No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Taste of India on the Green

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
34 The Green, Rowlands Cross, , Havant, PO9 6AB
This charming restaurant has five elegant, individually designed rooms. All rooms are en-suite with a choice of double, twin or king/family room, mostly in the quiet wing away from the bar. The Inn is conveniently close to the Coast, Portsmouth, Chichester and Petersfield. The beautiful South Downs are near by so popular with walkers and nature lovers. Goodwood is a 20 min drive away with it's famous Goodwood Revival vintage car race. Glorious Goodwood horse racing The South Coast's 'Ascot'. Rowlands Castle station is only 5 minutes walk away with trains running from London Waterloo to Portsmouth every 1/2 hour. There is a also a superb Indian Restaurant, 'Taste of India', at the Inn. Havant nearby is a seaside haven for a relaxing break or adventure holiday, excellent for water sports and leisure activities. In beautiful southern England, this is the ideal base to explore Hampshire, West Sussex, Portsmouth, Chichester, Southampton, Winchester and the the Solent,
Picture of Taste of India on the Green, Havant at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
58% recommended this accommodation to a friend 64% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely village pub
Room was lovely although the bathroom was a bit small. The bed was so uncomfortable that I wanted to get up in the middle of the night and go home! Apart from the bed everything else was fine, but the bed is a very important part of a hotel stay.

Reviewed by
C Coll

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a gas!!
Having spent a long day on the road I arrived at Taste of India on the Green at just gone 8pm to be told that the whole property was without gas as a safety check earlier in the day had resulted in a compulsory shutdown following the discovery of a leak. This meant there was no hot water, heating and no cooked breakfast would be available. Whilst I was given a small discount as compensation and moved to a room with an electric shower (which didn't work very well) I cannot understand why the owners did not call me during the day to explain the problem and give me the chance to make alternative arrangements.
It is fair to say that most people will not experience these problems but notwithstanding this the general state of repair of both the building in general and my room is very poor with wall paper peeling off the walls and doors not closing properly because of missing latches.
On the plus side, although the gas was turned off the Indian restaurant was still open with the staff taking orders and collecting them from their other restaurant a few miles away and the food was very good.

Reviewed by
Andrew P

From Truro, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great value
excellent food and friendly staff
table at breakfast was dirty and bacon tasted odd
no heating in the morning

Reviewed by
richard smith

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfy good value
A little dated, but have stayed in much worse. Was met with a friendly greeting from the owner as I stepped out of the car. Generally comfy and good value for a late booking in this part of the country. Would happily stay again.

Reviewed by
Arthur M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good curry

Reviewed by
Patrick M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

For this £ you should not expect 5* hotel - I give excellent across board as real value for money
Welcoming & really helpful staff. Room size good. En-suite perfectly adequate & clean. Above Indian restaurant & next to local pub but my Thursday night stay was really quiet and, as female travelling alone, I felt perfectly safe. Bed very comfortable if a little creaky! Plenty of pillows. TV with remote. Kettle, tea & coffee etc. New carpet in the room. Breakfast good - I declined the offer of full English but could have had if I wished. Off road parking was available on the night I stayed. Really pretty location on village green. All in all, well worth the money.

Reviewed by
Susan G

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful stay
we were treated very well and had a lovely night stay thankyou

Reviewed by
K Neate

From Brixham, England
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quaint little B&B that's great value for money. The room is small, but functional and the staff are friendly.

Reviewed by
Trishula M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff. Decor a bit tired, comfy bed and pillows.

Reviewed by
K ASHLEY

From Redditch, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not much else available
Booked a 2 night stay as we were attending a party in the area and because we left it a big late all other local accommodation was booked up. The room had seen better days and the decor was very poor. Wallpaper was peeling off, there was a broken skylight, the toilet cistern was leaking, the furniture was shabby and there was no mirror or shaving socket in the bathroom. Some lights were lacking bulbs. The whole building is in much need of attention.
We arrived a bit early and there was no obvious entrance. However, we made our presence known and were shown to our room by a waiter from the Indian restaurant. When we later met Sandra, who runs the B&B, she was very pleasant and keen to hear if everything was ok. She told us she would be there to cook our breakfast the next morning at 9am. We are used to having breakfast earlier but as it was a beautiful morning we sat outside until she arrived. She was very cheery and said she would just vacuum the restaurant floor and would then be ready for us.
We served ourselves to juice and cereal while she cooked us a good Traditional English fry up which was very satisfying. We had exactly the same on the second morning.
On the plus side the bed was comfortable with good quality linen and plenty of cosy pillows and the room and bathroom were clean and spacious. There was plenty of parking behind the building.
We have paid very similar prices in other hotels and guest houses both in the UK and abroad and the standard elsewhere was considerably higher.

Reviewed by
Paul A

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next