No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Swan

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
21 THE WHARFAGE , TELFORD, TF87NH
We are rooms only at this venue - A fabulous location sat on the banks of the river severn, we have a family room, 2 single rooms and 5 doubles - some with great views over the river. All newly decorated with tea & coffee facilities, Hairdryers, Irons & ironing boards.
Checking in is at our sister pub The Malthouse next door which is a lively venue with bar, restaurant & rooms.
Picture of The Swan, TELFORD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room with a (strange) view, both outside and in!
The room was spacious and clean. However it was very shabby and completely inappropriately decorated. A very old, rather splendid building was incongruously given a room rather more suited to the 'rent for an hour' customer. All black and white stripes and faux fur, it had several problems needing attention. The bathroom door would not close at all. The bath had ancient looking water jet features which didn't work. Neither did the bidet. A bedside light wasn't working and when I unplugged it to plug in my mobile charger the whole socket came away from the wall. There was a safety light which cast a bright green light over the room all night. This could be a lovely room and it annoyed me that it was so uncared for and its potential wasted. The bed was comfortable, although there were stains on the duvet cover. There was constant hot water which was great but the hand towel in the bathroom was actually frayed at the edges.
The venue is in a great position and although we had a back room with no view at all, somebody has to have the back of the building and we accept that. I'd come again to see if the management have recognised what potential they have there but cannot recommend it generally speaking .and if we return to this fascinating town we will be looking for somewhere else to stay.

Reviewed by
Barbara F

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall a good hotel but with minor niggles.
We stayed for one night and the experience was adequate. I understand they are in the process of refurbishment which would account for the rather strange access arrangements! The food which was served in the Malthouse a few yards away was good. My main complaint was noise. I appreciate that it is an old building but the floors are very creaky and the movements of other guests was very apparent .We were kept awake until 1am and then woken at 6am.

Reviewed by
R Poyner

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

j
j

Reviewed by
Christian L

From Sweden
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two night break
Room itself was OK a pity we had to reach it by gaining entry through a back yard, as the pub itself was closed and the bedrooms only were being used, felt a bit remote.

Reviewed by
Jack W

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Little Place
Really enjoyed our stay at The Swan in Ironbridge. Minor improvements would be to have laminated notices on the doors at the Swan advising new arrivals to check-in at the nearby Malthouse Bar first for room keys without luggage and maybe have a small welcome pack/ A4 laminated sheet in the rooms with details of local places of interest, bus services and ticket options, breakfast timings and choices (which was quite good), local restaurant availability, eg Indian, Thai and hours of opening. Perhaps have a small waste bin available during breafast to dispose of cereal/ sugar packaging and teabags etc. Location was superb and staff were friendly and helpful. There's a great Fish and Chip restuarant at the top of the hill, serving very fresh ingredients.

Reviewed by
Dayamowtee R

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Swan (or Malthouse?)
We expected there to be a reception at the Swan but found that the pub bar room is being converted into more rooms making it solely a "hotel". I had to book in at the Malthouse, which is another pub a few yards down the road owned by the same people. We were led to our room in the Swan through a locked back gate and locked back door, up a narrow steep staircase with a couple of turns in it to our room. Although the room was clean and recently decorated my impression was there was a real problem vacating the room and building if there was a fire. The only information for evacuating the hotel was " by nearest exit". There was no floor plan and we were not shown any alternative exit other than the narrow staircase we negotiated to reach the room. The bed was comfortable although a little low. There was a single wardrobe but no chest of drawers, as we were only staying a single night it was not a problem for us. The floor was canted but being an old building it was not surprising. It caused a small irritation when items placed on the bedside tables slid off. There was a bath with shower fittings but no screen or curtain to contain water when showering. To contact reception meant going to the "Malthouse". We booked the room on a room only basis and breakfast was available the "Malthouse". I don't think I would stay at the "Swan" again due to the access to the rooms.

Reviewed by
I Oldford

From Sudbury, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

At the time of the visit the Swan as a pub was closed, but the rooms were open and having been recently refurbished were of good quality. The welcome and food at the Malthouse next door were very good

Reviewed by
R Nichols

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

live Band
The room was above the main bar which had a live band so we got little sleep before our sales conference. We had book ed at the adjoining hotel but the accommodation was above the pub.

Reviewed by
I Calladine

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy customer
Our room at The Swan was good only thing that let it down was It only had a bath with a hand held shower. The location in the town was spot on and the sister pub fifty meters away has good food live music but best of all has a manager call James who goes the extra mile to make sure your every need is met. We would gladly stay again at The Swan or the sister The Malthouse.

Reviewed by
J Montgomery

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel with great rooms and friendly staff

Reviewed by
jake S

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next