No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Swan

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
21 THE WHARFAGE , TELFORD, TF87NH
We are rooms only at this venue - A fabulous location sat on the banks of the river severn, we have a family room, 2 single rooms and 5 doubles - some with great views over the river. All newly decorated with tea & coffee facilities, Hairdryers, Irons & ironing boards.
Checking in is at our sister pub The Malthouse next door which is a lively venue with bar, restaurant & rooms.
Picture of The Swan, TELFORD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 22 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel Stay
We were in the Swan hotel, all the staff were at the other hotel just up the road a few yards, on arrival the heating in the room wasn't on (in the early evening) we asked the check in man who saw us to the room (with the wrong key to enter the building first of) if we could have the heating on & were told he would find out why it wasn't, it did come on but he didn't come back to us with any news of the issue. Could have been a better experience.

Reviewed by
Paul S

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic!!
We had a brilliant time staying at The Swan, the room was so lovely and clean and the bed I wanted to take home it was that comfortable!! Great view from our window overlooking the river too. The staff at The Malthouse were very helpful on check in and checking out.
We will definitely stay here again and again

Reviewed by
D Woodward

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous, cosy little place!
Arrived, greeted by friendly staff at the Malthouse and shown to our room in the Swan. The room consisted of a double bed, a wardrobe, a TV, coffee and tea making facilities and a bath with a shower head fitting. We had a beautiful view of the river from this room. The room had black and white furnishings and fabulous wooden beams on the ceiling, giving the room character.
We visited the Malthouse on the saturday evening where there was a live band playing - great atmosphere and great music. All in all we greatly enjoyed our stay!
Next time I think I would skip breakfast & see what the cafes on the high street have to offer. Breakfast was advertised until 10am, we arrived at 945 and took a seat. The menu stated juice, tea/coffee, fresh fruit and cereal. There was no cereal or fruit available, the main breakfast consisted of 1 sausage, 1 piece of bacon, 1 tomato, 1 tablespoon of beans and I think possibly a hash brown if I remember rightly. The breakfast was still charged the the full rate of £8.95 despite the lack of cereal/fruit - a little disappointing however we did not let it dampen our stay!

Reviewed by
Lorraine a

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

swan hotel

Reviewed by
R TAYLOR

From Wellington, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous boutique hotel
Myself and a colleague were attending a function on the Sunday and decided to stay over so we could visit suppliers the next morning.
Booked the Swan online and when we arrived we were met by a friendly receptionist and one of the best Hotel Managers I've ever dealt with.
He very kindly upgraded us into a much larger room with a fantastic en-suite rainfall shower. The room was amazing and the decor even better!
We had food at the Swan and it was excellent and very well priced.
Then the next morning we had breakfast and that was also fab!
This is genuinely one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at in the UK and as I travel a lot on business I've been to a fair few.
I am looking to return as soon as possible and if I am ever visiting Telford on business I will be staying here.

Reviewed by
Matt Wills

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room with a (strange) view, both outside and in!
The room was spacious and clean. However it was very shabby and completely inappropriately decorated. A very old, rather splendid building was incongruously given a room rather more suited to the 'rent for an hour' customer. All black and white stripes and faux fur, it had several problems needing attention. The bathroom door would not close at all. The bath had ancient looking water jet features which didn't work. Neither did the bidet. A bedside light wasn't working and when I unplugged it to plug in my mobile charger the whole socket came away from the wall. There was a safety light which cast a bright green light over the room all night. This could be a lovely room and it annoyed me that it was so uncared for and its potential wasted. The bed was comfortable, although there were stains on the duvet cover. There was constant hot water which was great but the hand towel in the bathroom was actually frayed at the edges.
The venue is in a great position and although we had a back room with no view at all, somebody has to have the back of the building and we accept that. I'd come again to see if the management have recognised what potential they have there but cannot recommend it generally speaking .and if we return to this fascinating town we will be looking for somewhere else to stay.

Reviewed by
Barbara F

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall a good hotel but with minor niggles.
We stayed for one night and the experience was adequate. I understand they are in the process of refurbishment which would account for the rather strange access arrangements! The food which was served in the Malthouse a few yards away was good. My main complaint was noise. I appreciate that it is an old building but the floors are very creaky and the movements of other guests was very apparent .We were kept awake until 1am and then woken at 6am.

Reviewed by
R Poyner

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

j
j

Reviewed by
Christian L

From Sweden
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two night break
Room itself was OK a pity we had to reach it by gaining entry through a back yard, as the pub itself was closed and the bedrooms only were being used, felt a bit remote.

Reviewed by
Jack W

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Swan (or Malthouse?)
We expected there to be a reception at the Swan but found that the pub bar room is being converted into more rooms making it solely a "hotel". I had to book in at the Malthouse, which is another pub a few yards down the road owned by the same people. We were led to our room in the Swan through a locked back gate and locked back door, up a narrow steep staircase with a couple of turns in it to our room. Although the room was clean and recently decorated my impression was there was a real problem vacating the room and building if there was a fire. The only information for evacuating the hotel was " by nearest exit". There was no floor plan and we were not shown any alternative exit other than the narrow staircase we negotiated to reach the room. The bed was comfortable although a little low. There was a single wardrobe but no chest of drawers, as we were only staying a single night it was not a problem for us. The floor was canted but being an old building it was not surprising. It caused a small irritation when items placed on the bedside tables slid off. There was a bath with shower fittings but no screen or curtain to contain water when showering. To contact reception meant going to the "Malthouse". We booked the room on a room only basis and breakfast was available the "Malthouse". I don't think I would stay at the "Swan" again due to the access to the rooms.

Reviewed by
I Oldford

From Sudbury, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next