No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Travelodge London Balham

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
177 Balham High Road Balham, London, SW12 9BX
Very close to a number of stations, the Travelodge London Balham Hotel is a perfect location for those who want to attend various events or shows in the area, as well as enjoy the city itself. This hotel is 0.1 miles away from both Balham train station and Balham underground station, providing plenty of access in and out of the area. There are various arenas and exhibit halls nearby, including the Battersea Arts Centre (1.1 miles), LOST Theatre, Lambeth, (3.1 miles) and the 02 Academy Brixton (3.3 miles). Although full of the typical city delights, it’s also only a quick journey to Clapham Common which offers plenty of open, natural space.

This is a new hotel and has recently been updated with our fresh new look and features Travelodge’s new room design complete with Dreamer Bed so you can be sure of a great night’s sleep.
Early/Late Check-In/Out Service – if you’re looking to make the most of your day we can offer an Early Check-In service from 12:00noon and a Late Check-Out Service until 2pm so you have more time to relax - cost is £10 per service, per room, subject to availability - bookable direct by telephoning the hotel.

For guests wishing to bring domestic pets please contact LateRooms.com for more detail on charges and terms and conditions. Please note that Guide dogs, Hearing dogs, and other animals to aid disability are exempt from charge.
Picture of Travelodge London Balham, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 80 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay in the London area
Perfect for going into London and surrounding area because of the proximity of the tube and overground station. Plenty of brilliant and diverse places to have breakfast, lunch or dinner and not expensive either. Our room was clean, warm and comfortable. All the staff were very friendly and welcoming. The only down side, no car parking.

Reviewed by
P Barry

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Travelodge Balham - convenient, clean, tidy and friendly staff
This is my second stay at the Balham Travelodge, it's modern, bright, clean. The rooms are a decent size and have good facilities such as a nice bathroom, tea/coffee and a big TV. The hotel is really good for travel around London as it is immediately next door to both the underground and overground stations at Balham. The staff were friendly and provided extra coffee, milk and sugar, as well as towels. There is no restaurant on site, but there are plenty of places to eat within walking distance and they have no issues with single-sex couples.

Reviewed by
K John

From Llanelli, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very convenient if travelling by tube and for one night stays.
Had a room on ground floor and thought it might by noisy but never heard a thing. Very comfy bed. Good place for a short stay but quite pricy for a room compared to travel lodges in other areas. Lots of great cafes, restaurants and bars in surrounding area and you don't have far to walk to get a really good breakfast.

Reviewed by
R Steven

From Maidenhead, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clean and well presented
The room was clean well presented and quiet. The staff were polite although telling me I'd have got it cheaper if I'd booked direct was a little upsetting as our budget was tight. They did however let us park out the back which was helpful.

Reviewed by
Hazel H

From Wickford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clean, confortable. simple.
Had a very pleasant stay. Bathroom very clean, would have preferred a bath and definitely needed a bath mat as the shower water leaked onto the floor. Shower very nice though. The room itself was simple but functional and comfortable. Provides good value for money. One annoying thing though was not having a mirror at the desk so that I could do my makeup sitting down. Choice of either standing in the bathroom or standing in front of the full length mirror. Would recommend a little table or put a mirror by the desk. Reception staff friendly. Shame there is no hot breakfast option but there's plenty of lovely local artisan cafes. Love the midday checkout!

Reviewed by
Emmajane T

From Greenford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Terrible experience
I booked the room for my parents, the original reservation was for 14 nights but a couple of days before checking in I changed it for 5 nights. The amendment went lost somewhere so at the time of the check in the receptionist wanted to charge me for more than £1200 otherwise I could not have the room I had booked. They were not interested about my booking confirmation from laterooms, I asked them to charge me only for the five nights and sort it out with the reservation department the day after, they were not interested it was my problem with laterooms not their problem. I asked them to call laterooms and sort it out they told me they would not call. I explained my parents come from Italy and if they had charged the credit card for that big amount and refunded it the day after my parents would have been charged from their bank and this charge is in proportion with the amount of money spent. Reception did not care about any of my arguments so I had to call lateroooms who had to call reception and convince them to call their reservation team that of course confirmed that I was right. Very difficult check in. What if I had not had a telephone with me? What if I had not had internet on my phone? Of course I had to look for laterooms telephone number by myself, they wouood not help. What if my credit limit on the card was £500? Where would I have slept?

Reviewed by
M Dell'Omo

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

city centre stop over
You know what to expect from a Travel Lodge:clean rooms, reasonable price, no frills service. No breakfast included and only sandwiches available as an extra but if you are prepared to eat out nearby this is okay. Staff on duty where friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
roger g

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

City break
Our room was on the second floor of the Hotel, eye level with the platforms of Balham railway station. The sound proofing of the room was good and in spite of trains running through the night, the disturbance in the room was minimal. The room was clean, comfortable and a reasonable size for two people.
The position of the Hotel was ideal for the tube and allowed us to travel around the capital easily. We would certainly stay there again

Reviewed by
Anne L

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic
Very basic
Noise from trains
Quite expensive for what is offered

Reviewed by
J Polak

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel, great location
I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. It was clean and staff were polite on arrival and during the stay. The room was big enough for me. Reading other reviews beforehand I was a bit anxious about this hotel but it was pleasant and I will stay again. The noise from the nearby railway was minimal and dos not disturb my sleep at all. The bed was one of the most comfortable beds I've slept in. It is great for commuting because the rail an tube lines are next door.

Reviewed by
k oliver

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next