No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holland Arms Hotel

2Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Holland Arms Hotel, The Holland, , Gaerwen, LL60 6HY
The family-run hotel offers clean, functional and good value accommodation, centrally located on the Isle of Anglesey between Gaerwen and Llangefni, in the small hamlet of Pentre Berw. The hotel is just a few hundred yards from the A55 motorway, and Holyhead ferry port is just a 15 minute drive away. The location of the hotel makes it an ideal choice for both a business trip and a holiday break. Enjoy a meal in the dining room, or the carvery on Sundays. Anglesey's varied coastline offers vast opportunities for an active holiday. Water sports such as surfing, wind surfing, water skiing, scuba diving, sailing, yachting and canoeing are available at many of the coastal resorts. Fishing, golfing, cycling, horse riding, and trekking are also offered at numerous places both inland and near the coast.
Picture of Holland Arms Hotel, Gaerwen at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel
curently being refurbished it will be very nice when finished

Reviewed by
malcolm h

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly welcome
Warm and friendly staff who made us feel really welcome, a lovely comfortable stay!

Reviewed by
charlie w

From Gosport, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic value for money. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Food was lovely. We will definitely return to this hotel .

Reviewed by
T Harris

From Porth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good place to stay i would recomend this hotel to my friends
We realy enjoyed our stay

Reviewed by
r dutton

From Wallasey, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Totally fine!
This was an overnight stop for a bike ride in Snowdonia and leaving it to the last minute Llangefni was as close as I could get to the start at Caenarfon.
The staff were very helpful - I was concerned about my bike being left in view and they offered to store it in the cellar overnight and have it ready in the hallway in the morning. Actually they forgot to dig it out but the staff retrieved it when I asked for it, so no problem there (although the poor chap had an earlier alarm call than he'd expected!)
The room was small but very clean and tidy and well presented. It was not en-suite however there was a big bathroom and shower room over the corridor and with only a small number of guests this was never going to cause a problem (given I knew in advance the room was not en suite). If anything the only downside was that the corridor had a lingering smell about it, which I'd characterise as 'damp dog'. This didn't affect the room itself but was the only real gripe I had with the accommodation.
The evening meal was very good indeed, very high quality food, way beyond the 'pub grub' I was anticipating. I left before breakfast actually got started however the staff had put the continental breakfast stuff out in advance knowing a couple of guests were leaving early so it all worked well - note that the breakfast was included in the room cost.
All in all, a great overnighter.

Reviewed by
Simeon F

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wouldn't stay longer than one night
The room was ok for a quick sleep as you pass through thew area, but I wouldn't want to stay for any longer than one night. Our room's heater had problems, it wouldn't heat properly and when it did it was very noisy and woke us up. We wanted to have a shower early in the morning but the water was cold.
The room had a very old, dusty smell.
We ate at the pub downstairs and ordered the prawn linguine special. It was like soggy undone noodles with no flavour at all.

Reviewed by
Jessica O

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

happy customer
We were made to feel very welcome, staff were friendly and very helpful. Ok its not the ritz, but the room was functional, the beds were clean and it was excellent value for money. I would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Alison B

From England
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

my stay at holland arms
food exceptional.staff exceptional. hotel needs a little modernisation hope the owners can invest in this for the near future

Reviewed by
arwyn thomas

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Holland Arms
Worth the stay simply for the excellent evening meals, which are beautifully presented, but at an amazingly low price. Costing about half what you would expect.
We chose the cheapest room that this hotel offers, but it was good value for what we paid, a real effort has been made by the new owners to make this a friendly and welcoming place.

Reviewed by
david b

From Farnborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.