You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Porch House


The Porch House, Stow on the Wold, GL54 1BN

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (34)

94% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Nicolas J

  • October 2016

The Porch House

Weekend stay.

  • L Hooper

  • September 2016

Beautiful building set in stunning village

Being a professional housekeeper for over 20 years I would say my only disappointment with our stay was the cleanliness of the shower.

The grout was black and rather mouldy and you could see the residue of soap streaked down the tiles. My top tip - neat bleach and a toothbrush run along the grout will cheer it up immensely and Viacal and a bit of elbow grease on the tiles will keep them looking clean and streak free. Maybe half an hour spring clean would bring it back to the lovely condition it could be to match the rest of the room.

  • Sean C

  • June 2016

Loved It

What a lovely place with really friendly staff who also made a fuss of our four legged friend.

Stayed in the feature room which apparently doesn't generally allow dogs, such a shame as we would stay again to have the same room. Only allowed due to overlooking the dog on booking.

  • Louise N

  • May 2016

Lovely location and pub, small room

We booked a superior double room.

We were given room 5 on the top floor. It is a lovely old room with wooden beams, lots of character and a great view over the roofs towards the hills. Room was a lot smaller than expected for a superior double. It is the only hotel I have ever stayed in without a wardrobe or an area to hang up a few clothes, very inconvenient. A wardrobe should be standard for all hotel rooms, especially at over £100 per night and a 4 star hotel. Website also states that each room has an iron/ ironing board but only available by calling reception. The breakfast was good with fresh bread and a range of cooked option. The bar area was also lovely with lots of character.

  • N Castle

  • May 2016

The Porch House

Lovely hotel in a lovely setting.

Great food. A very relaxing stay.

  • Nicola B

  • March 2016

Mr B's Birthday Treat

Booked this night away for my husbands birthday.

Great little village, beautiful little inn, gorgeous room and most comfortable bed ever.

Really enjoyed our stay.

  • P Allen

  • December 2015

Hotel in a nice position but we thought it was overpriced for the accommodation provided.

Room we stayed in was at the top of the hotel and quite small.

We ate in the restaurant in the evening and one of the meals (a pork chop) was more fat than meat. We did bring this to the attention of the management.

  • T Mitchell

  • November 2015

Cosy break in the country

Lovely accommodation, although room a little on the small size.

  • D Oliver

  • November 2015

A Great weekend in the Cotswolds

We booked this hotel to celebrate a special weekend and to take in the stunning surrounding areas.

Having read some of the reviews people have posted about this hotel, I have to wonder what their expectations are from a historic listed building in a beautiful village/town. Eg, 5 car parking spaces, as there is plenty of unrestricted parking outside the hotel, and as for lack of separate reception area, is this really necessary with only 9 rooms. Checking in at the bar is simple and well managed by friendly and helpful staff. I cannot fault the hospitality that my partner and I received on our visit. The room was just what we needed for a perfect weekend away. We woke up in the morning feeling relaxed and fresh, ready to tackle a superb breakfast. Plenty of choice even for a fussy eater out there. We hope to be visiting the Porch House again in the future and to be enjoying some more of what the Cotswolds has to offer. P.S, the complimentary Sloe Gin, was a nice touch and something hotels should adopt.

  • Mary G

  • September 2015

Characterful comfort in the Cotswolds

The Porch House is a gem of a hotel.

It has great charm and the décor reflects the age and character of the place. Staff are friendly and attentive, nothing is too much trouble. The beds and pillows are the most comfy of any hotel I've stayed in. Breakfasts and dinners in the restaurant were delicious. If you're looking for a base for touring the Cotswolds this special place is ideal.