No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The WatersEdge, Canal Cottages

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Packet Boat Lane, Cowley, Uxbridge, UB8 2JS
The WatersEdge is a family run, independent venue that offers accommodation in the form of modern, comfortable rooms with en suite. It’s picturesque location is set on the Grand Union Canal, just a moments walk from Little Britain Lake and the River Frays. Whilst maintaining a rural feel to it’s location, The WatersEdge also benefits from excellent links to Heathrow, London, Slough and Brunel University. This makes it a perfect place to stay for business travellers, or those who are travelling to festivals, gigs and sporting events in London or Wembley.
The WatersEdge also benefits from an excellent English restaurant and bar, where you can enjoy a drink and a meal.
Private parking is available for all guests, and all rooms benefit from Freeview televisions, room service and FREE WiFi internet.
Picture of The WatersEdge, Canal Cottages, Uxbridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super spot for a short break
Visiting family close by - we stayed for one night. Accommodation clean and comfortable, nice bed mattress and bedding - shower modern and efficient. Was rather disappointed that it was not possible to upgrade to a cooked breakfast but the food provided was quite adequate and we had an al fresco meal at our patio table beside the canal! It was really lovely and made what would have been just an overnight stay into something more like a canal boat holiday! If some fruit had been supplied with our breakfast it would have made 10/10 instead of 8/10.

Reviewed by
margaret k

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relatively good value but check if there's a function on and can be noisy from neighbouring rooms.
We spent a Saturday night here for an event on in Uxbridge. On arrival we'd hoped to get a meal but unfortunately the restaurant was closed to the public for a wedding function. We walked about 20 mins to the Water Palace, which was rather good, although on the way back the final bit near the bridge was a bit spooky in the dark.
Given the setting, in an outbuilding, the room was surprisingly reasonable. The bed was fine and the room seemed nice and clean. It was a chilly night and the heating worked well.
With the wedding party on it was quite noisy, but then it probably would be on a normal Saturday night. The worst thing was the banging of the doors to the adjacent room, everytime a wedding guest went in and out (which seemed to be frequently). At least the sound proofing was poor, so we got our own back later with our snoring!
We understood it would be an in-room continental breakfast. This was perefectly adequate and even the cold, soft rolls aren't as bad as they sound when you're hungry.
The canalside location is a little different and nice if you fancy getting up early for a morning walk.
Overall we'd probably stay again but we'd avoid a weekend and we'd check in advance if we wanted a meal. It's certainly worth considering if you're looking for somewhere basic and reasonably priced, epsecially if you're a bit hard of hearing!

Reviewed by
Richard J

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money
Fantastic value for money. Basic but clean room. Pub offers really extensive menu. Staff very friendly also loyal regular customers. Great stay for graduation at Brunel.

Reviewed by
A Neale

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booked late in the day and was very impressed with the standard of our suite and the pub itself, very happy and great value for money.

Reviewed by
Jeff B

From Cwmbran, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

review
Nice room thanks

Reviewed by
A Little

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lush little stay
Just had a quite weekend away. Staff where brilliant. Generally would come back

Reviewed by
Shane B

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very convenient close
Nice room warm and clean good parking, close to heathrow , no breakfast would go again

Reviewed by
J Griffiths

From Haverfordwest, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and comfortable and well equipped
The room was a little cold (it was a cold night), but otherwise clean and comfortable and well equipped. Good value for money. I would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Trevor W

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not Good at all
The shower leaked on to the carpet all our bags where wet
Breakfast 10.30 what time is that !!
Continental Breakfast was in the room when we arrived not good the day after
lights did not work
plug sockets loose not safe
Blind did not close !!
Sink hanging off the wall
Pillows with no pillow cases

ManagementResponse

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The problem with the shower that you highlighted with us was repaired as soon as possible and unfortunately these things can and do happen. We do not open for breakfast early and this is the reason we include a free offering in the room of croissants and cereals so that our guests have something. We cannot comment on the pillow cases nor the sockets or blinds but these issues are checked daily by our maintenance team. The sink is a wall hung sink, if there was an issue with it we would have dealt with it as soon as you had raised any concern. If you were in need of accommodation in the area again, we would be more than happy to compliment you stay with us.

Reviewed by
jill mottershead

From Elland, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet and comfortable room
Room was very comfortable ans sufficient for a night. The continental breakfast was OK but day old coissant tired. Would suggest a fan in the shower and a towel rail.

Reviewed by
Peter H

From Witney, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next