fire. Our Sports room provides a pool table, a quiz machine and a gambling machine for those who are over 18. To the rear of the pub we have our Beer Garden which can hold numerous people and is also our smoking area as it is covered by our electronic canopy with heaters and lights. Ample parking is available to the rear of the pub.
Picture of The Oddfellows Arms, Sherburn in Elmet at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
62% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money, cheap hotel
Value for money, cheap hotel. No windows in the rooms just a small ventilator. This should be mentioned in description.

Reviewed by
S Barman

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bit disappointing

Reviewed by
G Smith

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could do better
This was the only room we could find during the Yorkshire Tour de France grand depart, with that in mind it served a purpose, being between Harrogate and York.
On arrival (Saturday evening) we were informed that no food was available, fortunately there was a good restaurant a short distance away on foot.
The room was on the ground floor and accessed via a glazed door from the car park, there were no windows, this lead to two uncomfortable and stuffy nights due to no ventilation being possible.
The room itself was a reasonable size, but the en-suite was a bit tired and what had previously been a towel rail or similar was just four screws sticking out of the wall.
We can't comment on breakfast, as it was an optional extra and we thought there would be better options elsewhere.

Reviewed by
David E

From Northampton, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worth the money!
Very nice room, breakfast was lovely and staff were nice!! Would stay again

Reviewed by
Becky B

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Oddfellows Arms stay
Basic very small room. Quite clean.
However, there were a few disappointing things:
The toilet roll was nearly finished when we came, there was not any spare and we had to ask for a new one. Towels were not changed next day. Because this room is without any drying facilities our towels stayed damp. New shampoo, soap etc were not provided next day. There is no an extractor fan in the bathroom, so, the bathroom becomes 'steamy' very quickly, and lovely new tiling is already moldy.
In addition to everything above, these rooms are quite pricy. I know a few basic hotels nearly two times cheaper, who has got more comfortable rooms, provides more facilities such as a hair dryer and free Wi-Fi, changes towels and puts new shampoo and soap every day.
What about food, it is excellent. Just normal pub meal, but very tasty and quite big portions.

Reviewed by
Yaroslava K

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

basic but clean comfortable
Basic but clean and comfortable ample parking only downside was no foid available in house at time of stay though there were plenty of places you could easily walk to.
Likely to return

Reviewed by
Raymond H

From Whitley Bay, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

does the job
we stayed overnight before going to flower show. The rooms are set back from the pub, in what seems a converted barn. Room clean an tidy, basic but OK. The only negative is that there are no windows, so cannot get any ventilation through the room. Did not have breakfast as we wanted to get away early,so cannot comment on food.

Reviewed by
Keith C

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food
I booked for B & B only to be told when I got there that the oven was not working,
So there was no breakfast so it wasn't a very good start to the day..

Reviewed by
Peter W

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A country pub with a few rooms
It is unfair to review this as you would a typical hotel. It is a small.ancient country pub in a big(ish) village with 6 rooms crafted into a barn. The rooms are great. Full ensuite, comfortable bed, well supplied with tea & coffee (bigger places take note), well heated - no complaints at all. The proprietors and the public in the pub were welcoming & friendly but you don't get customer service in any conventional sense. Breakfast has to be ordered the day before & the hostess does her best to meet the time you want but not always possible. In the context of what it is at a very modest price - well done to them.

Reviewed by
Michael T

From Lytham St Annes, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient for my purposes but would not take my wife to stay here
the young lady who took my money and gave me my key was very pleasant and helpful with information on the locality (other pubs etc). Room was on ground level of an 'outbuilding' at the rear of the pub. First of two beds in room about 15 inches from door - not much room to move in the room. Room and shower/toilet were generally clean although the carpet could do with cleaning. Would I stay here again - yes, I am retired so cost is more important to me than 'quality' and the room is only for sleeping in - not like being on holiday. Also this pub is very close to where I pursue my hobby so is ideal. Separate but relevant, beware the cost of Real Ale in the not very pleasant bar - £3.30 for 4% mass produced Sharps Doombar. Equally uninspiring John Smiths cask ale in pub 200 yards away was £2.60.

Reviewed by
Alistair Fyffe

From Skelmersdale, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 Next