No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Travelodge London Balham

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
177 Balham High Road Balham, London, SW12 9BX
Very close to a number of stations, the Travelodge London Balham Hotel is a perfect location for those who want to attend various events or shows in the area, as well as enjoy the city itself. This hotel is 0.1 miles away from both Balham train station and Balham underground station, providing plenty of access in and out of the area. There are various arenas and exhibit halls nearby, including the Battersea Arts Centre (1.1 miles), LOST Theatre, Lambeth, (3.1 miles) and the 02 Academy Brixton (3.3 miles). Although full of the typical city delights, it’s also only a quick journey to Clapham Common which offers plenty of open, natural space.

This is a new hotel and has recently been updated with our fresh new look and features Travelodge’s new room design complete with Dreamer Bed so you can be sure of a great night’s sleep.
Early/Late Check-In/Out Service – if you’re looking to make the most of your day we can offer an Early Check-In service from 12:00noon and a Late Check-Out Service until 2pm so you have more time to relax - cost is £10 per service, per room, subject to availability - bookable direct by telephoning the hotel.

For guests wishing to bring domestic pets please visit our website for more detail on charges and terms and conditions. Please note that Guide dogs, Hearing dogs, and other animals to aid disability are exempt from charge.
Picture of Travelodge London Balham, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 68 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unbelievable in 2014!
Basic usual Travelodge standard, however windows unopenable and no air conditioning in the middle of London made both our recent stays very uncomfortable as we were so hot. By our last night had a fan but then very noisy to try to sleep especially with the trains so close by.

Reviewed by
Teresa T

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very happy

Reviewed by
T Farrell

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cheap as chips
The room was on the small size but adequate. Tube noise was there but again not too bad. Paper cups were the cheapest ever and you could not drink from them without spilling danger as they just collapsed on pressure! Similarly, the soap "foam" was so poor it took 4 squezzes to simply wash my hands and a shower could give you repetetive strain injury.

Reviewed by
Lyn G

From Sudbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room
the hotel was very well situated near the tube and local shops, cafes etc and was very good value for money.
unfortunately none of the hotel windows could open (no fault of the hotel I understand - due to trains, H&S) this meant that the room was very warm and stuffy but a fan was provided which helped a little. it did make sleeping at night a little uncomfortable but would not necessarily put me off staying there again.

Reviewed by
s haslam

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient location
Really good value for money. Travelodge was clean and looked to have been recently refurbished. Although it was right next to the railway you could hardly hear any trains.

Reviewed by
Pearl McCourt

From Linlithgow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and comfortable but very hot
The room was very clean and comfortable but as I was on the fifth floor I wasn't able to open the window and the room was uncomfortably warm. There was a fan in the room which did ease things a bit.

Reviewed by
Phil T

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Give it a go!
Great stay! Good for the price and satisfactory facility. The receptionists were very helpful.

Reviewed by
J Cheong

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Trial
Loved how you were customer focused and started trialling fans during the summer heatwave.

Reviewed by
Monique K

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very very budget indeed
The window was just sheet glass, no way of opening it and the room had no air conditioning. So it was completely unbearably hot. So much so that we both had to sleep on top of the duvet and were still far too hot all night. We were wet with sweat the whole time. We would have a shower in the morning and be wet again with sweat before we could get dressed. Also there was no parking whatsoever and in the part of London it's in, you cannot park on the streets without a residential permit. We had to drive 6 miles away to park for free and catch a tube back again. They have no breakfast apart from a box that you can buy the night before. They only left one teabag each per day. The is also no wardrobe or shelving for clothes.

Reviewed by
M Bradley

From Tiverton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pity we booked I on the hottest weekend of the year
Hotel was just what we needed. Reasonably priced, convenient location right next to Balham tube station. Room was clean, decor was fresh, bed was comfy. Coffee. / tea making facilities appreciated., reception staff pleasant. Also quiet, which was a bonus as we thought there might be noise from the underground. The only problem was the heat and the total lack of ventilation. The temp was up in the high 20s and the room was stifling. The window was a sealed unit. The extractor in the bathroom didn't work. There was a table fan, but it was pretty much recirculating warm air and I can't sleep with the noise. Pity because if it hadn't been so hot I wouldn't have had any criticism at all.

Reviewed by
Isobel P

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next